Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Guy Martial (VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc.)

Ottawa, 14 December 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Mr. Guy Martial
Chief Technology Officer
VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc.
Unit 1
813 Dundas St W
Whitby, Ontario  L1N 2N6
gmartial@voicenetpulse.com

Re: VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc. – Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Mr. Martial:

On 8 November 2017, VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc. filed information related to its local 
VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service. This is to advise you that based on the information provided by VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc. including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc.’s VoIP service meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote2. Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc. has completed the required information to be placed on the Commission’s list of Resellers and has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter or by the date the company begins offering service to consumers. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its licences and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.
Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Guy Martial (VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc.)

Ottawa, le 14 décembre 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Guy Martial
Dirigeant principal de la technologie
VoiceNetPulse Telecom inc.
Unité 1
813, rue Dundas Ouest
Whitby (Ontario)  L1N 2N6
gmartial@voicenetpulse.com

Objet : VoiceNetPulse Telecom inc. – obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service d’urgence 9­1­1

Monsieur Martial,

Le 8 novembre 2017, VoiceNetPulse Telecom inc. a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux. La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par VoiceNetPulse Telecom Inc., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de services 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que VoiceNetPulse Telecom inc. respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9‑1‑1 VoIP. De plus, le personnel du Conseil estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans les Décisions de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et 2005-61Note de bas de page2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente lettre, VoiceNetPulse Telecom inc. détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

La compagnie doit continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et aviser ses clients de toute limite du service. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas de nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. La compagnie est également tenue de respecter les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour maintenir sa licence et son inscription.

Enfin, la compagnie doit rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse suivante : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/index.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :