Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 29 March 2018

Our reference: 8662-C210-201800871

BY EMAIL

DIstribution List

Re:  City of Hamilton, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and the City of Calgary - Application to review and vary Telecom Decision 2017-388

This letter addresses the request for information and documents in respect to Table 1 (Paragraph 44) of Bell Canada’s intervention filed on 14 March 2018.

By separate letters dated 21 March 2018, the City of Hamilton (Hamilton), the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and the City of Calgary (collectively, the Applicants) requested that Bell Canada produce, by 26 March 2018, documents and other related information in respect to Table 1 (Paragraph 44) of Bell Canada’s intervention filed on 14 March 2018, and that they have until 10 days following Bell Canada providing the requested information to file their reply.

The Applicants submitted that Bell Canada has made serious allegations against the Applicants in respect to requests for information or “markups”. They noted however, that Bell Canada did not provide back-up documentation, support, relevant appendices or any other information to establish a linkage between its Table 1 and clause 13(b) of the Municipal Access Agreement (MAA). The Applicants stated that for example, Bell Canada has not delineated between “mark-ups” and locate requests as the two were vastly different and have different implications for the MAA. The Applicants argued that without this information, they could provide no meaningful response to the Commission in respect to these allegations. The Applicants submitted that the Commission would greatly benefit from full disclosure of the information or documents used by Bell Canada to compile its Table 1, thereby enabling the Applicants to provide a detailed response to further assist the Commission with its deliberations.

By Commission staff letter dated 22 March 2018, Bell Canada was requested to file a response to the Applicants’ request for documents and other related information, by 26 March 2018. In addition, the date for the filing of the Applicants’ reply was suspended, pending a resolution of the procedural request for information.

By letter dated 22 March 2018, Bell Canada filed its response to the Applicants’ request. Bell Canada noted that all of the data set out in Table 1 and Figure 1 of its Intervention (Paragraph 44) relates to mark-ups requested from Bell Canada by Hamilton. Bell Canada stated that Hamilton has full knowledge concerning why and on what basis it requested these mark-ups, and is thus fully able to prepare any response it feels is necessary to the information presented in association with Table 1 and Figure 1.

With respect to information filed in confidence with the Commission, Bell Canada noted that the only information redacted from disclosure in Table 1 and Figure 1 concerned Bell Canada's direct costs of providing the mark-ups requested by Hamilton.  Bell Canada submitted that this information was appropriately filed in confidence and should not be disclosed on the public record.  Bell Canada submitted that its costs of providing mark-ups represent financial information that is consistently treated as confidential - as evidenced by the fact that this information was not shared with the other carriers supporting the jointly-filed Intervention - and the Commission has consistently determined that company-specific cost inputs are appropriately treated as confidential in nature.  Bell Canada further submitted that the public interest in this information was insufficient to warrant its disclosure despite its confidential nature, as Hamilton was fully positioned to make comments concerning the mark-ups it has requested from Bell Canada without knowledge of the specific costs Bell Canada incurred to respond to its requests.

For these reasons, Bell Canada submitted that the Applicants' requests for disclosure and additional information should be rejected and consequently, the Applicants' extension request was not required and should also be dismissed.

Commission staff notes that requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff considers that all of the data set out in Table 1 and Figure 1 of Bell Canada’s Intervention dated 14 March 2018 relates to mark-ups requested from Bell Canada by Hamilton. Hamilton should have copies of its requests for mark-ups and the responses provided to Hamilton by Bell Canada in association with Table 1 and Figure 1.

Commission staff notes that the only information marked as confidential in Table 1 and Figure 1 concerns Bell Canada's direct costs of providing the mark-ups requested by Hamilton. Hamilton is able to submit its reply comments concerning the mark-ups it has requested from Bell Canada without knowledge of the specific costs Bell Canada incurred to respond to its requests. Accordingly Commission staff considers that the specific direct harm that could result from the disclosure of this information would outweigh the public interest in its disclosure.
Having regard to all of the considerations set out above and to the parties’ submissions, Bell Canada is not required to disclose to the Applicants the documents and other related information in respect to Table 1 (Paragraph 44) of Bell Canada’s intervention filed on 14 March 2018, including information for which Bell Canada has claimed confidentiality.

As noted above, the date for the Applicants’ reply was suspended pending a resolution of the procedural request for information. In view of the foregoing, the Applicants are to file their reply to the interventions filed in this proceeding by 11 April 2018, serving a copy on Bell Canada and all parties to this proceeding.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c. c.: Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:

City of Hamilton, david@duxburylaw.ca
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities, s.emardchabot@gmail.com
City of Calgary, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Cogeco Connexion Inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Quebecor Media Inc., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com,
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
City of Gatineau, mcantin@belangersauve.com
City of Montreal, vgagnon@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 29 mars 2018

Notre référence : 8662-C210-201800871

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Ville de Hamilton, Fédération canadienne des municipalités et Ville de Calgary – Demande de révision et de modification de la Décision de télécom 2017 388

La présente lettre porte sur la demande de renseignements et de documents concernant le Tableau 1 (paragraphe 44) figurant dans l’intervention que Bell Canada a déposée le 14 mars 2018.

Le 21 mars 2018, dans des lettres distinctes, la Ville de Hamilton, la Fédération canadienne des municipalités et la Ville de Calgary (les demandeurs) ont demandé que Bell Canada leur présente, au plus tard le 26 mars 2018, des documents et des renseignements connexes concernant le Tableau 1 (paragraphe 44) figurant dans l’intervention que Bell Canada a déposée le 14 mars 2018. Ils ont demandé également à ce qu’on leur accorde un délai pouvant aller jusqu’à dix jours suivant la transmission par Bell Canada de ces renseignements pour déposer leur réplique.

Les demandeurs ont soutenu que Bell Canada a formulé de sérieuses allégations contre eux en ce qui concerne les demandes de renseignements ou les « suppléments ». Ils ont ajouté que Bell Canada n’a pas fourni de documents justificatifs ou de soutien, ni d’annexes pertinentes ou d’autres renseignements pour établir un lien entre son Tableau 1 et l’alinéa 13b) de l’Accord d’accès municipal (AAM). Les demandeurs ont souligné que, par exemple, Bell Canada n’a pas établi de distinction entre les « suppléments » et les demandes de repérage, bien que les deux soient très différents et qu’ils aient des répercussions différentes sur l’AAM. Ils ont précisé que, sans ces renseignements, ils ne peuvent fournir de réponse significative au Conseil à l’égard de ces allégations. Les demandeurs ont fait valoir que le Conseil profiterait grandement de la divulgation complète des renseignements ou des documents utilisés par Bell Canada pour compiler son Tableau 1, car cela leur permettrait de fournir une réponse détaillée afin d’aider davantage le Conseil dans ses délibérations.
Dans une lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 22 mars 2018, Bell Canada a été priée de répondre à la demande de documents et d’autres renseignements connexes des demandeurs au plus tard le 26 mars 2018. En outre, la date limite pour déposer la réplique des demandeurs a été suspendue jusqu’à ce que la demande procédurale de renseignements ait été satisfaite.

Dans une lettre datée du 22 mars 2018, Bell Canada a répondu à la demande de renseignements. Elle a indiqué que toutes les données présentées dans le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1 de son intervention (paragraphe 44) se rapportent aux suppléments demandés à Bell Canada par la Ville de Hamilton. Bell Canada a déclaré que la Ville de Hamilton sait parfaitement pourquoi et sur quelle base elle a demandé ces suppléments, et qu’elle est donc pleinement en mesure de préparer toute réponse qu’elle juge nécessaire à l’information présentée en lien avec le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1.

En ce qui concerne les renseignements déposés à titre confidentiel auprès du Conseil, Bell Canada a fait remarquer que les seuls renseignements retirés de la divulgation dans le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1 portaient sur ses coûts directs pour fournir les suppléments demandés par la Ville de Hamilton. Bell Canada a soutenu que cette information a été déposée de façon appropriée et confidentielle et qu’elle ne devrait pas être divulguée dans le dossier public. Elle a déclaré que les coûts associés à la prestation du supplément représentent de l’information financière qui est toujours traitée de façon confidentielle – comme en fait foi le fait que cette information n’a pas été transmise aux autres transporteurs à l’appui de l’intervention conjointe – et le Conseil a toujours déterminé que l’information concernant le coût des intrants propres à l’entreprise est désignée comme étant confidentielle et est traitée comme telle. Bell Canada a également affirmé que l’intérêt public à l’égard de cette information était un motif insuffisant pour justifier sa divulgation malgré sa nature confidentielle, car la Ville de Hamilton était en mesure de faire des commentaires concernant les suppléments qu’elle a demandés à Bell Canada sans connaître les coûts précis que Bell Canada a engagés pour répondre à ses demandes.

Pour ces raisons, Bell Canada a soutenu que les demandes de divulgation et de renseignements supplémentaires des demandeurs devraient être rejetées et que, par conséquent, la demande de prolongation des demandeurs n’est pas nécessaire et devrait également être rejetée.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées en fonction des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Pour chaque demande, on cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. On détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de les divulguer.

ans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance de la divulgation des renseignements pour la constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Le personnel du Conseil considère que toutes les données présentées dans le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1 de l’intervention de Bell Canada datée du 14 mars 2018 se rapportent aux suppléments demandés à Bell Canada par la Ville de Hamilton. Cette dernière devrait avoir des copies de ses demandes de suppléments et des réponses qui lui ont été fournies par Bell Canada en rapport avec le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1.

Le personnel du Conseil note que la seule information marquée comme confidentielle dans le Tableau 1 et la Figure 1 concerne les coûts directs engagés par Bell Canada pour fournir les suppléments demandés par la Ville de Hamilton. Cette dernière est en mesure de présenter ses observations en réplique concernant les suppléments qu’elle a demandés à Bell Canada sans connaître les coûts précis engagés par Bell Canada pour répondre à ses demandes. Le personnel du Conseil estime donc que le préjudice direct qui pourrait découler de la communication de ces renseignements l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation de ceux-ci.

Compte tenu de toutes les considérations énoncées ci-dessus et des observations des parties, Bell Canada n’est pas tenue de divulguer aux demandeurs les documents et autres renseignements connexes concernant le Tableau 1 (paragraphe 44) de son intervention déposée le 14 mars 2018, y compris les renseignements pour lesquels Bell Canada a demandé la confidentialité.

Comme il est précisé ci-dessus, la date limite des demandeurs pour déposer leur réplique a été suspendue jusqu’à ce que la demande procédurale de renseignements ait été satisfaite. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les demandeurs doivent déposer leur réplique aux interventions déposées dans le cadre de la présente instance au plus tard le 11 avril 2018, en signifiant une copie à Bell Canada et à toutes les parties à la présente instance

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution

Ville de Hamilton, david@duxburylaw.ca
Fédération canadienne des municipalités, s.emardchabot@gmail.com
Ville de Calgary, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Cogeco Connexion inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Québecor Média inc., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com,
Shaw Communications inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Ville de Gatineau, mcantin@belangersauve.com
Ville de Montréal, vgagnon@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Date de modification :