Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 5 October 2017

Our reference: 8660-C12-201709510

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Request for Information regarding incorrect entries in Bell Canada’s qualifying tool

Dear Mr. Gauvin

It has come to Commissions staff’s attention that Bell Canada may be experiencing errors in its qualifying tool, which is an important step in the competitor access system. The purpose of this letter is to obtain information with respect to the issue, as well as Bell Canada’s plans to address it, in order to determine whether further Commission action is required.

The Issue

Commission staff is in receipt of comments from Bell Canada filed 29 June 2017 and Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) filed 6 July 2017, relating to CNOC’s application for Transitional Aggregated Wholesale High-Speed Access (HSA) Services over Incumbent Fibre-to-the-Premises Facilities (the Part 1 proceeding) filed on 30 March 2017.

In its comments, Bell Canada noted that certain incorrect entries in the company’s qualifying tool, used by competitors to query the availability of aggregated wholesale high-speed access for a specified address, led to competitors being erroneously precluded from offering high-speed Internet services to those addresses using Bell Canada’s access facilities.

In its comments, CNOC submitted that in those cases mentioned by Bell Canada, consumers who would otherwise have had greater choice in high-speed service providers were denied it to the advantage of the incumbent’s retail arm. CNOC requested that the Commission investigate the competitive harms that stem from errors with Bell Canada’s qualifying tool.

Commission staff notes that documents such as Telecom Decision 2008-17Footnote1 and Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326Footnote2 confirm that wholesale HSA services are mandated by the Commission. Moreover, Bell Canada’s General Tariff item 5440 section 3(a) states that the “Company determines those serving wire centres which will support GAS-FTTNFootnote3 and the available speeds for the AHSSPIFootnote4 connectivity.”

In order to establish whether further Commission intervention is warranted, Commission staff requests that Bell Canada provide responses to the attached request for information, serving copies to CNOC, by 20 October 2017.

This letter and all subsequent correspondence will be added to a public record separate from the Part 1 proceeding,

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: CNOC, regulatory@CNOC.ca
Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, 819-997-4663, Imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Appendix - Requests for information

Question 1

In order to help Commission staff to determine the extent of the errors with Bell Canada’s qualifying tool, please clarify the following:

  1. Aside from the incorrect entries identified by the company in its response dated 6 July 2017, is the company aware of any other cases where incorrect entries were found in the company’s qualifying tool?  Does the company have any reason to believe that there may be additional incorrect entries in its qualifying tool and why?
  2. Does the company have any data or statistics related to the incidence of errors in its qualifying tool? If so, please provide them.
  3. Provide complete details as to the nature of the errors (human error, etc.) that led or are leading to incorrect entries in the company’s qualifying tool.

Question 2

Comment on the extent to which incorrect entries in the qualifying tool impact Bell Canada’s ability to fulfill the terms and conditions of its tariff, and its obligation to inform competitors of where GAS is available.

Question 3

Please submit detailed descriptions of the specific measures that the company is taking or plans to take to:

  1. Identify incorrect entries and monitor incidences of errors with its qualifying tool; and,
  2. Eliminate the incidence of errors with its qualifying tool.

Please include the timelines associated with the implementation of those measures mentioned above.

If the company is not contemplating any such specific measures, explain why not?

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à Monsieur Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 5 octobre 2017

Notre référence : 8660-C12-201709510

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Canada
19e étage
160, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Demande de renseignements concernant des entrées incorrectes dans l’outil d’évaluation de Bell Canada

Monsieur Gauvin,

Le personnel du Conseil a appris que Bell Canada pourrait avoir obtenu des erreurs dans son outil d’évaluation, qui constitue une étape importante au système d’accès des concurrents. La présente vise à obtenir des renseignements à ce sujet ainsi que les plans de Bell Canada pour régler le problème afin de déterminer si d’autres mesures doivent être prises par le Conseil.

La question

Le Conseil accuse réception des observations de Bell Canada déposées le 29 juin 2017 et du Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC) déposées le 6 juillet 2017 relativement à la demande déposée le 30 mars dernier par le CORC concernant l’accès provisoire aux services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros regroupés au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulaires (instance en vertu de la partie 1).

Dans ses observations, Bell Canada a observé que certaines entrées incorrectes dans l’outil d’évaluation de l’entreprise, qui est utilisé par les concurrents pour s’informer de la disponibilité des services regroupés d’accès à haute vitesse de gros à une adresse précise, des erreurs qui ont empêché les concurrents d’offrir des services Internet à haute vitesse à ces adresses en utilisant les installations d’accès de Bell Canada.

Dans ses observations, le CORC a fait valoir que dans les cas mentionnés par Bell Canada, des consommateurs qui auraient eu un meilleur choix de fournisseurs de services haute vitesse se sont vus refuser ce choix, ce qui a avantagé le service de détail de la titulaire. Le CORC a demandé que le Conseil enquête les préjudices concurrentiels découlant des erreurs qui se sont produites avec l’outil d’évaluation de Bell Canada.

Le personnel du Conseil observe que des documents tels que la Décision de télécom 2008-17Note de bas de page1 et la Politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326Note de bas de page2 confirment que les services AHV de gros sont exigés par le Conseil. En outre, l’alinéa 3a) de l’article 5440 du Tarif général de Bell Canada prévoit que la « Compagnie désigne les centres de commutation de desserte qui prennent en charge le SAP-FTTNNote de bas de page3 et détermine la vitesse à laquelle elle peut offrir la connectivité IFSHVGNote de bas de page4. »

Afin d’établir si une autre intervention du Conseil est justifiée, le personnel du Conseil demande à Bell Canada de répondre à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe et d’envoyer un exemplaire au CORC au plus tard le 20 octobre 2017.

La présente lettre et toute la correspondance subséquente seront ajoutées à un dossier public distinct de l’instance en vertu de la partie 1.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. CORC, regulatory@CNOC.ca
Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, 819-997-4663, Imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe. (1)

Annexe – Demandes de renseignements

Question 1

Afin de permettre au personnel du Conseil de déterminer l’étendue des erreurs commises par l’outil d’évaluation de Bell Canada, veuillez donner des précisions sur les éléments suivants :

  1. Outre les entrées inexactes cernées par l’entreprise dans sa réponse du 6 juillet 2017, l’entreprise st-elle au fait de toute autre situation où des entrées inexactes ont été trouvées dans son outil d’évaluation? L’entreprise a-t-elle des raisons de croire qu’il pourrait y avoir d’autres entrées inexactes dans son outil d’évaluation? Pourquoi?
  2. L’entreprise a-t-elle des données ou des statistiques liées à l’occurrence des erreurs de son outil d’évaluation? Veuillez fournir ces données ou statistiques, le cas échéant.
  3. Veuillez donner tous les détails relatifs à la nature des erreurs (erreurs humaines, etc.) qui ont provoqué ou provoquent ces entrées inexactes dans l’outil d’évaluation de l’entreprise.

Question 2

Veuillez indiquer à quel point les entrées inexactes dans l’outil affectent la capacité de Bell Canada de satisfaire aux exigences de son tarif ainsi qu’à son obligation d’informer les concurrents sur la disponibilité des SAP.

Question 3

Veuillez décrire en détail les mesures précises que l’entreprise entend prendre pour :

  1. identifier les entrées inexactes et surveiller les erreurs qui se produisent avec l’outil d’évaluation;
  2. éliminer le risque que des erreurs se produisent avec son outil d’évaluation.

Veuillez inclure les calendriers associés à la mise en œuvre des mesures susmentionnées.

Si l’entreprise n’envisage pas de prendre de telles mesures, veuillez en expliquer pourquoi.

Date de modification :