Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Rick Schleihauf (Fibernetics Corporation)

Ottawa, 13 February 2018

Our reference: 8740-F27-201800475

BY E-MAIL

Mr. Rick Schleihauf
VP – Regulatory Affairs and Carrier Relations
Fibernetics Corporation
605 Boxwood Drive
Cambridge, Ontario  N3E 1A5
regulatory@fibernetics.ca

Dear Sir:

Re: Tariff Notice 9 Access Services Tariff

On 29 January 2018, the Commission received an application from Fibernetics Corporation (Fibernetics), in which the company proposed changes to its Access Services Tariff, CRTC 21690.

Commission staff is continuing its analysis of this application.

Consequently, this application, along with any associated subsequent revisions, will not be approved on an interim basis on the 15th calendar day following receipt. However, the Commission intends to dispose of this application, along with any associated subsequent revisions, within 45 business days of receipt of the filing.

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Fibernetics is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 22 February 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Request for information

In its application, Fibernetics proposed revisions to its competitor local exchange carrier (CLEC) tariff. Specifically, Fibernetics proposed to include the applicable rates in its CLEC tariff that cross-reference the specific tariff items and rates that are set out in the incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC) tariffs, as per CISC CLEC Model Tariff version 34-1(e) in the following territories: New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, specific Ontario and Quebec operating territories not served by Bell Canada, Prince Edward Island and Saskatchewan.

According to Commission data and that of the Canadian Numbering Administrator (CNA), Fibernetics is currently operating in at least one exchange in Nova Scotia. However, it does not appear that the company has a tariff for Nova Scotia approved by the Commission.

Pursuant to subsection 25(4) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), the Commission may ratify the charging of a rate by a Canadian carrier otherwise than in accordance with a tariff approved by the Commission if it is satisfied that the rate was charged because of an error or other circumstance that warrants the ratification.

  1. Confirm whether Fibernetics is currently offering service in Nova Scotia.
  2. If Fibernetics is currently offering service in Nova Scotia, identify when the company began offering service there and justify why Fibernetics did not seek Commission tariff approval for its plan to enter Bell Aliant’s ILEC territory of Nova Scotia prior to offering service.
  3. Confirm whether Fibernetics is already offering service in any of the other operating territories identified in its application.  
  4. If rate ratification is required, explain on what basis subsection 25(4) of the Act would apply to this situation.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Rick Schleihauf (Fibernetics Corporation)

Ottawa, le 13 février 2018

Notre référence : 8740-F27-201800475

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Rick Schleihauf
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires et Relations avec les entreprises
Fibernetics Corporation
605, promenade Boxwood
Cambridge (Ontario)  N3E 1A5
regulatory@fibernetics.ca

Objet : Avis de modification tarifaire 9 – Tarif des services d’accès

Monsieur,

Le 29 janvier 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Fibernetics Corporation (Fibernetics), dans laquelle l’entreprise propose de modifier son Tarif des services d’accès, CRTC 21690.

Le personnel du Conseil poursuit son analyse de la demande.

Par conséquent, le Conseil n’approuvera pas de façon provisoire cette demande ainsi que toutes modifications subséquentes connexes le 15e jour civil suivant leur réception. Toutefois, le Conseil compte se prononcer sur cette demande, ainsi que sur toute révision subséquente connexe, dans les 45 jours ouvrables suivant sa réception.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Le Conseil demande à Fibernetics de lui soumettre, au plus tard le 22 février 2018, des réponses détaillées, comprenant les justifications et tout renseignement à l'appui, aux questions en annexe.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. : Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe. (1)

Demande de renseignements

Dans sa demande, Fibernetics a proposé des révisions à son tarif applicable aux entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC). Plus particulièrement, Fibernetics a proposé d’ajouter à son tarif applicable aux ESLC les tarifs qui renvoient à des articles et tarifs précis énoncés dans les tarifs des entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT), conformément à la version 34-1e) du modèle tarifaire pour les ESLC du Comité directeur du CRTC sur l’interconnexion (CDCI), pour les territoires suivants : Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve, Nouvelle-Écosse, certains territoires d’exploitation en Ontario et au Québec non desservis par Bell Canada, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Saskatchewan.

Selon les données du Conseil et de l’administrateur de la numérotation canadienne (ANC), Fibernetics exerce actuellement ses activités dans au moins une circonscription en Nouvelle-Écosse. Toutefois, l’entreprise ne semble pas disposer d’une tarification visant la Nouvelle-Écosse approuvée par le Conseil.

En vertu du paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), le Conseil peut entériner l’imposition ou la perception, par une entreprise canadienne, de tarifs qui ne figurent dans aucune tarification approuvée par lui s’il est convaincu qu’il s’agit là d’un cas particulier le justifiant, notamment une erreur.

  1. Veuillez confirmer si Fibernetics offre actuellement des services en Nouvelle-Écosse.
  2. Si Fibernetics offre actuellement des services en Nouvelle-Écosse, veuillez indiquer quand l’entreprise a commencé à offrir des services dans cette province et pourquoi elle n’a pas cherché à obtenir une approbation tarifaire du Conseil en prévision de son entrée sur le territoire des ESLT de Bell Aliant en Nouvelle-Écosse avant d’y offrir ses services.
  3. Veuillez confirmer si Fibernetics offre déjà des services dans les territoires d’exploitation mentionnés dans la demande.
  4. S’il est nécessaire d’entériner une tarification, veuillez justifier l’application du paragraphe 25(4) de la Loi dans cette situation.
Date de modification :