Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 16 April 2018

Our reference: 8690-V81-201703231

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

Subject: Application for authorization to submit additional documents in the application filed pursuant to Part I by the City of Gatineau for a municipal access agreement – procedural letter

Dear Mesdames, Dear Sirs:

Further to the letter from the Commission’s staff dated March 16, 2018, Bell Canada, Quebecor Média Inc. on behalf of its subsidiary Vidéotron ltée, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. and Cogeco Connexion Inc. (collectively the Companies), filed their comments with the Commission on March 27, 2018, with regard to the application filed under Part I on April 13, 2017, by the City of Gatineau (the City) for approval of a municipal access agreement (MAA).

On April 6, 2018, the Commission received the City’s reply concerning the Companies’ comments in which the City indicated that, with regard to clauses 1 and 2 in Appendix A of the MAA on which the parties disagree, the Companies stated that they had been unable to read the study on causal costs prepared in 2011 for the Union des municipalités du Quebec, including a description of the methodology used to determine some tariff increases, and that they could not accept the licensing fees and their annual increase which, according to the Companies, appears to exceed the applicable inflation rates.

The City indicated that this study was prepared by KPMG and it had already been placed in the Superior Court file in which the Companies challenged Gatineau By-law no. 718-2012. The City noted that it is prepared to provide this study to the Companies again, even though the Companies could have done so under the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure. Consequently, the City has filed an application with the Commission for authorization to file the following documents in the present application:

  1. The report on causal costs prepared in 2011 for the Union des municipalités du Québec by KPMG; and
  2. The financial data that establish the 2018 licensing fees based on the Excel spreadsheet attached as Appendix 3 to the MAA application. After reading the City’s reply, the staff members are of the view that it would be beneficial for the Commission that it receive the documents cited at points 1 and 2 as proposed by the City. Consequently, the City has until May 2, 2018, to file the documents, the Companies have until May 11, 2018, to submit their comments, and the City has until May 16, 2018, to file a reply.

As part of this additional process, the Companies are required to limit the extent of their comments to the new documents filed by the City, and the City must keep to the comments filed by the Companies.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution list

Mr. Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé avocats s.e.n.c.r.l.
Representing the City of Gatineau
5 Place Ville Marie, Suite 900
Montréal QC  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Ms. Caroline Dignard
Vice-President, Legal Affairs
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com

Mr. Michael E Piaskoski
Director, Municipal Relations
Institutional and Regulatory Affairs
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Mr. Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust avocats
Representing the Companies
20845 De la Côte du Nord Road, Office 500
Boisbriand QC  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Advisor
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Dennis Béland
Vice-President, Telecommunications Regulatory Affairs
Québecor Média inc.
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Ms. Bruna Nardi
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Access Policy Management
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 16 avril 2018

Notre référence : 8690-V81-201703231

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande d’obtention de l’autorisation de produire des documents additionnels dans la demande déposée en vertu de la Partie I de la Ville de Gatineau pour un Accord d’accès municipal – Lettre procédurale

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Conformément à la lettre du personnel du Conseil en date du 16 mars 2018, Bell Canada, Quebecor Média Inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron ltée, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. et Cogeco Connexion Inc. (collectivement les Entreprises), ont déposé leurs observations au Conseil le 27 mars 2018 en lien avec la demande en vertu de la partie I déposée le 13 avril 2017 par la Ville de Gatineau (la Ville) pour l’approbation d’un Accord d’accès municipal (AAM).

Le 6 avril 2018, le Conseil a reçu la réplique de la Ville concernant les commentaires des Entreprises dans laquelle la Ville a indiqué que concernant les clauses 1 et 2 de l’annexe A de l’AAM sur lesquelles le désaccord est maintenu, les Entreprises ont mentionné qu’elle n’ont jamais pu prendre connaissance de l’étude sur les coûts causals préparée en 2011 pour l’Union des municipalité du Québec, incluant une description de la méthodologie utilisée afin de déterminer certaines augmentations tarifaire, et qu’elle ne peuvent accepter les frais de délivrance de permis  ainsi que leur augmentation annuelle qui selon les Entreprises semble excéder les taux d’inflation applicables.

La Ville a indiqué par ailleurs que cette étude a été préparée par la firme KPMG et a déjà été produite dans le dossier de la Cour supérieure dans lequel les Entreprises ont contesté le Règlement numéro 718-2012 de Gatineau. La Ville a noté qu’elle est disposée à communiquer de nouveau cette étude aux Entreprises malgré que ces dernières aient pu le faire en vertu des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil. Par conséquent la Ville a formulé une demande au Conseil pour obtenir l’autorisation de produire les documents suivants dans la présente demande :

  1. Le rapport sur les coûts causals préparé en 2011 pour l’Union des municipalités du Québec par la firme KPMG; et
  2.  Les données financières établissant les frais de délivrance de permis pour l’année 2018 sur la base du fichier Excel joint comme annexe 3 à la demande d’AAM.

Après lecture de la réplique de la Ville, le personnel est d’avis que le Conseil bénéficierait de recevoir les documents cités dans les points 1 et 2 tel que proposé par la Ville. Par conséquent, la Ville a jusqu’au 2 mai 2018 pour déposer les documents, les Entreprises ont jusqu’au 11 mai 2018 pour déposer leurs commentaires, et la Ville a jusqu’au 16 mai 2018 pour déposer une réplique.

Dans le cadre de ce processus supplémentaire, les Entreprises sont tenues de limiter la portée de leurs commentaires aux nouveaux documents déposés par la Ville et la Ville doit s’en tenir aux propos qui seront déposés par les Entreprises.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.:  Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

Me Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé avocats s.e.n.c.r.l.
Représentant la Ville de Gatineau
5, Place Ville Marie, Bureau 900
Montréal (Québec)  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Madame Caroline Dignard
Vice-présidente, Affaires juridiques
Cogeco Connexion Inc.
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com

Monsieur Michael E Piaskoski
Directeur, Relations municipales
Affaires institutionnelles et réglementaires
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Monsieur Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust avocats
Représentant les Entreprises
20845, chemin de la Côte du Nord, bureau 500
Boisbriand (Québec)  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires télécommunications
Québecor Média inc.
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Madame Bruna Nardi
Directrice, Affaires réglementaires
Gestion des politiques d'accès
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date de modification :