Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Dennis Béland (Québecor Média Inc.)

Ottawa, 28 November 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dennis Béland
Senior Adviser, Regulatory Affairs, Telecommunications
Québecor Média Inc.
612 St-Jacques Street. 15th floor
Montréal, Québec H3C 4M8
dennis.beland@quebecor.com

Re: Québecor Média inc. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service – information from Québecor Média inc. on behalf of its subsidiary, Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron), regarding nomadic VoIP service Appels Wi-Fi

Dear Mr. Béland:

On 27 October 2017, Québecor Média inc., on behalf of its subsidiary, Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron), filed information related to Videotron’s provision of local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service in relation to nomadic VoIP service Appels Wi-Fi.

This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Québecor Média, including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Videotron meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service in relation to this service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification text submitted by the company for review by the Commission is in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote2 . Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that Videotron has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is appropriately registered with the Commission.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations.  The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter.  The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Patrick Desy - Conseiller principal, Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications, patrick.desy@quebecor.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Dennis Béland (Québecor Média inc.)

Ottawa, le 28 novembre 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications
Québecor Média inc.
15e étage
612, rue St-Jacques
Montréal (Québec) H3C 4M8
dennis.beland@quebecor.com

Objet : Québecor Média inc. Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l'égard de service d'urgence 9-1-1 – Renseignements de Québecor Média inc. (Québecor Média) au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron) à propos du service Appels Wi-Fi

Monsieur,

Le 27 octobre 2017, Québecor Média inc., (Québecor Média) au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron), a déposé des renseignements à propos de la prestation de son service d’urgence 9-1-1 VoIP en ce qui concerne le service Appels Wi-Fi.

La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par Québecor Média, y compris le nom du fournisseur de service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que Vidéotron respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service d’urgence 9-1-1 VoIP liée à ce service. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans l'avis au client est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et la décision de télécom 2005-61Note de bas de page2.  Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente lettre, Vidéotron détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et que l’entreprise est dûment inscrite auprès du Conseil.

Il incombe à la compagnie de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et d’aviser les clients de toute limite du service.  Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre, ou, dans le cas des nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre.  Il revient à la compagnie de respecter les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour maintenir sa licence STIB et son inscription auprès du Conseil.

Finalement, la compagnie doit rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Patrick Desy, Conseiller principal, Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications patrick.desy@quebecor.com

Date de modification :