Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Dr. Shan Chandrasekar and Tamir Israel (FairPlay Coalition and University of Ottawa)

Ottawa, 15 February 2018

Our reference: 8663-A182-201800467 

BY E-MAIL

Dr. Shan Chandrasekar
Asian Television Network International Limited for FairPlay Coalition
atn@asiantelevision.com

Tamir Israel
Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic
University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law, CML Section, 57 Louis Pasteur Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6N5
cippic@uottawa.ca

Re: Application to disable on-line access to piracy sites – Procedural Request

On 29 January 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited filed an application on behalf of itself and a number of other persons (collectively, FairPlay Canada) seeking the establishment of a regime that would serve to identify websites and services that are “blatantly, overwhelmingly, or structurally engaged” in copyright piracy and result in a requirement on Internet Service Providers to block access to such identified sites and services.

On 2 February 2018, the Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic (CIPPIC), on behalf of itself and OpenMedia, filed a letter in response to the above-referenced application.  In its letter, CIPPIC argues that the procedural steps and timelines set out in the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure Footnote1 for Part 1 applications will not provide interested persons with the proper ability to test the evidence put forth in the application and provide fulsome representations on the matters raised.

CIPPIC stated that the above-referenced application raises a number of far-ranging and complicated questions of law, fact and policy the resolution of which could have significant impact and unintended consequences.  As such, they submitted that the Commission should amend the otherwise applicable procedures as follows:

CIPPIC also requested that the Commission consider staying consideration of the application and instead issue a notice of consultation to consider the matters raised.

Responses to CIPPIC’s procedural request were received from the Union des consommateurs (Union), the Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC), the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) as well as FairPlay Canada.  By letter dated 9 February 2018, CIPPIC provided a reply to the responses received.

Union, FRPC and PIAC supported CIPPIC’s request for extended timelines and additional process.  PIAC and the FRPC also supported CIPPIC’s alternative request for the issuance of a notice of consultation.  CNOC agreed with CIPPIC that a more extensive process is justified in this proceeding but proposed that only a single round of reply comments be provided for. While FairPlay Canada did not object to extending the timelines for the filing of interventions and reply comments, it argued that the additional process requested by CIPPIC was not required at this time and that it would be best for the Commission to determine whether and what additional process may be justified only after it has reviewed the initial submissions it receives.  FairPlay Canada requested that it be provided with 30 days to file its reply comments in the event that the Commission grants the requested extension of time to file interventions.

In reply, CIPPIC noted that all parties generally supported a change to the established procedures.  It remained of the view that its procedural request would serve to provide the Commission with a fulsome record but indicated that it could accept CNOC’s proposed procedural amendments.

Having regard for both the breadth and the importance of the issues raised in the above-referenced application, Commission staff considers it reasonable to amend the timelines associated with this application as follows:

The Commission will determine at a later time whether further process is warranted, and if so, in what form.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Stephen Millington
A/Senior General Counsel and Executive Director
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

cc: Union des consommateurs,
the Forum for Research and Policy in Communications
the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.
the Public Interest Advocacy Centre

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Dr. Shan Chandrasekar et Tamir Israel (FrancJeu Canada et Université d'Ottawa)

Ottawa, le 15 février 2018

Notre référence : 8663-A182-201800467

PAR COURRIEL

Dr. Shan Chandrasekar
Asian Television Network International Limited pour la coalition FrancJeu Canada
atn@asiantelevision.com

Tamir Israel
Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic
University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law, CML Section, 57 Louis Pasteur Street
Ottawa Ontario K1N 6N5
cippic@uottawa.ca

Objet : Demande en vue de désactiver l’accès en ligne à des sites de piratage – Requête procédurale

Le 29 janvier 2018, Asian Television Network International Limited (ATN) a déposé, en son nom et au nom de plusieurs autres personnes (FrancJeu Canada), une demande sollicitant la mise en place d’un régime servant à identifier les sites Web et les services impliqués de façon manifeste, évidente ou structurelle dans le piratage de droits d’auteur. Ce régime imposerait aux fournisseurs de services d’accès Internet une exigence les tenant à désactiver l’accès aux sites et services identifiés.

Le 2 février 2018, la Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’Internet du Canada Samuelson-Glushko (CIPPIC), en son nom et au nom de OpenMedia, a déposé une lettre en réponse à la demande susmentionnée. Dans sa lettre, la CIPPIC fait valoir que les étapes procédurales et l’échéancier établient dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC Note de bas de page1 visant les demandes en vertu de la partie 1, ne permettront pas aux personnes intéressées d’examiner convenablement la preuve soumise au soutien de cette demande et de présenter des observations complètes sur les questions soulevées.

La CIPPIC a soumis que la demande susmentionnée soulève des questions de droit, de fait et de politique complexes et de portées étendues, dont la résolution pourrait avoir d’importantes répercussions et des conséquences imprévues. Par conséquent, elle a demandé au Conseil de modifier les procédures applicables comme suit :

En plus, la CIPPIC a demandé au Conseil de considérer le bienfondé de suspendre la présente instance et de publier un avis de consultation afin d’étudier les enjeux soulevés.

Le Conseil a reçu des réponses de l’Union des consommateurs (Union), le Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC), le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc., (CROC), le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) et FrancJeu Canada. Dans une lettre datée du 9 février, 2018, la CIPPIC a déposé une réplique aux observations.

L’Union, le FRPC et le CDIP ont appuyé la demande de prolongation de délais et d’établissement d’étapes procédurales additionnelles formulée par la CIPPIC. Le CDIP et le FRPC ont également appuyé la demande subsidiaire de la CIPPIC en ce qui concerne la publication d’un avis de consultation. Le CROC a souligné qu’il partage le point de vue de la CIPPIC à savoir qu’un processus plus étoffé est justifié dans le cadre de cette instance mais a proposé que le Conseil n’accorde qu’une seule ronde de commentaires en réplique. Bien que FrancJeu Canada ne s’objecte pas à la prolongation des délais, il soutient que les étapes procédurales supplémentaires proposées par la CIPPIC ne sont pas nécessaires à ce point-ci et qu’il serait préférable que le Conseil détermine la nécessité d’une procédure plus élaborée seulement après la réception et l’analyse des interventions et répliques des parties. Advenant que le Conseil accorde la requête de prolongation du délai pour le dépôt d’interventions, FrancJeu Canada a demandé au Conseil de lui accorder un délai de 30 jours pour le dépôt de sa réplique.

En réplique, la CIPPIC a noté qu’en général, toutes les parties ont appuyé le bienfondé de modifier les procédures applicables. La CIPPIC a réitéré que les changements qu’elle demande auront pour effet d’assurer un dossier complet mais a précisé qu’il serait aussi d’accord avec les modifications proposées par le CROC.

Compte tenu de la portée et de l’importance des questions soulevées dans la demande susmentionnée, le personnel du Conseil juge qu’il est raisonnable de modifier les échéances applicables à cette demande comme suit :

Le Conseil déterminera, à un moment ultérieur, s’il est nécessaire d’ajouter plus de processus, et si oui, sous quelle forme.

Veuillez agréer, messieurs, mes salutations distinguées.

Originale signé par

Stephen Millington
PI/Avocat général principal / Directeur exécutif
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

cc : l’Union des consommateurs
le Forum for Research and Policy in Communications,
le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc.
le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public

Date de modification :