Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Lui Greco (CNIB)

Ottawa, 29 January 2018

File number: 2017-1028-6

BY E-MAIL

Lui Greco
National Manager of Advocacy
CNIB
1929 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, Ontario
M4G 3E8

Re:  Request for additional information regarding the application by Québecor Média inc. with respect to the provision of described video.

Dear Mr. Greco:

Thank you for your correspondance.

On 1 November 2017, Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), on behalf of Groupe TVA inc. (Groupe TVA), filed a Part 1 application with the Commission regarding the provision of described video as set out in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-436, Standard requirements for television stations, discretionary services, and on-demand services.

On 20 November 2017, in response to Québecor’s application, the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) filed a procedural request to extend the deadline for the submission of interventions to 19 January 2018. CNIB stated that it would need more time to obtain an English-language version of Québecor’s application, which would enable it to better evaluate the application and prepare its comments.

In a letter dated 5 December 2017, Commission staff granted this request and stated that interventions regarding the application must be filed with the Commission by 19 January 2018, and Québecor’s subsequent reply must be filed with the Commission by 29 January 2018.

On 17 January 2018, you wrote to the Commission asking for additional information to be provided and a futher extension of time to submit your intervention. Specifically, you stated that your intervention was approximately 95% complete, but you were asking the Commission or TVA to provide answers to certain questions, if available, and to submit your intervention two business days after the additional information was received.

With respect to the information you have requested, Commission staff is of the view that you have not provided sufficient rationale as to why this information is necessary for you to meaningfully participate in the proceeding and respond to TVA’s application. Furthermore, staff considers that TVA would not have the information requested as it pertains to the Quebec market as a whole.

Unfortunately, the requested information is not readily available, as this data at the market level is not tracked by the Commission or licensees in general.

Moreover, staff notes that the deadline for the filing of interventions in this proceeding has previously been extended to 19 January 2018, as per your request. Under the cirucumstances, staff considers that further delaying the current process would not be in the public interest.

Given the above and since your intervention was filed on 19 January 2018, Commission staff considers that no further action is required.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.: Rémi Savard, remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca
Peggy Tabet, peggy.tabet@quebecor.com

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Lui Greco (INCA)

Ottawa, le 29 janvier 2018

Lui Greco
Gestionnaire national de la défense des intérêts
INCA
1929, avenue Bayview
Toronto (Ontario)
M4G 3E8

Notre dossier : 2017-1028-6

Objet : Demande de renseignements additionnels en ce qui a trait à la demande de Québecor Média inc. à l’égard de la fourniture de vidéodesdcription

Monsieur Greco,

Merci de nous avoir écrit.

Le 1er novembre 2017, Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), au nom de Groupe TVA inc. (Groupe TVA), a déposé auprès du Conseil une demande en vertu de la Partie 1 en ce qui a trait à la fourniture de vidéodescription telle qu’envisagée dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-436, Exigences normalisées pour les stations de télévision, les services facultatifs et les services sur demande.

Le 20 novembre 2017, en réponse à la demande de Québecor, l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA) a déposé une requête procédurale demandant de proroger jusqu’au 19 janvier 2018 la date limite pour le dépôt d’interventions. INCA indiquait qu’il aurait besoin de davantage de temps pour obtenir une version en langue anglaise de la demande de Québecor, ce qui lui permettrait de mieux évaluer la demande et préparer ses commentaires.

Dans une lettre en date du 5 décembre 2017, le personnel du Conseil a accordé cette requête et indiqué que les interventions à l’égard de la demande devaient être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 19 janvier 2018, et que toute réplique subséquente de Québecor devait être déposée auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 29 janvier 2018.

Le 17 janvier 2018, vous avez écrit au Conseil afin que des renseignements additionnels vous soient fournis et pour que vous soit accordée une extension de temps supplémentaire pour déposer votre intervention. Plus précisément, vous indiquiez que votre intervention était prête à environ 95 %, mais vous demandiez au Conseil ou à TVA de fournir des réponses à certaines questions, si celles-ci étaient disponibles, et vous demandiez de pouvoir déposer votre intervention deux jours ouvrables une fois les renseignements additionnels reçus.

En ce qui a trait aux renseignements que vous avez demandés, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que vous n’avez pas un raisonnement permettant de justifier en quoi ces renseignements sont nécessaires à votre pleine participation dans l’instance et à votre réponse à la demande de TVA. De plus, le personnel estime que TVA ne dispose pas des renseignements demandés en ce qui a trait au marché québécois dans son ensemble. Malheureusement, ces renseignements ne sont pas présentement récoltés ou assujettis à un suivi de façon à les rendre facilement utilisables aux fins demandées.

En outre, le personnel note que la date limite pour le dépôt d’interventions dans la présente instance a précédemment été repoussée au 19 janvier 2018, tel que vous l’aviez demandé. Dans les circonstances, le personnel estime que retarder davantage le présent processus ne servirait pas l’intérêt public.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède et du fait que votre intervention a été déposée le 19 janvier 2018, le personnel estime qu’aucune autre action n’est nécessaire.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Nanao Kachi Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.: Rémi Savard, remi.savard@crtc.gc.ca
Peggy Tabet, peggy.tabet@quebecor.com

Date de modification :