Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Howard Law (Unifor)

Ottawa, 31 May 2018

VIA FAX

Howard Law
Director, Media Sector
Unifor
Fax: 416-495-6559

Dear Mr. Law:

Re: Supplemental comments to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-359-2 – Call for comments on the Governor in Council’s request for a report on future programming distribution models

This is in response to the letter you sent to the Commission on 13 March 2018, in which you request leave to supplement submissions filed in Phase 2 of Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-359-2 – Call for comments on the Governor in Council’s request for a report on future programming distribution models (the 2017-359 proceeding).

You indicate in your letter that your request is relevant to local news, a topic addressed in your submission, and that the request is timely as it relates to a development that occurred after the close of the Phase 2 intervention period, namely an announced layoff of unionized employees in the Global News (Corus) network of local news stations.

The material you are seeking to submit is an updated version of material that was submitted in the context of Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2016-225. That material was not submitted in the context of the 2017-359 proceeding within either of the intervention periods prescribed in the notices of this proceeding. In fact, your request was received one month following the close of the second phase of interventions and it is noted that UNIFOR has not submitted any other specific data on employment changes across select local TV stations in Canada in the context of the 2017-359 proceeding.

In light of the above, it would not be appropriate to add this information as part of the public record of the 2017-359 proceeding. 

Yours sincerely,

Scott Hutton
Executive Director, Broadcasting

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Howard Law (Unifor)

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2018

PAR TÉLÉCOPIEUR

Monsieur Howard Law
Directeur, Secteur des médias
Unifor
Télécopieur : 416-495-6559

Objet : Observations supplémentaires sur l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-359-2Appels aux observations sur la demande du gouverneur en conseil de faire rapport sur les modèles de distribution de programmation de l’avenir

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à la lettre que vous avez envoyée au Conseil le 13 mars 2018, dans laquelle vous demandez l’autorisation de déposer des informations supplémentaires en complément aux mémoires déposés lors de la phase 2 de l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-359-2 – Appels aux observations sur la demande du gouverneur en conseil de faire rapport sur les modèles de distribution de programmation de l’avenir (instance 2017-359).

Vous indiquez dans votre lettre que votre demande porte sur les nouvelles locales, un sujet abordé dans votre mémoire, et que la demande est opportune puisqu’elle est liée aux changements qui ont eu lieu après la clôture de la période d’intervention de la phase 2, notamment, la mise à pied annoncée d’employés syndiqués du réseau des services de nouvelles locales Global News (Corus).

Les documents que vous souhaitez déposer correspondent à une mise à jour des documents qui ont été déposés dans le cadre de l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2016-225. Ces documents n’ont pas été déposés dans le cadre de l’instance 2017-359 lors des périodes d’intervention prescrites. En fait, votre demande a été reçue un mois après la clôture de la deuxième phase d’interventions et il convient de noter qu’UNIFOR n’a pas déposé d’autres données précises sur les changements survenus sur le plan de l’emploi au sein de certains services de télévision locales au Canada dans le contexte de l’instance 2017-359.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, il ne serait pas approprié d’ajouter cette information au dossier public de l’instance 2017-359.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Scott Hutton
Directeur exécutif, Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :