Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 8 August 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0259

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Request to revise timelines for Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259

Dear Madam, Sir:

The Commission is in receipt of a letter dated 24 July 2017, submitted by Bell Canada, requesting an extension to the filing deadlines set out in Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-259 (TNC 2017-259).

Bell Canada submitted that an extension is necessary, among other things, to allow parties sufficient time to provide fulsome comments on the issues set out in TNC 2017-259. Accordingly, it requested that the deadline for interventions be extended from 8 September 2017 to 6 October 2017, and the deadline for final submissions from 10 November 2017 to 8 December 2017.

The Commission also received letters dated 25 July 2017 and 28 July 2017 from Shaw Communications Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Ice Wireless Inc. and TELUS Communications Company that support Bell Canada’s request for similar reasons. Moreover, Rogers also requested a four week extension to the deadlines for filing initial responses to the Commission’s requests for information.

The Commission notes that, in Order in Council P.C. 2017-0557 (the Order), the Governor in Council directed it to complete its reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 by no later than 31 March 2018. In the Commission’s view, in order for it to meet this deadline, it is necessary for the proceeding to move forward in an expeditious manner.

Moreover, the Commission considers that parties should have been aware that a proceeding to reconsider Telecom Decision 2017-56 was imminent as of 1 June 2017, the date of the Order, and that parties ought to have planned their work accordingly.

Given the above, the Commission considers that the deadlines established for filing interventions, final replies and responses to requests for information should be maintained.

Accordingly, the Commission denies the parties’ extension requests.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General


Distribution List

Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile, bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron G.P., regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 8 août 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0259

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

OBJET : Demande visant à modifier le calendrier de Réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités finales des tarifs des services d’itinérance sans fil mobiles de gros, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-259

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Bell Canada, datée du 24 juillet 2017 et visant le report des dates limites de dépôt établies dans Réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités finales des tarifs des services d’itinérance sans fil mobiles de gros, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-259 (ACT 2017-259).

Bell Canada a fait valoir qu’un report était nécessaire, entre autres, afin de laisser suffisamment de temps aux parties pour qu’elles fournissent des observations complètes sur les questions soulevées dans l’ACT 2017-259. Elle a donc demandé que la date limite de dépôt des interventions soit reportée du 8 septembre 2017 au 6 octobre 2017 et que la date limite de dépôt des observations finales soit reportée du 10 novembre 2017 au 8 décembre 2017.

Le Conseil a également reçu de Shaw Communications inc., Rogers Communications Canada inc. (Rogers), Ice Wireless inc. et la Société TELUS Communications des lettres datées du 25 juillet 2017 et du 28 juillet 2017 en appui à la demande de Bell Canada, et ce, pour des motifs similaires. En outre, Rogers a également demandé de reporter de quatre semaines les dates limites de dépôt des réponses initiales aux demandes de renseignements du Conseil.

Le Conseil observe que dans le décret C.P. 2017-0557 (le décret), le gouverneur en conseil lui a ordonné de terminer son réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 au plus tard le 31 mars 2018. Le Conseil est d’avis que pour rencontrer cette date limite, il est nécessaire que l’instance se déroule rapidement.
De plus, le Conseil estime que les parties auraient dû savoir qu’une instance de réexamen de la Décision de télécom 2017-56 était imminente dès le 1er juin 2017, date de publication du décret, et qu’elles auraient dû se préparer en conséquence.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil estime que les dates limites établies pour le dépôt des interventions, des répliques finales et des réponses aux demandes de renseignements doivent être maintenues.

Par conséquent, le Conseil rejette les demandes de prolongation présentées par les parties.

Veuillez agréer, Madame/Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato


Liste de distribution

Bell Mobilité inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications inc. (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile, bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron s.e.n.c., regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date de modification :