Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 13 March 2018

Our reference:  8740-T66-201711250

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: TELUS Communications Inc. Tariff Notice 532 - Introduction of Service Entrance Conduit Charge - Request for additional information

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 30 November 2017, the Commission received an application from TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), Tariff Notice (TN) 532, in which the company proposed a revision to its General Tariff (CRTC 21461) Item 404, Support Structure Service, introducing a charge for service entrance conduit in British Columbia (B.C.).

TCI is hereby requested to provide responses to the attached Commission staff interrogatories, serving copies on all parties, by 3 April 2018. The information provided in response to the interrogatories should be disclosed in accordance with the guidelines established in Confidentiality of Information used to establish wholesale service rates – Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592 (TRP 2012-592), dated 26 October 2012.

Parties may file additional written comments with the Commission solely in relation to the responses to the interrogatories serving copies on all interested parties, by 13 April 2018.  TCI may file reply comments with the Commission by 20 April 2018.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.  Copies of the documents should also be sent to Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca

Sincerely,

Original signed by Abderrahman El Fatihi for

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunication sector

c.c.: El Fatihi, Abderrahman, Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Distribution list:

TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tom Woo, TELUS Communications Company, tom.woo@telus.com
Paul Cowling, Shaw Cable systems G.P., regulatory@sjrb.ca


ATTACHMENT

TCI TN 532 – Service Entrance Conduit
Interrogatories

  1. Refer to Item 404.1 of TCI’s proposed tariff pages filed as part of Tariff Notice (TN) 532 application filed on 30 November 2017, where the company defines a “Service Entrance Conduit” (SEC) as extending from a service box on public property through to the point of interconnection on the outside wall or inside the customer’s premises on private property.
    1. Confirm whether the SEC, for which TCI is proposing a new rate, includes only the portion on the public property (and excludes the portion on the private property), or it extends from the service box on the public property to the point of interconnection on the outside wall or inside the customer’s premises on private property.
    2. If the SEC includes the portion on the on private property as well, explain how it is consistent with charges applicable for facilities on the private property (i.e. Item 406 – Construction Charges and Item 404.2.20 Service Entrance Conduit on Private Property).
  2. Refer to the ‘Report on the Economic Evaluation for Wholesale Access to Service Entrance Conduit in British Columbia’ (‘the Study Report’), filed as an attachment to TCI’s TN 532 application, where, at Paragraph 17 TCI submitted that ‘the embedded capital cost amount of TELUS’ conduit structure is accumulated in the asset class A70 – Conduit Structures’.
    1. With regards to B.C. SEC costs, confirm whether this asset class A70 includes only the engineering costs related to SEC on public property.
    2. If not, identify what other types of cost elements associated with B.C. SEC are included in this asset class. Further, explain how it is consistent with charges applicable for facilities on the private property (i.e. Item 406 – Construction Charges, Item 404.2.19 - Conduit on Private Property, and Item 404.2.20 - Service Entrance Conduit on Private Property).
  3. Refer to ‘the Study Report’, ‘Table 1: Total Embedded Cost Data’.
    1. Provide this Table in an Excel spreadsheet showing all the formulas used, as appropriate.
    2. Refer to the row titled ‘Number of Conduit’ in Table 1. 
      1. Specify whether each of these input data includes mainline conduit only, service entrance conduit (SEC) only, or both.
      2. Provide source and vintage of these data as well as how each of these values are estimated. Clearly indicate whether these numbers represent annual or monthly (i.e., annual times 12) demand, and whether it includes total TCI and competitor demand together, or competitor demand only.
  4. Refer to ‘the Study Report’, ‘Table 1: Total Embedded Cost Data’.
    1. For the row ‘Embedded cost (original or book value)/ unit’, identify all cost elements included under each column (i.e., material cost, installation labor, engineering labor, etc.).
    2. Using an excel spreadsheet, provide a detailed derivation of how the each of embedded cost, NBV depreciation numbers per unit were calculated for each of the column in Table 1, starting with the original data in asset class 70 of TCI’s SAP financial records system. The response should also identify any other sources of data and / or assumptions used. The calculations should clearly show how the engineering costs associated with SEC are derived, including adjustments made to reflect a higher weighting of the engineering costs associated with SEC as explained in paragraph 19 of the ‘Study Report’.
  5. Refer to TCI’s reply submission to Shaw’s comments, filed on 17 January 2018, paragraph 14, where TCI stated that the total annual engineering labour cost portion associated with asset class A70 is calculated by applying the labour-to-material ratio specific to engineering labour.  In the Excel spreadsheet,
    1. Provide a detailed derivation of the engineering labour to material ratio for TCI’s asset class A70.  The response should clearly identify what is included in the numerator (i.e. installation labour, engineering labour, or both combined) as well as what is included in the denominator (material cost only or total material, labour and engineering costs).
    2. Provide a detailed derivation of the engineering costs using the ratio in a) above.
    3. Confirm that the engineering labour to material ratio was applied only to material costs in asset class A70. If the response is yes, explain how the material cost only was calculated from the total costs in asset class A70. If not, explain why with supporting rationale. Further, provide a revised calculation of engineering costs where the engineering labour to total costs ratio (show calculation) is applied against total cost in asset class A70.
  6. Refer to the Study Report, Section 5.0, Table “Results and Template”, where TCI provided details on the calculation of ‘Monthly cost per billing unit’ of SEC in B.C.
    1. Provide in an Excel spreadsheet and in the same format the calculation of ‘Monthly cost per billing unit’ of SEC in B.C showing all formulas used, and where appropriate, links to other values in the in the spreadsheet.
    2. For the items ‘Maintenance’ and ‘Other Costs (Indirect labour loading)’ in this table, provide the sources and vintage of data as well as the calculations used to derive these costs.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 13 mars 2018

Notre référence : 8740-T66-201711250

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

OBJET : Avis de modification tarifaire 532 de la Société TELUS Communications Inc.  - Instauration de frais liés aux conduites d’entrée de service - Demande de renseignements supplémentaires

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 30 novembre 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande de la part de la Société TELUS Communications Inc. (STC), Avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 532, dans laquelle l’entreprise proposait une modification de son article 404 du Tarif général (CRTC 21461), Services de structures de soutènement, et d’appliquer des frais pour la conduite d’entrée de service en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.).

Par la présente, on demande à la STC de répondre aux Demandes de renseignements du personnel du Conseil ci-jointes et d’en remettre une copie à chaque partie d’ici le 3 avril 2018. Les renseignements fournis en réponse aux demandes de renseignements doivent être divulgués conformément aux lignes directrices établies dans le document Traitement confidentiel des renseignements utilisés pour établir les tarifs des services de gros – de la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592 (PRT 2012-592), daté du 26 octobre 2012.

Les parties peuvent déposer auprès du Conseil des observations additionnelles écrites uniquement au sujet des réponses aux demandes de renseignements et, le cas échéant, doivent en signifier copie à toutes les parties intéressées, au plus tard le 13 avril 2018. La STC peut déposer des observations en réplique auprès du Conseil d’ici le 20 avril 2018.

Nous vous rappelons que lorsqu’un document doit être déposé au plus tard à une date précise, il doit avoir été reçu et non simplement être envoyé au plus tard à la date indiquée. Une copie des documents doit également être envoyée à Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par Abderrahman El Fatihi, pour

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  El Fatihi, Abderrahman, Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca

P.j. (1)

Liste de distribution :

Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tom Woo, Société TELUS Communications, tom.woo@telus.com
Paul Cowling, Shaw Cable systems G.P., regulatory@sjrb.ca


PIÈCE JOINTE

STC AMT 532 – Conduite d’entrée de service
Demandes de renseignements

  1. En référence à l’article 404.1 des pages de tarif proposées par la STC dans le cadre de la demande d’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 532 déposée le 30 novembre 2017, dans laquelle l’entreprise définit une conduite d’entrée de service comme une extension de la boîte de raccordement, qui se trouve sur la propriété publique, jusqu’au point d’interconnexion, qui se trouve sur la propriété privée du client, sur le mur extérieur de l’immeuble ou à l’intérieur des locaux.
    1. Veuillez confirmer que la conduite d’entrée de service, pour laquelle la STC propose un nouveau tarif, comprend uniquement la partie située sur la propriété publique (et qu’elle exclut la partie sur la propriété privée) ou qu’elle s’étend de la boîte de raccordement, qui se trouve sur la propriété publique, jusqu’au point d’interconnexion, qui se trouve sur la propriété privée du client, sur le mur extérieur de l’immeuble ou à l’intérieur des locaux.
    2. Si la conduite d’entrée de service comprend la partie située sur la propriété privée aussi, veuillez préciser en quoi cela respecte les frais applicables aux installations sur la propriété privée (c.-à-d. article 406, Frais de construction, et article 404.2.20, Conduite d’entrée de service sur une propriété privée).
  2. En référence au Rapport sur l’évaluation économique de l’accès de gros à la conduite d’entrée de service de la Colombie-Britannique (le Rapport d’étude), déposé en pièce jointe de la demande d’AMT 532 de la STC, dans lequel, au paragraphe 17, la STC indique que le montant du coût historique en capital dans la structure de la conduite de TELUS est cumulé dans la classe d’actif A70 – Structures de conduit.
    1. En ce qui a trait aux coûts de la conduite d’entrée de service de la C.-B., veuillez confirmer si cet actif de classe A70 comprend seulement les coûts d’ingénierie liés à la conduite d’entrée de service située sur la propriété publique.
    2. Dans la négative, veuillez indiquer quels autres types de coûts sont associés à la conduite d’entrée de service de la C.-B. font partie de cette classe d’actif. De plus, précisez en quoi cela respecte les frais applicables aux installations sur la propriété privée (c.-à-d. article 406, Frais de construction, article 404.2.19, Conduite sur une propriété privée et article 404.2.20, Conduite d’entrée de service sur une propriété privée).
  3. En référence au Tableau 1 : données sur le coût historique total, du rapport d’étude :
    1. Veuillez présenter ce tableau dans une feuille de calcul Excel avec toutes les formules pertinentes utilisées.
    2. D’après la rangée « Nombre de conduites » du Tableau 1 :   
      1. Veuillez préciser si chaque donnée comprend la conduite principale uniquement, la conduite d’entrée de service uniquement ou les deux.
      2. Veuillez fournir la source et l’année de ces données ainsi que la façon dont chaque valeur est évaluée. Indiquez clairement si ces chiffres représentent une demande mensuelle ou annuelle (c.-à-d. annuelle fois 12) et s’il s’agit de la demande de la STC et de son concurrent ou seulement de la demande de son concurrent.
  4. En référence au Tableau 1 : données sur le coût historique total, du rapport d’étude.
    1. Identifier tous les éléments de coûts de chaque colonne de la rangée « Coûts historiques (valeur originale ou comptable) par unité » (c.-à-d. le coût des matériaux, les coûts de main-d’œuvre pour l’installation ou l’ingénierie, etc.).
    2. À l’aide d’une feuille de calcul Excel, indiquer de façon détaillée comment, pour chaque coût historique, les chiffres d’amortissement de la VCN par unité ont été calculés dans chaque colonne du Tableau 1, à partir des données originales de la classe d’actif 70 dans le système de dossiers financiers SAP de la STC. La réponse doit aussi indiquer les autres sources de données ou hypothèses utilisées. Les calculs doivent clairement démontrer comment les coûts d’ingénierie liés à la conduite d’entrée de service sont déduits, notamment en ce qui a trait aux ajustements apportés pour refléter une pondération plus élevée des coûts d’ingénierie liés à la conduite d’entrée de service, comme l’explique le paragraphe 19 du rapport d’étude.
  5. En référence au paragraphe 14 de la réponse de la STC aux observations de Shaw, déposée le 17 janvier 2018, dans lequel la STC affirme que la partie des coûts annuels de main‑d’œuvre en génie relatifs aux actifs de classe A70 est calculée en appliquant le ratio main‑d’œuvre/matériaux propre à la main-d’œuvre en génie. Dans une feuille de calcul Excel;
    1. Présenter l’amortissement détaillé du ratio main‑d’œuvre/matériaux pour les actifs de classe A70 de la STC. La réponse doit clairement indiquer ce qui est inclus dans le numérateur (c.-à-d. la main-d’œuvre pour l’installation ou l’ingénierie ou les deux) ainsi que ce qui est inclus dans le dénominateur (uniquement le coût des matériaux ou le coût total des matériaux, de la main-d’œuvre et de l’ingénierie).
    2. Présenter l’amortissement détaillé des coûts d’ingénierie en utilisant le même ratio que a).
    3. Confirmer que le ratio main‑d’œuvre/matériaux a uniquement été appliqué aux coûts de matériaux de la classe d’actifs A70. Dans l’affirmative, expliquer comment le coût des matériaux uniquement a été calculé à partir des coûts totaux des actifs de la classe A70. Dans la négative, expliquer pourquoi, avec preuve à l’appui. Outre cela, fournir un calcul révisé des coûts d’ingénierie auxquels le ratio entre la main‑d’œuvre d’ingénierie et le total des coûts (indiquer le calcul) a été appliqué au coût total des actifs de la classe 70.
  6. En référence à l’article 5.0, Tableau : Résultats et gabarit, du rapport d’étude, dans lequel la STC fournit les détails du calcul du « Coût mensuel par unité de facturation » de la conduite d’entrée de service en Colombie-Britannique.
    1. Fournir dans une feuille de calcul Excel et dans le même format que le calcul du « Coût mensuel par unité de facturation » de la conduite d’entrée de service en Colombie-Britannique, toutes les formules utilisées et, le cas échéant, les liens vers d’autres valeurs de la feuille de calcul.
    2. Pour les éléments « Maintenance » et « Autres coûts » (main-d’œuvre indirecte) de ce tableau, fournir les sources et les années des données ainsi que le calcul utilisé pour l’amortissement de ces coûts.
Date de modification :