Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 26 October 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0259

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Request for extension to filing deadlines – Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259 (Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259)

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 23 October 2017, Bell Canada submitted a letter requesting an extension to the filing deadline with respect to requests for information set out in a Commission staff letter dated 16 October 2017.

Bell Canada submitted that an extension to the filing deadline for the requests for information is necessary to allow sufficient time to compile and review the requested information. Accordingly, it requested that the deadline for filing responses to the requests for information be extended from 30 October 2017 to 6 November 2017.

Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc., Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), and Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) supported Bell Canada’s request for similar reasons. Ice Wireless also requested, for reasons of procedural fairness and completeness of the record that the Commission set out a separate procedural step to allow parties to comment on responses to the above-noted requests for information. For similar reasons, Shaw proposed that parties be permitted to provide comments on the responses to the requests for information as part of their comments on Second Phase Interventions, and that the deadline for these submissions be extended from 3 November 2017 to 17 November 2017.

Commission staff notes that additional procedural steps have already been added to this process in order to facilitate the development of a complete record. Since parties will have an opportunity to address the responses to requests for information as part of their Final Comments, there is no need for additional process. However, Commission staff recognizes that parties may require additional time to compile the information that was requested. Accordingly, Commission staff considers that a one-week extension is appropriate and extends the filing deadline from 30 October 2017 to 6 November 2017.

At the same time, this letter will set out additional process with respect to the above-noted requests for information.

Commission staff reminds parties that, as set out the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, requests for further information in response to requests for information can be made only by the party that asked the original question. Consequently, in the current process, the Commission will address its own requests for further information, as required.

Notwithstanding the above, parties may request the public disclosure of information that has been designated confidential in the requests for information, setting out in each case the reasons for disclosure. These requests must be filed with the Commission, and served on the parties to whom they are addressed, by 10 November 2017.

Responses to requests for public disclosure must be filed with the Commission, and served on the parties making the requests, by 15 November 2017.

Determinations regarding requests for public disclosure will be issued as soon as possible.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Adam Mills, CRTC, 919-997-4574, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1) Distribution List

Distribution List
Aaron Messer: aaronmesser@gmail.com;
Anthony Humphreys: anthony@humphreys.org;
Anthony Stadnyk: Tony.stadnyk@gmail.com;
Bell Mobility: bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Brian Murrell: brian@interlinx.bc.ca;
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.: cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association: ttraore@cwta.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca ;
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec: sallen@agence911.org;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Darren Parberry: info@parberry.ca;
Déry Télécom inc.: regulatory@derytelecom.ca;
Denver Gingerich: denver@ossguy.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca; Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc.: regulatory@execulink.com;
Government of Saskatchewan: Michael.kindrachuk@gov.sk.ca;
Ice Wireless Inc.: regulatory@icewireless.ca;
Internet Society Canada Chapter: tim@tmdenton.com
Jason Fohring: jfohring@outlook.com;
Jordan Bowness: bizeworld@gmail.com;
Joseph Floyd: joeyfloyd@hotmail.com;
Justin Cate: catejust@gmail.com;
OpenMedia: regulatory@openmedia.org;
Province of British Columbia: larry.michaels@gov.bc.ca;
Public Interest Advocacy Centre: alau@piac.ca;
Quantum Republic Inc.: regulatory@quantumrepublic.ca;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com
SSi Micro Ltd: regulatory@ssimicro.com;
Stephen Weber: singpolyma@singpolyma.net;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com
TNW Wireless Inc.: lawrytd@gmail.com;
Tucows Inc.: justen@tucows.com
Xplornet Communications Inc.: cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 26 octobre 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0259

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de prolongation du délai pour le dépôt des demandes – Réexamen de la décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités définitives applicables aux tarifs du service d’itinérance sans fil mobile de gros, avis de consultation de télécom 2017-259

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 23 octobre 2017, Bell Canada a envoyé une lettre en vue de demander que la date de dépôt des demandes de renseignements indiquées dans une lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 16 octobre 2017 soit reportée.

Bell Canada a indiqué qu’une prolongation du délai pour le dépôt des demandes de renseignements est nécessaire pour lui donner suffisamment le temps de rassembler et d’examiner les renseignements demandés. Dès lors, Bell Canada demande que la date d’échéance pour le dépôt des réponses aux demandes de renseignements soit reportée du 30 octobre 2017 au 6 novembre 2017.

Rogers Communications Canada Inc. la Société TELUS Communications,  Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) et Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) ont appuyé la demande de Bell Canada pour des motifs similaires. D’ailleurs, en fonction de motifs liés à l’équité procédurale et à l’exactitude du dossier que le Conseil a énoncé dans une étape procdurale distincte, Ice Wireless a également demandé que l’on permette aux parties concernées de fournir leurs commentaires sur les réponses obtenues aux demandes de renseignements susmentionnées. Pour des raisons semblables, Shaw propose de permettre les parties à commenter sur les réponses aux demandes de renseignements dans le cadre de leurs commentaires sur les interventions de la deuxième phase et que la date limite pour ces soumissions soit prolongée du 3 novembre 2017 au 17 novembre 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que des étapes procédurales additionnelles ont déjà été ajoutées au processus en question afin de faciliter la constitution d’un dossier complet. Puisque les parties auront l’occasion de commenter les réponses fournies aux demandes de renseignements dans le cadre de leurs observations finales, il n’est pas nécessaire d’ajouter un processus supplémentaire. Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil reconnaît que les parties pourraient avoir besoin de plus de temps pour compiler les renseignements demandés. Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil considère qu’une prolongation du délai d’une semaine est appropriée; la date de dépôt du 30 octobre 2017 est reportée au 6 novembre 2017.

Parallèlement, la présente lettre énonce le processus supplémentaire établi en ce qui a trait aux demandes de renseignements susmentionnées.

Le personnel du Conseil rappelle aux parties que, conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC, les demandes de renseignements additionnels en réponse aux demandes de renseignements ne peuvent être présentées que par la partie ayant présenté la question initiale. Ainsi, dans le cadre du processus actuel, le Conseil abordera ses propres demandes de renseignements additionnels, au besoin.

Nonobstant ce qui précède, les parties peuvent demander la divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels dans leurs demandes de renseignements, en précisant dans chaque cas les motifs de la divulgation. Ces demandes doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil et signifiées aux parties en question, au plus tard le 10 novembre 2017.

Les réponses aux demandes de divulgation doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil et signifiées aux parties qui en font la demande, au plus tard le 15 novembre 2017.

Le Conseil rendra ses décisions relatives à la divulgation de renseignements le plus rapidement possible.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels; elles doivent alors expliquer en détail pourquoi ces renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public qu’ils soient divulgués, en précisant pourquoi leur divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct plus important que l’intérêt qu’elle présenterait pour le public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit effectivement avoir été reçu, et non pas seulement envoyé, à cette date.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Adam Mills, CRTC, 919-997-4574, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1) Liste de distribution

Liste de distribution
Aaron Messer : aaronmesser@gmail.com;
Anthony Humphreys : anthony@humphreys.org;
Anthony Stadnyk : Tony.stadnyk@gmail.com;
Bell Mobilité : bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Brian Murrell : brian@interlinx.bc.ca;
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.: cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil : ttraore@cwta.ca;
CORC – Réglementation : regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec : sallen@agence911.org;
Cogeco Câble Inc. : telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Darren Parberry : info@parberry.ca;
Déry Télécom inc. : regulatory@derytelecom.ca;
Denver Gingerich : denver@ossguy.com;
Distributel Communications Limitée : regulatory@distributel.ca;
Eastlink : Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc. : regulatory@execulink.com;
Gouvernement de la Saskatchewan : Michael.kindrachuk@gov.sk.ca;
Ice Wireless Inc. : regulatory@icewireless.ca;
Internet Society Canada Chapter : tim@tmdenton.com;
Jason Fohring : jfohring@outlook.com;
Jordan Bowness : bizeworld@gmail.com;
Joseph Floyd : joeyfloyd@hotmail.com;
Justin Cate : catejust@gmail.com;
OpenMedia : regulatory@openmedia.org;
Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique : larry.michaels@gov.bc.ca;
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public : alau@piac.ca;
Quantum Republic Inc. : regulatory@quantumrepublic.ca;
Québecor Média Inc. (Vidéotron) : regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. : david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc. : Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications : document.control@sasktel.com
SSi Micro Ltd : regulatory@ssimicro.com
Stephen Weber : singpolyma@singpolyma.net;
Société TELUS Communications : regulatory.affairs@telus.com
TNW Wireless Inc. : lawrytd@gmail.com;
Tucows Inc. : justen@tucows.com
Xplornet Communications Inc. : cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

Date de modification :