Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 6 September 2017

Our reference: 8740-B20-201511809

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Bell Canada (NST) Tariff Notice 936 (Ex-Parte)

Dear Sir:

On 9 October 2015, the Commission received an application by Bell Canada under Tariff Notice (NST) 936, in which it proposed revisions to the National Services Tariff to introduce a Special Facilities Service Item.

In its application, the company requested that the Commission treat its application on an ex parte basis. Bell Canada requested that public disclosure of its proposed tariff not be required unless and until it is awarded the customer’s business. It indicated that the proposed arrangement was the subject of a bidding process initiated by the customer. It further requested that, should the Commission deny the application or should the customer not accept the proposal, the filing not be placed on the public record.

In Bell Canada – Ex parte application, Telecom Order 2015-508, 18 November 2015, the Commission approved on an interim basis the ex parte application, subject to the condition that the company advise the Commission of the outcome of the selection process as soon as possible and notify the Commission whether the customer has awarded the contract to Bell Canada.

By letter, dated 21 August 2017, Bell Canada indicated that the customer had not accepted its proposal. It requested withdrawal of Tariff Notice 936 and again requested that the application not be placed on the public record. The company submitted that knowledge of the details of the arrangement proposed for this specific customer would be prejudicial to its competitive position in future negotiations of a similar nature with other customers.

Given that the customer has not accepted the company’s proposal, the tariff item would not be required. Therefore, the request to withdraw the application is acceptable. Consequently, this application is closed.

In addition, the company’s request not to place the application on the public record is reasonable as it would be prejudicial to its competitive position.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, (819) 934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 6 septembre 2017

Notre référence : 8740-B20-201511809

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur  Philippe Gauvin
Avocat principal
Bell Canada
19e étage
160, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Avis de modification tarifaire 936 de Bell Canada concernant son Tarif des services nationaux (ex parte)

Monsieur,

Le 9 octobre 2015, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Bell Canada, dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire 936, dans laquelle elle propose la révision du Tarif des services nationaux afin d’introduire un service d’installations spéciales.

L’entreprise a demandé au Conseil de rendre une décision ex parte relativement à sa demande. Bell Canada a demandé de ne pas être tenu de divulguer son tarif proposé à moins que et jusqu’à ce que ses services aient été retenus par le client. Elle a indiqué que l’entente proposée fait l’objet d’un appel d’offres lancé par le client. Bell demande également que, dans l’éventualité où le Conseil rejetterait la demande ou le client ne retiendrait pas l’offre de Bell, la demande ne soit pas versée au dossier public.

Dans son Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2015-508, Bell Canada – Demande ex parte, 18 novembre 2015, le Conseil a approuvé provisoirement la demande ex parte, sous réserve que Bell devait l’informer du résultat du processus de sélection le plus tôt possible et l’aviser si le client lui a attribué le contrat.

Dans une lettre datée du 21 août 2017, Bell Canada a indiqué que le client ne lui avait pas attribué le contrat. Elle a demandé le retrait de l’Avis de modification tarifaire 936 et a demandé à nouveau que sa demande ne soit pas versée au dossier public. L’entreprise soutient que la divulgation des détails de l’entente proposée à ce client précis nuirait à sa compétitivité lors de négociations futures de nature semblable avec d’autres clients.

Puisque le client n’a pas retenu la proposition de l’entreprise, l’article tarifaire n’est pas requis. Par conséquent, la demande de retrait est acceptable et le dossier de cette demande est clos.

En outre, la demande présentée par l’entreprise de ne pas verser sa demande au dossier publique est raisonnable, car celle-ci nuirait à sa compétitivité.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joseph Cabrera, CRTC, (819) 934-6352, joseph.cabrera@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :