Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 23 April 2018

Our reference: 8740-B2-201802132


BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca


Re: Bell Canada Tariff Notice 7558 and request for information

Dear Sir:

On 9 April 2018, the Commission received an application by Bell Canada under Tariff Notice 7558, in which it proposed revisions to its General Tariff Item 2185 – Single Number Reach, in order to, among other things, withdraw certain optional service features.

In its application, Bell Canada provided a copy of the notice letters it sent to affected customers, pursuant to Information Bulletin 2010-455-1 and indicated that the tariff filing is a Group B filing.

Commission staff considers that the application is a destandardization/withdrawal application as it proposes to withdraw service features from existing customers. For purposes of efficiency, the Commission will process this application as a destandardization/withdrawal application rather than close the file and require the company to refile it as a new application.

Accordingly, the application will not receive interim approval on the 15th calendar day after it was received. The Commission intends to dispose of this application within 90 calendar days of the date of the application.

In addition, Paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may request parties to file information or documents where needed.

Bell Canada is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 30 April 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, (819) 934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Request for information – Bell Canada Tariff Notice 7558

  1. In its application, Bell Canada provided a copy of the notice letters it sent to affected customers. As required in Information Bulletin 2010-455-1 for applications for the destandardization and/or withdrawal of tariffed services, Bell Canada is requested to provide the number of customers affected by its application.

  2. In paragraph 7 of its filing letter, Bell Canada indicated that it was filing tariff pages containing existing and proposed new rate ranges for certain rate elements of Single Number Reach. However, in Paragraph 10 of the Report on the Economic Evaluation for the tariff revision of Single Number Reach, the company indicates that it is not proposing any changes to the rate ranges that are currently in effect. As well, the application does not include any tariff pages proposing price changes for Single Number Reach.
    1. Confirm whether the company proposes any rate changes and, if yes, provide the affected tariff pages.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à Monsieur Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 23 avril 2018

Notre référence : 8740-B2-201802132


PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Avocat principal
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (ON)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca


Objet : Avis de modification tarifaire 7558 de Bell Canada et demande de renseignements

Monsieur,

Le 9 avril 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Bell Canada, l’avis de modification tarifaire 7558, dans laquelle l’entreprise proposait de réviser son article 2185, Service numéro unique, de son Tarif général de manière à retirer, entre autres, certaines fonctions de service facultatif.

Dans sa demande, Bell Canada a fourni une copie des lettres d’avis qu’elle a envoyées aux clients touchés, en vertu du bulletin d’information 2010-455-1, et a précisé qu’il s’agit d’un dépôt tarifaire du groupe B.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu’il s’agit d’une demande de dénormalisation ou de retrait puisqu’elle propose de retirer des fonctions de service offertes à des clients existants. Par souci d’efficacité, le Conseil traitera la demande à titre de demande de dénormalisation ou de retrait, plutôt que de fermer le dossier et de demander à la compagnie de déposer une nouvelle demande.

Par conséquent, la demande ne recevra pas d’approbation provisoire 15 jours civils après son dépôt. Le Conseil entend rendre sa décision relativement à la demande dans les 90 jours civils suivant la date de la demande.

De plus, l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes stipule que le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse des renseignements ou documents, le cas échéant.
Nous demandons à Bell Canada de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui, d’ici au 30 avril 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, 819-934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

Demande de renseignements – Avis de modification tarifaire 7558

  1. Dans sa demande, Bell Canada a fourni une copie des lettres d’avis qu’elle a envoyées aux clients touchés. Conformément au bulletin d’information 2010-455-1 pour les demandes de dénormalisation ou de retrait de services facturés, Bell Canada est tenue de préciser le nombre de clients touchés par sa demande.
  2. Au paragraphe 7 de sa lettre, Bell Canada a indiqué qu’elle déposait des pages de tarif contenant les échelles tarifaires existantes et les nouvelles échelles tarifaires proposées pour certains éléments tarifaires du Service numéro unique. Toutefois, au paragraphe 10 du rapport sur l’évaluation économique des révisions tarifaires du Service numéro unique, l’entreprise a indiqué qu’elle ne propose aucun changement aux échelles tarifaires en vigueur. De plus, la demande ne comprend pas de pages de tarif proposant les modifications tarifaires pour le Service numéro unique.
    1. Veuillez confirmer si l’entreprise propose des modifications tarifaires et, dans l’affirmative, fournissez les pages de tarif.
Date de modification :