Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Asian Television Network International Limited for FairPlay Coalition

Ottawa, 13 April 2018

Our reference: 8663-A182-201800467

BY E-MAIL

Dr. Shan Chandrasekar
Asian Television Network International Limited for FairPlay Coalition
atn@asiantelevision.com

Re: Application to disable on-line access to piracy websites – Procedural Request

On 29 January 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited filed an application on behalf of itself and a number of other persons (collectively, FairPlay Coalition) seeking the establishment of a regime that would serve to identify websites and services that are “blatantly, overwhelmingly, or structurally engaged” in copyright piracy and result in a requirement on Internet Service Providers to block access to such identified sites and services.

On 15 February 2018, Commission staff issued a letter amending the timelines otherwise applicable to the proceeding initiated by the above-referenced application to allow for the filing of interventions by 29 March 2018 and reply comments by 23 April 2018.

On 5 April 2018, the FairPlay Coalition submitted a procedural request asking for an extension to the deadline for the filing of reply comments.  Specifically, the FairPlay Coalition requested that the 23 April 2018 deadline be extended to 14 May 2018.  The FairPlay Coalition raised a number of arguments in support of its request.  No responses to this procedural request were received.

Having regard to the volume of interventions received in response to the above-referenced FairPlay Coalition application, the resources required to process and respond to these interventions and the absence of prejudice to other parties should the request be granted, the requested extension is reasonable.  As such, the FairPlay Coalition may file reply comments received in response to its application by no later than 14 May 2018.

As indicated in the above-mentioned 15 February 2018 letter, the Commission will determine at a later time whether further process is warranted and, if so, in what form.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Crystal Hulley-Craig
Senior Legal Counsel

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Asian Television Network International Limited pour la coalition FrancJeu

Ottawa, le 13 avril 2018

N/Réf. : 8663-A182-201800467

PAR COURRIEL

Dr Shan Chandrasekar
Asian Television Network International Limited pour la coalition FrancJeu
atn@asiantelevision.com

Objet :  Demande de désactiver l’accès en ligne aux sites Web de piratage – Requête procédurale

Le 29 janvier 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited  a déposé, en son nom et au nom de plusieurs autres personnes (collectivement, la coalition FrancJeu), une demande sollicitant la mise en place d’un régime servant à identifier les sites Web et les services impliqués de façon « manifeste, évidente ou structurelle » dans le piratage de droits d’auteur. Ce régime imposerait aux fournisseurs de services d’accès Internet une exigence les tenant à désactiver l’accès aux sites et services identifiés. à

Le 15 février 2018, le personnel du Conseil a émis une lettre modifiant les échéanciers autrement applicables à l’instance amorcée par la demande susmentionnée afin de permettre le dépôt des interventions au plus tard le 29 mars 2018 et des commentaires en réplique au plus tard le 23 avril 2018.

Le 5 avril 2018, la coalition FrancJeu a présenté une requête procédurale demandant la prolongation du délai pour le dépôt des observations en réplique. Plus particulièrement, la Coalition FrancJeu a demandé que l’échéance du 23 avril 2018 soit reportée au 14 mai 2018. La coalition FrancJeu a soulevé un certain nombre d’arguments à l’appui de sa requête. Aucune réponse à cette requête procédurale n’a été reçue.

Compte tenu du volume d’interventions reçues en guise de réponse à la demande susmentionnée de la Coalition FrancJeu, des ressources requises pour traiter ces interventions et y répondre, et de l’absence de préjudice aux autres parties advenant l’acceptation de la requête, la prolongation demandée est jugée raisonnable. Par conséquent, la coalition FrancJeu peut déposer des répliques aux commentaires reçus concernant sa demande au plus tard le 14 mai 2018.

Comme il est indiqué dans la lettre susmentionnée du 15 février 2018, le Conseil déterminera, à un moment ultérieur, si une procédure supplémentaire est nécessaire, et dans l’affirmative, sous quelle forme.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Crystal Hulley-Craig
Avocate principale

Date de modification :