Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 5 September 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0092

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

Re:  Phase-out of the local service subsidy regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92Footnote1 – Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and for further responses to requests for information

Dear Madam, Sir:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and for further responses related to requests for information made in the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92.

On 17 August 2017, Bell Canada,Footnote2 Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), Government of Northwest Territories, National Pensioners Federation and Public Interest Advocacy Centre (NPF-PIAC), Rogers Communications Partnership (Rogers), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) filed requests for disclosure of certain information for which confidentiality had been claimed or requests for further responses to requests for information.

The following companies filed responses to these requests: Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Inc. carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), CNOC, Cogeco Cable Inc., Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (representing 23 small incumbent local exchange carriers), Northwestel Inc., Quebecor Media Inc., Rogers, SaskTel, and TELUS Communications Company.

Assessment of the requests

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is first made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

With respect to requests for further responses to requests for information, the requirements of section 76 of the Rules of Procedure apply. The merits of arguments both for and against the filing of further responses are taken into account, as well as the general principles enunciated by the Commission in past proceedings. The major consideration is the relevance of the information requested to the matter at issue. The availability of the information requested is also a factor, which is balanced against the relevance of the information. If the provision of the information sought would require an effort disproportionate to the probative value of the information itself, further responses will not be required. Another factor considered is the extent to which a response to a request for information is responsive to the request for information as it was originally asked. Generally, parties are not required to provide further responses to requests for further information from a party that did not ask the original request for information.

Conclusions

With respect to the requests to disclose aggregated information on a company-wide or national all-carrier basis, the use of this information would not be significantly relevant to the policy issues under consideration in this proceeding as they would be applied on an exchange by exchange basis. In addition, the companies used various methodologies in compiling the data in question. The use of the aggregated information would result in inaccurate estimated potential impacts and would likely lead to erroneous conclusions. Accordingly, it is not appropriate to disclose the requested information on the public record of the proceeding.

With respect to all other remaining requests, having regard to the considerations set out above and the responses to the requests for information provided by the other parties, no further disclosure or provision of information is required.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Julie Cook forJohn Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Julie Cook, CRTC, (819) 743-4591, julie.cook@crtc.gc.ca
Christine Brock, CRTC, (819) 997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

9315-1884 Québec, richard.biron@sogetel.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, bart.cameron@brucetelecom.com
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
CityWest Telephone Corporation, Donovan.Dias@cwct.ca
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane, smitch@cochranetel.ca
Cogeco Cable Inc., michel.messier@cogeco.com
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, mrocheleau@cooptel.coop
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, rob.petruk@gosfieldtel.ca
Government of the Northwest Territories, linda_maljan@gov.nt.ca
Groupe Maskatel LP,jgrenier@maskatel.qc.ca
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., wagrier@1000island.net
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, davesmith@frontenac.net
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade, moverton@nrtco.net
Northwestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
NPF-PIAC, alau@piac.ca
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., john.deheer@quadro.net
Québecor Média Inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Partnerships, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, roxboro@ontarioeast.net
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, rob@tccmail.ca
Wightman Telecom Ltd., rfigliuzzi@wightman.ca
WTC Communications, steve@wtccommunications.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 5 septembre 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0092

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Retrait progressif du régime de subvention du service local, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-92Note de bas de page1 – Demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente traite des demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et des réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements effectuées dans le cadre de l’instance amorcée par l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92.

Le 17 août 2017, Bell Canada,Note de bas de page2 le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC), le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Fédération nationale des retraités et citoyens âgés et Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (FNR-CDIP), Rogers Communications Partnership (Rogers) et Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) ont formulé des demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements réputés confidentiels ou de réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements.

Les sociétés suivantes ont déposé des réponses à ces demandes :  Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), le CORC, Cogeco Cable Inc., l’Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (représentant 23 petites entreprises de services locaux titulaires), Northwestel Inc., Québecor Media Inc., Rogers, SaskTel et la Société TELUS Communications.

Évaluation des demandes

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements réputés confidentiels sont évaluées en fonction des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il tente ensuite de déterminer si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance de la divulgation des renseignements pour la constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

En ce qui concerne les demandes de réponses supplémentaires aux demandes de renseignements, les exigences prévues à l’article 76 des Règles de procédure s’appliquent. Le Conseil a soupesé le bien-fondé de tous les arguments favorables et défavorables au dépôt de réponses complémentaires, en plus de tenir compte des principes généraux qu’il a énoncés dans le cadre d’instances antérieures. La pertinence des renseignements demandés par rapport à la question à l’étude constitue la principale considération. La disponibilité des renseignements demandés est également un facteur à prendre en compte; elle est évaluée par rapport à la pertinence des renseignements. Si la fourniture des renseignements demandés nécessitait des efforts démesurés par rapport à la valeur probante de l’information proprement dite, des réponses complémentaires ne seraient pas exigées. Entre également en ligne de compte la mesure dans laquelle la réponse à la demande de renseignements correspond bien à la demande initiale. En général, le Conseil n’exige pas des parties qu’elles fournissent des réponses aux demandes de renseignements supplémentaires d’une partie si cette dernière n’est pas l’auteure de la demande de renseignements initiale.

Conclusion

En ce qui concerne les demandes de divulgation de renseignements colligés sur l’ensemble d’une société ou toutes les entreprises de télécommunications à l’échelle nationale, l’utilisation de tels renseignements ne serait pas particulièrement utile aux fins des questions stratégiques à l’étude dans l’instance, étant donné qu’ils seraient appliqués circonscription par circonscription. De plus, les entreprises ont utilisé diverses méthodes pour compiler les renseignements concernés. L’utilisation de renseignements colligés pourrait engendrer des estimations inexactes et vraisemblablement des conclusions erronées. Par conséquent, il n’est pas approprié de divulguer les renseignements demandés versés au dossier public de l’instance.

En ce qui concerne toutes les autres demandes, compte tenu de ce qui précède et des réponses aux demandes de divulgation de renseignements fournies par les autres parties, aucune divulgation ou communication de renseignements n’est exigée.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par
Julie Cook pourJohn Macri
Directeur, Cadre de politiques,
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.  Julie Cook, CRTC, 819-743-4591, julie.cook@crtc.gc.ca
Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

9315-1884 Québec, richard.biron@sogetel.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, bart.cameron@brucetelecom.com
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
CityWest Telephone Corporation, Donovan.Dias@cwct.ca
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane, smitch@cochranetel.ca
Cogeco Cable Inc., michel.messier@cogeco.com
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, mrocheleau@cooptel.coop
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, rob.petruk@gosfieldtel.ca
Government of the Northwest Territories, linda_maljan@gov.nt.ca
Groupe Maskatel LP, jgrenier@maskatel.qc.ca
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., wagrier@1000island.net
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, davesmith@frontenac.net
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade, moverton@nrtco.net
Northwestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
NPF-PIAC, alau@piac.ca
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., john.deheer@quadro.net
Québecor Média Inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Partnerships, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, roxboro@ontarioeast.net
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, rob@tccmail.ca
Wightman Telecom Ltd., rfigliuzzi@wightman.ca
WTC Communications, steve@wtccommunications.ca

Date de modification :