Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Ms. Céline Poitras (Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Blakes))

Ottawa, 7 November 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Ms. Céline Poitras
Legal Counsel
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Blakes)
Suite 3000
1 Place Ville Marie
Montréal, Québec H3B 4N8
celine.poitras@blakes.com

Re: BroadSoft, Inc. – Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Ms. Poitras:

On 26 October 2017, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Blakes) on behalf of BroadSoft, Inc. filed information related to BroadSoft, Inc.'s local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service. This is to advise you that based on the information provided for BroadSoft Inc. including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that BroadSoft Inc.’s VoIP service meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also notes that as of the date of this letter, BroadSoft Inc. has completed the required information to be placed on the Commission’s list of Resellers and has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure its customers understand their responsibility to provide 9-1-1 service to their own customers and to provide customer notification texts informing end-customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. It is also the company's responsibility to ensure that its customers understand that notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of signing a contract with BroadSoft, Inc. or by the date the company begins offering service to consumers. BroadSoft and the companies it is reselling services to are also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain their licences and registrations.

Finally, BroadSoft, Inc. is responsible to ensure upon signing an agreement with a company that the latter understands that it must register as a VoIP service provider and keep current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Madame Céline Poitras (Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L. (Blakes))

Ottawa, le 7 novembre 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Céline Poitras
Avocate
Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L. (Blakes)
Bureau 3000
1, Place Ville Marie
Montréal (Québec)  H3B 4N8
celine.poitras@blakes.com

Objet : BroadSoft, Inc. – Obligations des fournisseurs de service VoIP à l’égard des services d’urgence 9-1-1

Madame,

Le 26 octobre 2017, Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L. (Blakes), au nom de BroadSoft, Inc., a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 VoIP local de BroadSoft, Inc. La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par BroadSoft, Inc., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que BroadSoft, Inc. respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9-1-1 VoIP. Le personnel indique aussi que BroadSoft, Inc. avait, à la date de la présente lettre, fourni les renseignements requis aux fins de publication sur la liste de revendeurs du Conseil et qu’elle détient une licence de service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB).

La compagnie doit s’assurer que ses clients comprennent leur responsabilité d’offrir le service 9-1-1 à leurs propres clients et d’aviser les clients finals de toute limite du service 9-1-1. Il incombe aussi à la compagnie de s’assurer que ses clients comprennent que les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur son site Web dans les cinq jours ouvrables suivant la conclusion d’un contrat avec BroadSoft, Inc. ou d’ici la date à laquelle l’entreprise commence à offrir des services aux consommateurs. BroadSoft et les entreprises auxquelles elle revend ses services sont aussi responsables de respecter les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour maintenir leur licence de STIB et leur inscription.

Finalement, BroadSoft, Inc. doit s’assurer, lors de la conclusion d’une entente avec une entreprise, que celle-ci comprend qu’elle doit s’inscrite à titre de fournisseur de services VoIP et de se tenir à jour par rapport aux règlements concernant sa fourniture d’un service 9-1-1. Ces règlements sont énoncés sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :