Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 16 October 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0259

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service

Dear Madam, Sir:

Pursuant to paragraph 12 of Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-259, attached are requests for information in that proceeding. The parties identified in the distribution list are to file responses to the questions set out in the attachment by 30 October 2017. These submissions must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition & Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Adam Mills, CRTC, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List

Aaron Messer: aaronmesser@gmail.com;
Anthony Humphreys: anthony@humphreys.org;
Anthony Stadnyk: Tony.stadnyk@gmail.com  
Bell Mobility: bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Brian Murrell: brian@interlinx.bc.ca;  
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.: cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association: ttraore@cwta.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca ;
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec: sallen@agence911.org;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Darren Parberry: info@parberry.ca;
Déry Télécom inc.: regulatory@derytelecom.ca;
Denver Gingerich: denver@ossguy.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca; Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc.: regulatory@execulink.com;
Government of Saskatchewan: Michael.kindrachuk@gov.sk.ca;
Ice Wireless Inc.: regulatory@icewireless.ca;
Internet Society Canada Chapter: tim@tmdenton.com;
Jason Fohring: jfohring@outlook.com;
Jordan Bowness: bizeworld@gmail.com;
Joseph Floyd: joeyfloyd@hotmail.com;
Justin Cate: catejust@gmail.com;
OpenMedia: regulatory@openmedia.org;
Province of British Columbia: larry.michaels@gov.bc.ca;
Public Interest Advocacy Centre: alau@piac.ca;
Quantum Republic Inc.: regulatory@quantumrepublic.ca;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com
SSi Micro Ltd: regulatory@ssimicro.com
Stephen Weber: singpolyma@singpolyma.net;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com
TNW Wireless Inc.: lawrytd@gmail.com;
Tucows Inc.: justen@tucows.com
Xplornet Communications Inc.: cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

Attachment

Requests for information

To all parties:

  1. In its submissions, Rogers proposed that if the Commission were to mandate access to the radio access networks (RANs) of the national wireless carriers for alternative wireless service providers (AWSPs), then the following restrictions should apply: (1) AWSPs should be Canadian carriers that own and operate mobile networks (including licensed spectrum and RAN), (2) Mandated access for AWSPs should only apply to carriers’ 3G networks, (3) AWSPs should only be permitted to offer and provide retail mobile wireless services to qualifying low-income Canadians, (4) there should be a usage cap of 50MB/subscriber/month, and (5) the wholesale rate for the 50 MB should be $3.75. Various parties proposed alternative conditions to any additional form of mandated access that may be introduced.
    1. Provide your views with respect to the appropriateness of the conditions associated with the AWSP access to the RANs of the national wireless carriers proposed by Rogers. How would these proposed conditions address the considerations identified in Order in Council 2017-0557, especially with respect to affordability and investment in wireless infrastructure?
    2. Provide your views as to whether there is any functional difference between how AWSPs would access the RANs of the national wireless carriers versus how roaming carriers currently access the RANs of the national wireless carriers. If there is no functional difference, should the rates associated with potential AWSP access differ from those for roaming on the networks of the national wireless carriers? Explain why or why not with economic rationale.
  2. In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-177 the Commission determined that GSM-based wholesale roaming and MVNO access provided by Bell Mobility, Rogers, and Telus are essential, and therefore required wholesale roaming service to be provided under regulated rates, terms, and conditions. In the same decision the Commission considered that if it were to mandate wholesale MVNO access at that time it would significantly undermine wireless carriers’ investments in spectrum and wireless networks, and for these reasons determined that it was not appropriate to mandate wholesale MVNO access.
    1. Could the Commission mandate access to the RANs of facilities-based wireless carriers for AWSPs without re-applying the essentiality test performed in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-177? Provide supporting evidence for your view.
    2. Can the existing roaming tariff be modified to accommodate AWSP access, or is a separate tariff required?
  3. Order in Council 2017-0557 indicates that innovative business models and technological solutions, such as those offered by AWSPs, can result in more meaningful choices for Canadians with low income. The AWSP service model generally relies on data networks (i.e. a combination of Wi-Fi and mobile wireless data), with the expectation that customers would rely on Wi-Fi to the greatest extent possible
    1. If wireless carriers were to introduce a data-only retail mobile wireless service plan for use on mobile phonesFootnote1 , comment on how this would address, in whole or in part, the considerations identified in Order in Council 2017-0557, especially with respect to affordability and investment in wireless infrastructure.
    2. If the Commission were to determine that the availability of such plans is in the public interest, comment on how the Commission could impose a regulatory obligation on wireless carriers requiring them to offer and provide such plans. Could such an obligation be imposed under section 24 of the Telecommunications Act or by some other method?
    3. What reasonable service parameters (e.g. data allowance) should apply to a data-only retail mobile wireless service plan for use on mobile phones in order to ensure that such plans address the challenges faced by Canadians with low household income?
  4. With respect to the provision of 9-1-1 service, in the event that the Commission mandated access to the RAN of wireless carriers for AWSPs:
    1. How should 9-1-1 service be implemented? Should AWSPs be required to provide 9-1-1 service that is the same as what is provided by wireless carriers?
    2. Are there any technical limitations that would impact the ability of AWSPs to provide 9-1-1 service?
    3. Should the 9-1-1 requirements for nomadic VoIPFootnote2 , including notification requirements, apply to AWSPs?
  5. Given that the services provided by AWSPs would generally require:  (a) a smartphone and (b) access to a broadband internet connection to leverage Wi-Fi first access, provide any evidence that supports the view that such services would be accessible and beneficial to Canadians with low household income.

    To Bell Mobility, Eastlink, Freedom Mobile, Ice Wireless, Rogers, SaskTel, TELUS and Videotron:

  6. Does your company or any of your flanker brands offer a data-only retail mobile wireless service plan for use on mobile phones (i.e. excluding plans:  (i) that are made available for customers who self-identify as having a disability or (ii) that are intended to be used with LTE Hubs/USB modems)? If you do, provide a list of all such plans including the following details: (1) price, (2) price per GB, and (3) data allotments available. If you do not provide such a plan, explain why not.
  7. How do you promote your lowest-cost plans to Canadians with low household income?
  8. Identify any federal, provincial or territorial programs you are aware of, which support the affordability of mobile wireless services for Canadians with low household income. Do you offer, or plan to offer, any special mobile wireless plans that are supported by this funding? If you do have such service plans, provide the details (e.g. price, data/minutes included).
  9. In its submission, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) indicated that there may be risks associated with current network sharing agreements in Canada, particularly between Bell and Telus. PIAC also referenced an OECD reportFootnote3 that suggested that network sharing among carriers can result in less network capacity being available, and that this can lead to a reduction in the incentives for carriers to supply capacity to MVNOs and price aggressively at the retail level:
    1. In your view, do any network sharing arrangements currently in place in Canada: (i) adversely affect network capacity, (ii) impact the affordability of retail mobile wireless services, (iii) impede the entry into the Canadian market of MVNOs that are not affiliated with Canadian facilities-based wireless carriers, or (iv) impede the level of facilities-based competition?

    To Bell Mobility, Telus:

  10. Provide all assumptions and data that you used to calculate the Herfindahl-Hirschman Index (HHI) for the Canadian market. Were affiliated companies and flanker brands counted as separate entities for the purposes of this calculation? If they were, recalculate the HHI for the Canadian market where each wireless carrier’s market share is combined with the market share of its affiliated companies and flanker brands as a single entity.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 16 octobre 2017

Notre référence : 1011–NOC2017-0259

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Réexamen de la décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités définitives applicables aux tarifs du service d’itinérance sans fil mobile de gros

Madame, Monsieur,

Conformément au paragraphe 12 de l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-259, vous trouverez ci-joint les demandes de renseignements de l’instance. Les parties qui figurent dans la liste de distribution doivent déposer auprès du Conseil leurs réponses aux questions ci-jointes au plus tard le 30 octobre 2017. Ces documents devraient être reçus et non pas seulement envoyés, au plus tard à cette date.

Tel qu’il est établi à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications ainsi que dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, des personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. La partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi les renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi la divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris comment le préjudice direct particulier que la divulgation pourrait entraîner l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. De plus, la personne qui fournit des renseignements sous le sceau de la confidentialité doit également déposer une version abrégée du document, de laquelle seuls les renseignements confidentiels ont été retranchés, ou doit fournir les motifs pour lesquels une version abrégée ne peut être déposée.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Philippe Kent
Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Adam Mills, CRTC, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution

Aaron Messer : aaronmesser@gmail.com;
Anthony Humphreys : anthony@humphreys.org;
Anthony Stadnyk : Tony.stadnyk@gmail.com  
Bell Mobilité : bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Brian Murrell : brian@interlinx.bc.ca;  
Canadian Cable System Alliance Inc. : cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil : ttraore@cwta.ca;
Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. : regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec : sallen@agence911.org;
Cogeco Câble inc. :  telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Darren Parberry : info@parberry.ca;
Déry Télécom inc. : regulatory@derytelecom.ca;
Denver Gingerich : denver@ossguy.com;
Distributel Communications Limitée :  regulatory@distributel.ca; Eastlink : Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc. : regulatory@execulink.com;
Gouvernement de la Saskatchewan : Michael.kindrachuk@gov.sk.ca;
Ice Wireless Inc. : regulatory@icewireless.ca;
Internet Society Canada Chapter : tim@tmdenton.com;
Jason Fohring : jfohring@outlook.com;
Jordan Bowness : bizeworld@gmail.com;
Joseph Floyd : joeyfloyd@hotmail.com;
Justin Cate : catejust@gmail.com;
OpenMedia : regulatory@openmedia.org;
Province de la Colombie-Britannique : larry.michaels@gov.bc.ca;
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public : alau@piac.ca;
Quantum Republic Inc. : regulatory@quantumrepublic.ca;
Québecor Média Inc. (Vidéotron) : regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Inc. : david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc. : Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications : document.control@sasktel.com
SSi Micro Ltd : regulatory@ssimicro.com
Stephen Weber : singpolyma@singpolyma.net;
Société TELUS Communications : regulatory.affairs@telus.com
TNW Wireless Inc. : lawrytd@gmail.com;
Tucows Inc. : justen@tucows.com
Xplornet Communications Inc. : cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

PIÈCE JOINTE

Demandes d’information
À toutes les parties :

  1. Dans ses observations, Rogers a proposé d’appliquer les restrictions suivantes si le Conseil exigeait l’accès aux réseaux d’accès radioélectrique (RAR) des fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux pour les autres fournisseurs de services sans fil (autres FSSF) : 1) les autres FSSF devraient être des entreprises canadiennes qui possèdent et exploitent des réseaux mobiles (y compris des réseaux à spectre autorisé et des réseaux d’accès radioélectrique (RAR)), 2) l’exigence en matière d’accès ne devrait s’appliquer qu’aux réseaux 3G des fournisseurs, 3) les autres FSSF devraient être seulement autorisés à offrir des services sans fil mobiles de détail aux Canadiens à faible revenu admissibles, 4) une limite d’utilisation des données de 50MB/abonné/mois devrait être imposée, et 5) le prix de gros du forfait pour 50 MB devrait s’élever à 3,75 $. Diverses parties ont proposé d’autres conditions à toute autre forme de prescription d’accès qui pourrait être instaurée.
    1. Veuillez donner votre avis sur la pertinence des conditions liées à l’accès aux réseaux d’accès radioélectrique (RAR) des fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux, proposées par Rogers. En quoi les conditions proposées tiennent-elles compte des considérations énoncées dans le décret 2017–0557, en particulier en ce qui a trait au caractère abordable des services et à l’investissement dans l’infrastructure réseau sans fil?
    2. Indiquez si, selon vous, il existe une différence fonctionnelle entre la façon dont les autres FSSF auraient accès aux réseaux d’accès radioélectrique (RAR) des fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux et la façon dont les fournisseurs de services d’itinérance ont actuellement accès à ces réseaux. S’il n’existe pas de différence fonctionnelle, les tarifs associés à l’accès à ces réseaux pour d’autres FSSF potentiels devraient-ils être différents de ceux des services d’itinérance sur les réseaux des fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux? Expliquez pourquoi, avec justification économique à l’appui.
  2. Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-177, le Conseil a conclu que les services d’itinérance de gros sur réseaux GSM et les services d’accès pour les exploitants de réseaux mobiles virtuels (ERMV) proposés par Bell Mobilité, Rogers et TELUS étaient essentiels et que, par conséquent, il était nécessaire de réglementer les tarifs et les conditions d’accès aux services d’itinérance sans fil de gros. Dans la même décision, le Conseil a conclu que s’il exigeait alors l’accès aux services d’itinérance sans fil de gros, cela nuirait fortement aux investissements dans les réseaux à spectre et les réseaux sans fil de la part des fournisseurs de services sans fil et, pour ces raisons, qu’il n’était pas approprié de prescrire l’accès aux services d’itinérance sans fil de gros.
    1. Le Conseil pourrait-il obliger les fournisseurs de services sans fil dotés d’installations réseau à offrir l’accès à leur réseau d’accès radioélectrique (RAR) aux autres FSSF sans appliquer l’évaluation du caractère essentiel exposée dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-177? Veuillez fournir une justification à l’appui pour votre réponse.
    2. Faut-il modifier le tarif des services d’itinérance actuellement en vigueur pour les besoins de l’accès par d’autres FSSF ou faut-il instaurer un tarif distinct?
  3. Le décret 2017–0557 indique que l’adoption de modèles d’affaires novateurs et de solutions technologiques, tels que ceux offerts par d’autres FSSF, permettrait d’offrir des choix plus judicieux aux consommateurs canadiens à faible revenu. En règle générale, le modèle de services proposé par les autres FSSF repose sur des réseaux de données (c.-à-d. une combinaison de services Wi-Fi et de services de données mobiles sans fil), en partant du principe que les consommateurs s’appuieront dans la plus vaste mesure possible sur le Wi-Fi.
    1. Si les fournisseurs de services sans fil proposaient un forfait de services sans fil mobiles de détail de type « données seulement » à utiliser sur des téléphones mobilesNote de bas de page1, résentez vos commentaires sur comment cela permettrait-il de tenir compte, en totalité ou en partie, des considérations énoncées dans le décret 2017–0557, en particulier en ce qui a trait au caractère abordable des services et à l’investissement dans l’infrastructure réseau sans fil.
    2. Si le Conseil établissait qu’il est dans l’intérêt public d’offrir de tels forfaits, présentez vos commentaires sur comment le Conseil pourrait obliger par règlement les fournisseurs de services sans fil à offrir ces forfaits. Cette obligation serait-elle imposée en vertu de l’article 24 de la Loi sur les télécommunications ou par une autre méthode?
    3. Quels paramètres de services raisonnables (p. ex. allocation de données) devraient être appliqués au forfait de services sans fil mobiles de détail de type « données seulement » à utiliser sur des téléphones mobiles afin de garantir que ces forfaits soient abordables pour les Canadiens d’un ménage à un faible revenu?
  4. En ce qui concerne la prestation d’un service 9-1-1, dans le cas où le Conseil exigerait l’accès aux réseaux d’accès radioélectrique (RAR) des fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux par les autres FSSF :
    1. Comment le service 9-1-1 serait-il mis en œuvre? Les autres fournisseurs de services sans fil devraient-ils être obligés d’offrir un service 9-1-1 qui est identique à celui offert par les fournisseurs de services sans fil nationaux?
    2. Y a-t-il des restrictions techniques qui auraient une incidence sur la capacité des autres FSSF à offrir un service 9-1-1?
    3. Les obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP mobiles pour les appels du 911Note de bas de page2, notamment les exigences relatives au préavis, devraient-elles s’appliquer aux autres fournisseurs de services sans fil?
  5. Étant donné que les services offerts par les autres FSSF nécessiteraient généralement : a) un téléphone intelligent et b) l’accès à une connexion Internet à large bande pour tirer parti de l’accès au « Wi-Fi en premier lieu », veuillez justifier le point de vue selon lequel ces services seraient accessibles et bénéfiques pour les Canadiens d’un ménage à faible revenu.

    À Bell Mobilité, Eastlink, Freedom Mobile, Ice Wireless, Rogers, SaskTel, TELUS et Vidéotron :

  6. Votre entreprise ou l’une de vos marques complémentaires propose-t-elle un forfait de services sans fil mobiles de détail de type « données seulement » à utiliser sur des téléphones mobiles (c.-à-d. excluant les forfaits : i) qui sont offerts aux clients qui s’auto-identifient comme des personnes handicapées ou ii) qui sont destinés à être utilisés sur des réseaux LTE ou des modems USB)? Dans l’affirmative, veuillez énumérer ces forfaits, en précisant : 1) le prix, 2) le prix par Go, et 3) les allocations de données proposées. Si vous n’offrez pas ce genre de forfait, expliquez pourquoi.
  7. Comment faites-vous la promotion de vos forfaits les moins coûteux auprès des Canadiens à faible revenu?
  8. Indiquez les programmes fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux dont vous êtes au courant qui appuis le caractère abordable des services sans fil mobiles pour les Canadiens d’un ménage à faible revenu. Offrez-vous, ou prévoyez-vous offrir, des forfaits de services sans fil mobiles qui reposent sur ce financement? Si vous proposez des forfaits pour ce genre de services, donnez les détails du forfait (p. ex., les prix, les données/minutes incluses).
  9. Dans ses observations, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC) a indiqué que les ententes de partage de réseau actuellement en vigueur au Canada comportent de nombreux risques, en particulier entre Bell et TELUS. Le PIAC a également évoqué un rapport de l’OCDENote de bas de page3 qui indique que le partage de réseau entre entreprises peut entraîner l’affaiblissement de la capacité du réseau, ce qui peut se traduire par une réduction des incitatifs pour les fournisseurs à fournir la capacité aux exploitants de réseau mobile virtuel et à facturer des prix de détail élevés.
    1. À votre avis, les ententes de partage de réseau en vigueur au Canada : i) ont-elles un effet néfaste sur la capacité des réseaux, ii) ont-elles une incidence sur le caractère abordable des services sans fil mobiles de détail, iii) entravent-elles l’entrée sur le marché canadien des exploitants de réseau mobile virtuel qui ne sont pas affiliés à des fournisseurs de services sans fil dotés d’installations au Canada, ou (iv) nuisent-elles à la concurrence fondée sur la mise à disposition d’installations?

    À Bell Mobilité, TELUS :

  10. Veuillez fournir toutes les hypothèses et données que vous avez utilisées pour calculer l’indice Herfindahl-Hirschman Index (HHI) pour le marché canadien. Les entreprises affiliées et les marques complémentaires ont-elles été prises en compte dans ce calcul? Si tel est le cas, veuillez recalculer l’indice HHI pour le marché canadien de façon que chaque part de marché des fournisseurs de services sans fil soit combinée à la part de marché de ses entreprises affiliées et de ses marques complémentaires pour former une seule entité.
Date de modification :