Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel)

Ottawa, 20 April 2018

Our reference: 8661-N1-201800863

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel
P.O.Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Re: Part 1 application requesting ratification of Special Services Tariff (SST) rates

Dear Sir:

On 8 February 2018, the Commission received an application by Northwestel, in which the company requested ratification of rates charged without an approved tariff for certain Special Services Tariffs (SSTs).

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Northwestel is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 3 May 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c. c. Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca
Wendy Ellis, Bell Aliant, wendy.ellis@bellaliant.ca

Attach. (1)

Requests for information

In its application, Northwestel identified that nine SSTs have been offered without an approved tariff for varying lengths of times. Northwestel noted that tariff notices have been filed and approved by the Commission for all of these SSTs, and that these SSTs are now being offered in compliance with the company’s approved tariffs. The company also indicated that due to administrative errors certain rates/conditions charged for these SSTs in the past were not immediately reflected in the applicable tariffs. In all cases, Northwestel indicated that the affected customers were notified and agreed with the rates charged for these services. The company requested ratification of the rates charged without an approved tariff.

Pursuant to subsection 25(4) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), the Commission may ratify the charging of a rate by a Canadian carrier otherwise than in accordance with a tariff approved by the Commission if it is satisfied that the rate was charged because of an error or other circumstance that warrants the ratification.

  1. For each of the SSTs, Northwestel is requested to:
    1. identify the customer(s) and the locations where the service is provided;
    2. please advise if this application has been served on each of these customers. If not, please explain why;
    3. identify whether the customer requested competitive bids for the special services arrangement;
    4. confirm the total amount, including usage and installation charges, for which ratification is requested, providing details of the calculations and dates involved and ensuring that the amount does not include rates and charges after the effective date the tariff was approved;
    5. confirm when and how Northwestel first became aware that it was offering the service other than in accordance with an approved tariff; and
    6. explain how these actions contrary to the Act which were repeated over a significant period of time, resulting in a significant financial impact, could be considered an “error or other circumstance that warrants ratification” under subsection 25(4) of the Act.
  2. For Item 779, identify the portion of the amount calculated in 1.d) above that relates to the period 1 January 2008 to 1 November 2012.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 20 avril 2018

Notre référence : 8661-N1-201800863

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel Inc.
C. P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 afin d'entériner la perception du tarif des services spéciaux 

Monsieur,

Le 8 février 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Norouestel, dans laquelle la compagnie demandait d’entériner les tarifs facturés sans tarification approuvée pour certains tarifs des services spéciaux.

L’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes stipule que le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse des renseignements ou documents, le cas échéant.

Nous demandons à Norouestel de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui, d’ici au 3 mai 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

P. j. (1)

Demandes de renseignements

Dans sa demande, Norouestel a indiqué que neuf tarifs des services spéciaux ont été offerts sans tarification approuvée pour diverses périodes. Norouestel a souligné que des avis de modification tarifaire ont été déposés et approuvés par le Conseil pour tous ces tarifs des services spéciaux, et que ceux-ci sont maintenant offerts conformément à la tarification approuvée de la compagnie. La compagnie a aussi indiqué qu’en raison d’erreurs administratives, par le passé, certaines conditions et certains taux facturés pour ces tarifs des services spéciaux n’étaient pas immédiatement intégrés dans les tarifs applicables. Dans tous les cas, Norouestel a précisé que les clients touchés ont été avisés et étaient d’accord avec les taux facturés pour ces services. La compagnie a demandé que les tarifs facturés soient entérinés sans tarification approuvée.

En vertu du paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), le Conseil peut entériner l’imposition ou la perception par une entreprise canadienne de tarifs qui ne figurent dans aucune tarification approuvée par lui s’il est convaincu qu’il s’agit là d’un cas particulier le justifiant, notamment d’erreur.

  1. Pour chacun des tarifs des services spéciaux, nous demandons à Norouestel :
    1. de nommer le(s) client(s) et les emplacements où le service est fourni;
    2. de préciser si cette demande a été signifiée à chacun de ces clients et, sinon, d’expliquer pourquoi.
    3. d’indiquer si le client a demandé des soumissions concurrentielles pour l’accord de services spéciaux;
    4. de confirmer le montant total, y compris les frais d’utilisation et d’installation, pour lequel l’entérinement est demandé, de fournir des détails sur les calculs et les dates visées, et de s'assurer que le montant ne comprend pas les tarifs et frais après la date d’entrée en vigueur à laquelle la tarification a été approuvée;
    5. de confirmer quand et comment Norouestel a découvert pour la première fois qu’elle offrait le service d’une façon qui n'était pas conforme à une tarification approuvée;
    6. d’expliquer comment ces actions contrevenant à la Loi, qui ont été répétées pendant une période importante et ont entraîné des répercussions financières importantes, pourraient constituer « un cas particulier justifiant [l’entérinement], notamment d’erreur », aux termes du paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi.
  2. Pour l’article 779, elle doit définir la partie du montant calculé au point 1d) ci-dessus qui correspond à la période du 1er janvier 2008 au 1er novembre 2012.
Date de modification :