Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 6 February 2018

Our reference: 8640-B2-201706368

BY E-MAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re:  Part 1 Application for forbearance from the regulation of unbundled local loops – Request for disclosure of information designated as confidential

Dear Sir:

This letter addresses a request for disclosure of information designated as confidential made in the proceeding associated with CRTC file number 8640-B2-201706368.

On 14 December 2017, the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) filed a request for disclosure of information for which confidentiality had been claimed pursuant to Bell Canada’s response to a request for information that was filed on 7 December 2017.

Bell Canada responded to the above request.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

In the circumstances of this case, Commission staff considered, among other relevant considerations, whether disclosure of the information would meaningfully benefit public participation, the degree to which the information had been aggregated, and the competitive sensitivity of the information itself.
Having regard to the above, Bell Canada is to disclose on the public record the information identified in the appendix no later than 13 February 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Renee Doiron for

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition & Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Douglas Denney, Allstream Inc., donna.heaston@electriclightwave.com
Christopher Hickey, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., chickey@cnoc.ca
Jonathan Holmes, Independent Telecommunications Providers Association/Christopher Edwards, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
John MacKenzie, TELUS Communications Inc., john.mackenzie@telus.com

Attach. (1)


Bell Canada(CRTC)7Nov17-1 ULL

Bell Canada is to disclose on the public record the total number of unbundled local loops (ULLs) provisioned to its wholesale customers on a month-by-month basis, spanning the period January 2017 to September 2017, inclusive.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 6 Février 2018

Notre référence:  8640-B2-201706368

PAR COURRIEL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 en vue d’obtenir l’abstention de la réglementation concernant les Lignes locales dégroupées – Demande de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Monsieur,

La présente lettre porte sur une demande de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels présentée dans le cadre de l’instance associée au numéro de dossier du CRTC 8640-B2-201706368.

Le 14 décembre 2017, le Conseil des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) a déposé une demande de divulgation de renseignements ayant fait l’objet d’une demande de traitement confidentiel suivant la réponse de Bell Canada à une demande d’information déposée le 7 décembre 2017.

Bell Canada a répondu à la demande susmentionnée.

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l'article 30 et des articles subséquents des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de les divulguer. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance des renseignements dans la constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs dont le Conseil tient compte sont abordés en détail dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 du 23 décembre 2010 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010­961­1 du 26 octobre 2012.

Dans les circonstances de ce cas, le personnel du Conseil a tenu compte d’autres facteurs pertinents. En effet, il a vérifié si la divulgation des renseignements serait vraiment avantageuse pour la participation du public, il a vérifié le degré de regroupement des renseignements et il a tenu compte du caractère délicat des renseignements sur le plan de la concurrence.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, Bell Canada doit verser au dossier public les renseignements précisés dans l’annexe au plus tard le 13 février 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par Renée Doiron pour

Philippe Kent
Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.:  Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Douglas Denney, Allstream Inc., donna.heaston@electriclightwave.com
Christopher Hickey, Conseil des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc., chickey@cnoc.ca
Jonathan Holmes, Independent Telecommunications Providers Association/Christopher Edwards, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
John MacKenzie, Société TELUS Communications, john.mackenzie@telus.com

P.J (1)


Bell Canada(CRTC)7Nov17-1 ULL

Bell Canada doit verser au dossier public le nombre total de lignes locales dégroupées (LLD) qu’elle a fournies à ses clients de gros chaque mois durant la période de janvier 2017 à septembre 2017, inclusivement.

Date de modification :