Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Rick Schleihauf and Philippe Gauvin (Fibernetics Corporation and Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 7 February 2018

Our reference: 8622-F27-201800509

BY E-MAIL

Mr. Rick Schleihauf
Vice President - Regulatory Affairs and Carrier Relations
Fibernetics Corporation
605 Boxwood Drive
Cambridge, Ontario N3E 1A5
regulatory@fibernetics.ca

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19-160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Dear Sirs:

RE: Application for Relief Regarding the Master Agreement for Interconnection between Fibernetics Corporation and Bell Canada – Timelines for submissions

On 30 January 2018, the Commission received the above-referenced Part 1 application from Fibernetics Corporation (Fibernetics). Fibernetics requested, amongst other things, an order from the Commission abridging the times permitted for the filing and service of an answer and reply with respect to the interim relief it is seeking.  Fibernetics proposed an abridged deadline of fifteen (15) days for Bell Canada’s answer and five (5) days for Fibernetics’ reply comments.

Commission staff finds that Fibernetic’s application raises issues that could affect other interested parties. Further, the proposed expedited process limits the time afforded to the Respondent, as well as any potential intervenors, to comment on the application, resulting in a potentially less fulsome record. Having regard to this, Commission staff is of the view that any harm that could accrue to Fibernetics by reason of the application of the procedural timelines set out in the Rules of Procedure, should any harm exist, does not outweigh the public interest in ensuring that the Commission’s decision on Fibernetic’s application is based on a fulsome record.

In light of the above, the procedural deadlines associated with Fibernetic’s above-referenced application will remain as set out in the Rules of Procedure.  Interventions may therefore be filed by 2 March 2018, and reply may be filed by 12 March 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

cc: Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Rick Schleihauf et Philippe Gauvin (Fibernetics Corporation et Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 7 février 2018

Notre référence : 8622-F27-201800509

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Rick Schleihauf
Vice-président - Affaires réglementaires et relations avec les entreprises
Fibernetics Corporation
605, promenade Boxwood
Cambridge (Ontario) N3E 1A5
regulatory@fibernetics.ca

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Avocat principal
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

OBJET : Demande de redressement concernant l’entente-cadre d’interconnexion entre la société Fibernetics Corporation et Bell Canada – Échéanciers pour le dépôt d’observations

Messieurs,

Le 30 janvier 2018, le Conseil a reçu la demande en vertu de la Partie 1 citée en objet de la part de la société Fibernetics Corporation (Fibernetics). Fibernetics demande notamment que le Conseil délivre une ordonnance écourtant la période de réponse et de réplique en ce qui concerne le redressement provisoire qu’elle demande. Fibernetics propose d’imposer un échéancier écourté de quinze (15) jours pour le dépôt de réponses par Bell Canada et de cinq (5) jours pour le dépôt d’observations en réplique par Fibernetics.

Le personnel du Conseil conclut que la demande de Fibernetics soulève des questions qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur d’autres parties intéressées. Qui plus est, le processus accéléré restreint le temps accordé à l’intimée ainsi qu’à tout éventuel intervenant, pour formuler des observations sur la demande, ce qui pourrait nuire à l’exhaustivité du dossier. À ce sujet, le personnel est d’avis que tout préjudice que pourrait subir Fibernetics si on appliquait tel quel les échéanciers procéduraux prévus dans les Règles de procédures ne l’emporte pas sur l’intérêt public de garantir que la décision du Conseil relativement à la demande de la société soit fondée sur un dossier exhaustif.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil conclut que les échéanciers procéduraux applicables à la demande susmentionnée de Fibernetics demeureront ceux établis dans les Règles de procédure. Des observations peuvent donc être déposées d’ici le 2 mars 2018 et les répliques peuvent être déposées d’ici le 12 mars 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L'original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

cc :Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :