Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to the Distibution List

Ottawa, 15 February 2018

Our reference: 8690-C126-201612250

BY E-MAIL

Distribution List

RE: City of Calgary’s Part 1 Application dated 28 November 2016 - Request for Extension to Deadline for filing Reply

By letter dated 19 January 2018, Commission staff established a revised process associated with the consideration of The City of Calgary’s (Calgary) Part 1 application dated 28 November 2016 which named Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., TELUS Communications Company (collectively, the Carriers) and Zayo Canada as Respondents.

On 31 January 2018, the Carriers filed their answer to Calgary’s Part 1 application. On 2 February 2018, Zayo Canada filed its answer to Calgary’s Part 1 application.

By letter dated 8 February 2018, pursuant to section 7 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, Calgary requested an extension to the date for filing its reply to 23 March 2018. Calgary noted that in Telecom Decision 2017-461) Footnote1 , the Carriers and Calgary were required to file submissions on each of the two parts of the Application.

By letter dated 13 February 2018, the Carriers stated that they had no objection to Calgary’s request.

In the circumstances, Commission staff considers the request for an extension to the date for the filing to be reasonable. Accordingly, Calgary has until 23 March 2018 to file a reply,serving copies on the Carriers and any other party.

Procedural Matters Raised by Carriers

In their 31 January 2018 answer, the Carriers also requested an additional reply period for the Carriers to comment on Calgary’s reply to the Carriers’ answer. The Carriers stated that a further process may enable the Carriers to confirm that counter-proposals were acceptable or, conversely, that seemingly reasonable proposals are not and why that was the case.

In its letter dated 8 February 2018, Calgary objected to the Carriers’ request for an additional reply. Calgary stated that the matters before the Commission arise by way of a Part 1 application filed by Calgary and that at no point have the Carriers contested the right of Calgary to make that application, including as to each of the two grounds of relief sought.

In their letter dated 13 February 2018, the Carriers stated that Calgary’s reply would likely offer rationale in support of specific clauses and may offer modifications to specific proposed terms in response to concerns raised by the Carriers. The Carriers submitted that by affording the Carriers the opportunity to reply to Calgary’s comments, they could advise the Commission whether any terms modified by Calgary were acceptable or not, and to provide their rationale for such determinations.

In Telecom Decision 2017-461, in re-establishing the process for Calgary’s Part 1 application, the Commission reminded the respondents that they were required to identify the sections of Calgary’s proposed Municipal Consent Access Agreement (MCAA) to which they object, provide supporting rationale for their objection(s), and propose alternative wording.

In their 31 January 2018 answer, the Carriers filed submissions on the ROW Bylaw and identified in detail which sections of the proposed MCAA they were in agreement with and which sections of the proposed MCAA with which they did not agree, proposing alternate wording.

Commission staff is satisfied that it would be appropriate to allow the Carriers to file an additional reply submission to indicate whether they agree with any counter-proposal by Calgary to the Carriers’ 31 January 2018 wording for the proposed MCAA. This would be an efficient and preferred approach to identify on the record those provisions that remain in dispute between the parties, for which a Commission determination is required.

Therefore, the Respondents may, by 30 March 2018, file an additional reply and serve a copy on Calgary and any other party their additional reply submission. The Respondents may only indicate whether they agree with any alternate wording that Calgary may propose in its 23 March 2018 Reply and may not include in the submission any further arguments or discussion.

At any time during this process, Calgary and the Respondents may negotiate mutually acceptable wording of the various sections of the proposed MCAA which remain in dispute and advise the Commission of such negotiated wording.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List:

Doug Evanchuk, devanchuk@mross.com;
Kelly Hess, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com,
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com,
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities, s.emardchabot@gmail.com;
The Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 15 février 2018

Notre référence : 8690-C126-201612250

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la ville de Calgary le 28 novembre 2016 - Demande de report de la date limite pour le dépôt d’une réplique 

Dans une lettre datée du 19 janvier 2018, le personnel du Conseil a établi un processus révisé associé à l’examen de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la ville de Calgary (Calgary) le 28 novembre 2016. Dans cette demande, Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., Société TELUS Communications (collectivement, les Entreprises) et Zayo Canada étaient nommés à titre d’intimés.

Le 31 janvier 2018, les Entreprises ont déposé leur réplique à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Calgary. Le 2 février 2018, Zayo Canada a déposé sa réplique à l’égard de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Calgary.

Dans une lettre datée du 8 février 2018, aux termes de l’article 7 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, Calgary a demandé le report de la date du dépôt de sa réplique au 23 mars 2018. Calgary a noté que dans la Décision de télécom 2017-461Note de bas de page1, les Entreprises et Calgary étaient tenus de déposer des observations concernant chacune des deux parties de la Demande.

Dans une lettre datée du 13 février 2018, les Entreprises ont affirmé qu’elles n’avaient aucune objection à l’égard de la demande de Calgary.

Dans ces circonstances, le personnel du Conseil estime que la demande de report de la date de dépôt est raisonnable. En conséquence, Calgary a jusqu’au 23 mars 2018 pour déposer sa réplique et en signifier copie aux Entreprises et à toute autre partie

Questions de procédure soulevées par les Entreprises

Dans leur réplique du 31 janvier 2018, les Entreprises ont aussi demandé une période de réplique additionnelle pour pouvoir commenter la réponse de Calgary à la question des Entreprises. Les Entreprises ont déclaré qu’un processus additionnel pourrait leur permettre de confirmer que les contre‑propositions étaient acceptables ou, inversement, que des propositions apparaissant raisonnables ne l’étaient pas, et pourquoi.

Dans sa lettre datée du 8 février 2018, Calgary s’est opposé à la demande des Entreprises pour une réplique additionnelle. Calgary a affirmé que les questions dont le Conseil est saisi découlent d’une demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Calgary, et qu’en aucun cas les Entreprises n’ont contesté le droit de Calgary de faire cette demande, y compris pour chacun des deux motifs de réparation demandée.

Dans leur lettre datée du 13 février 2018, les Entreprises ont affirmé que la réplique de Calgary fournirait vraisemblablement une justification à l’appui de clauses spécifiques et pourrait proposer des modifications aux modalités précises proposées en guise de réponse aux préoccupations soulevées par les Entreprises. Celles-ci ont fait valoir qu’en leur offrant la possibilité de répondre aux commentaires de  Calgary, elles pourraient indiquer au Conseil si toute modalité modifiée par Calgary était acceptable ou non, et fournir une justification pour de telles conclusions.

Dans la décision de télécom 2017-461, en rétablissant le processus pour la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Calgary, le Conseil a rappelé aux intimés qu’ils devaient indiquer les sections de l’Accord d’accès et de consentement municipal (AACM) proposé auxquels ils s’opposent, fournir une justification à l’appui de leurs objection(s), et proposer une autre formulation.

Dans leur réplique du 31 janvier 2018, les Entreprises ont déposé des observations concernant le règlement municipal sur les SM et ont indiquer avec précision les sections de l’AACM qu’elles approuvaient et celles auxquelles elles s’opposaient, en proposant une nouvelle formulation.

Le personnel du Conseil est convaincu qu’il serait approprié de permettre aux Entreprises de déposer des observations de réplique additionnelles afin d’indiquer si elles approuvent ou non toute contre-proposition faite par Calgary à l’égard de la formulation des Entreprises du 31 January 2018 pour l’AACM proposé. Il s’agirait d’une approche efficace et privilégiée pour indique au dossier les dispositions qui demeurent en litige entre les parties, et pour lesquelles une décision du Conseil est requise.

Par conséquent, les intimés peuvent, d’ici le 30 mars 2018, déposer une réplique additionnelle et signifier copie de leurs observations en réplique supplémentaires à Calgary et à toute autre partie. Les intimés peuvent seulement indiquer s’ils approuvent une nouvelle formulation proposée par Calgary dans sa réplique du 23 mars 2018, et ils ne peuvent pas inclure d’autres arguments ou points de discussions dans les observations.

À tout moment durant ce processus, Calgary et les intimés peuvent négocier une formulation mutuellement acceptable des diverses sections de l’AACM proposé qui font encore l’objet d’un différend, puis aviser le Conseil de la formulation convenue.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

Doug Evanchuk, devanchuk@mross.com;
Kelly Hess, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com,
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com;
La Fédération canadienne des municipalités, s.emardchabot@gmail.com;
The Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net

Date de modification :