Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Gurdial S. (Dale) Badh (Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, 15 August 2018

Gurdial S. (Dale) Badh
President
Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc.
1228-20800 Westminster Hwy
Richmond, BC
V6V 2W3

By E-mail: info@sherepunjabradio.ca, badh.gurdial@gmail.com

Re: Part 1 Broadcasting Application 2018-0488-1 (CJCN-FM Surrey)

Dear Mr. Badh,

This letter is in response to a procedural request dated 7 August 2018 that you submitted to the Commission on behalf of Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc. (Sher-E-Punjab) in the context of the above-noted technical amendment application (2018-0488-1) from Akash Broadcasting Inc. (Akash). The procedural request has been placed on the public record for this application.

In the procedural request, you have indicated that Akash did not serve a copy of its application to Sher-E-Punjab as a respondent. You have requested that the Commission extend the intervention period for the above-noted application and grant you the right to comment until the Commission has issued a decision on a separate technical amendment application filed by Sher-E-Punjab (2017-1177-1). You have also requested that the applicant be instructed to send you the complete application.

Pursuant to section 22(1)b) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure), an application must be served on any respondent. A respondent is defined in section 1 of the Rules of Procedure as “a person that is adverse in interest to an applicant”. The onus is on applicants to clearly identify and provide service of the application to all respondents.

Commission staff understand that Sher-E-Punjab may be adverse in interest to Akash’s application. Please note that a copy of this application is available on the Commission’s website under “Broadcasting Proceedings”. This application was originally published on 9 July 2018, with the intervention period ending 8 August 2018.

Commission staff recognize that the need to provide all respondents with a fair opportunity to comment on an application must be balanced against the need to dispose of the application in a timely manner.

In light of the above, the timelines for comment on this application will be amended, as provided below.

Timeline Change

Commission staff will re-open the intervention period for this proceeding to allow for comments from Sher-E-Punjab, until 20 August 2018, following which Akash will have until 27 August 2018 to submit a reply. These amendments are outlined in the table below.

Notice Number/Part 1 Subject Posted Date Deadlines (Interventions/Comments/Answers) Related Documents
Part 1 Akash Broadcasting Inc. 

Technical amendment - contours
Surrey, British Columbia

CJCN-FM

2018-0488-1
Open application for applicant contact information.
9 July 2018 8 August 2018

New Deadline
20 August 2018

New Reply Deadline
27 August 2018
Answers
Procedural requests

Sincerely,

John Fernandez
Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

cc. paul.tejinder@gmail.com
cc. ajforsyth9@cogeco.ca
cc. mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com
cc. kulwinder@redfm.ca
cc. gpoulton@vistaradio.ca
cc. Rod.Schween@jpbg.ca
cc. spectrum@cbc.ca
cc. Suki@sukibadh.com

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Gurdial S. (Dale) Badh (Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, le 15 août 2018

Gurdial S. (Dale) Badh
Président
Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc.
20800, route Westminster, bureau 1228
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique)
V6V 2W3

Par courriel : info@sherepunjabradio.ca, badh.gurdial@gmail.com

Objet : Demande de radiodiffusion présentée en vertu de la partie 1 2018-0488-1 (CJCN-FM de Surrey)

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à une requête procédurale datée du 7 août 2018 que vous avez soumise au Conseil au nom de Sher-E-Punjab Radio Broadcasting Inc. (Sher-E-Punjab) dans le cadre de la demande de modification technique susmentionnée (2018-0488-1) déposée par Akash Broadcasting Inc. (Akash). La requête procédurale a été versée au dossier public de la demande.

Dans la requête procédurale, vous avez indiqué que Akash n’a pas signifié une copie de sa demande à Sher-E-Punjab à titre d’intimé. Vous avez demandé que le Conseil prolonge la période d’intervention pour la demande susmentionnée et vous accorde le droit de formuler des commentaires jusqu’à ce que le Conseil ait rendu sa décision en ce qui concerne une demande distincte de modification technique déposée par Sher-E-Punjab (2017-1177-1). Vous avez également demandé que nous ordonnions au demandeur de vous envoyer la demande complète.

Conformément à l’alinéa 22(1)b) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure), une demande doit être signifiée à tout intimé. L’article 1 des Règles de procédure définit un intimé comme suit : « Toute personne dont les intérêts sont opposés à ceux du demandeur ». Il incombe aux demandeurs d’indiquer clairement tous les intimés et de leur signifier copie de leur demande.

Le personnel du Conseil comprend que les intérêts de Sher-E-Punjab puissent être opposés à ceux d’Akash dans le cadre de la demande de cette dernière. Veuillez noter qu’une copie de la demande peut être consultée sur le site Web du Conseil sous « Instances de radiodiffusion ». Cette demande a été initialement publiée le 9 juillet 2018, et la période d’intervention se terminait le 8 août 2018.

Le personnel du Conseil reconnaît que le besoin de fournir à tous les intimés l’occasion de formuler des commentaires doit être concilié avec le besoin de rendre en temps opportun une décision quant à la demande.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les échéanciers pour la formulation de commentaires portant sur la demande seront modifiés, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous.

Modification des échéanciers

Le personnel du Conseil rouvrira la période d’intervention pour la présente instance afin de permettre à Sher-E-Punjab de formuler des commentaires jusqu’au 20 août 2018, après quoi Akash aura jusqu’au 27 août 2018 pour soumettre une réponse. Ces modifications sont énoncées dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Numéro d’avis/ Partie 1 Sujet Date affichée Échéances
(interventions/ commentaires/ réponses)
Documents connexes
Partie 1 Akash Broadcasting Inc.

Modification technique – périmètre de rayonnement
Surrey (Colombie-Britannique)

CJCN-FM

2018-0488-1
Ouvrir la demande pour connaître les coordonnées du demandeur.
9 juillet 2018 8 août 2018

Nouvelle date limite
20 août 2018

Nouvelle date limite de réponse
27 août 2018
Réponses
Requêtes procédurales

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

John Fernandez
Analyste, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

c. c. paul.tejinder@gmail.com
c. c. ajforsyth9@cogeco.ca
c. c. mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com
c. c. kulwinder@redfm.ca
c. c. gpoulton@vistaradio.ca
c. c. Rod.Schween@jpbg.ca
c. c. spectrum@cbc.ca
c. c. Suki@sukibadh.com

Date de modification :