Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 29 August 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0259

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Procedural request of Shaw Communications Inc. – Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259

Dear Madam, Sir

On 17 August 2017, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) submitted a letter requesting a modification to the process for Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259 (TNC 2017-259).

Shaw submitted that, given the importance of the issues in this proceeding, the nature of the evidence and information likely to be filed, and the need to ensure that all parties are given a fair opportunity to comment, a supplementary intervention phase should be incorporated into the process for TNC 2017-259.  Shaw proposed that the supplementary intervention phase have a filing date of 20 October 2017.

Between 18 August 2017 and 22 August 2017 Bell Mobility Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Company, and Videotron G.P. also filed letters that support Shaw’s request for similar reasons.

Commission staff expects that parties will take advantage of the opportunity provided to them within the existing procedural framework established in TNC 2017-259 to provide fulsome interventions, with supporting evidence where applicable. It would be premature at this stage, when interventions have yet to be filed, to make a determination that further procedural steps are necessary. In the event that additional process is considered necessary at a future point in the proceeding, such processNote de bas de page1 will be communicated to parties.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Renee Doiron for

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Adam Mills, CRTC, 919-997-4574, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List
Bell Mobility Inc. - bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink) – regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile – bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless Inc. – regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. – rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications – document.control@sasktel.com
Shaw Communications Inc. – regulatory@sjrb.ca
TELUS Communications Company – regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron G.P. – regaffairs@quebecor.com

 

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 29 août 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0259

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Requête procédurale de Shaw Communications inc. – réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités définitives des tarifs des services d’itinérance sans fil mobiles de gros, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-259

Madame, Monsieur,  

Le 17 août 2017, Shaw Communications inc. (Shaw) a présenté une lettre demandant qu’une modification soit apportée au processus du Réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités définitives des tarifs des services d’itinérance sans fil mobiles de gros, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-259 (ACT 2017-259). 

Shaw affirmait que, compte tenu de l’importance des questions de cette instance, de la nature des éléments de preuve et des renseignements qu’il faudrait probablement déposer ainsi que de la nécessité de s’assurer que toutes les parties ont une chance égale de formuler des observations, une phase d’intervention supplémentaire devrait être incorporée à l’instance amorcée par l’ACT 2017-259. Shaw a proposé que la date de dépôt liée à cette phase soit le 20 octobre 2017.

Entre le 18 et le 22 août 2017, Bell Mobilité inc., Rogers Communications Canada inc., la Société TELUS Communications et Vidéotron, s.e.n.c. ont également présenté des lettres en appui à la demande de Shaw pour des motifs semblables.

Le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties profitent de l’occasion qui leur est offerte dans le cadre procédural existant ayant été établi dans l’ACT 2017-259 pour faire des interventions exhaustives et fournir des éléments de preuve à l’appui, le cas échéant. Il est trop tôt pour le moment, alors que des interventions n’ont pas encore été déposées, pour conclure que d’autres étapes procédurales sont nécessaires. Si un processusNote de bas de page1 supplémentaire est jugé nécessaire plus tard au cours de l’instance, il sera communiqué aux parties.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par Renée Doiron pour

Philippe Kent
Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Adam Mills, CRTC, 919-997-4574, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca 

Liste de distribution

Bell Mobilité inc. - bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications inc. (Eastlink) – regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile – bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless inc. – regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada inc. – rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications – document.control@sasktel.com
Shaw Communications inc. – regulatory@sjrb.ca
Société TELUS Communications – regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron, s.e.n.c. – regaffairs@quebecor.com

 

Date de modification :