Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 4 August 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0092

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re:  Phase-out of the local service subsidy regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92Footnote1 – Request for disclosure of information designated as confidential

Dear Madam, Sir:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential in the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92.

By letters dated 13 July 2017, Bell Canada et al.Footnote2 and the NPF-PIACFootnote3 requested disclosure of certain information for which confidentiality had been claimed in connection with the Commission’s requests for information dated 13 April 2017.

The following companies filed responses to the requests for disclosure:  Bell Canada et al., Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), the Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (representing 23 small incumbent local exchange carriers), Saskatchewan Telecommunications, and TELUS Communications Company.

Assessment of the requests

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) as well as sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is first made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff considers that certain of the requests characterized by the NPF-PIAC as requests for disclosure are more properly classified as requests for additional information. With respect to these requests, Commission staff has considered the relevance of the information being requested to the specific issues within the scope of this proceeding.

Conclusions

Commission staff notes that Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) has asked for information in its requests for information to other parties filed on 13 July 2017Footnote4 that are similar to certain of the NPF-PIAC’s requests and consequently raise similar issues. Commission staff considers that it would be more appropriate to deal with these issues in response to Rogers’ requests for information as part of the deficiency/confidentiality process set out in paragraphs 33 and 34 in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92.

With respect to all other remaining requests, having regard to the considerations set out above and the responses to the requests for information provided by the other parties, no further disclosure or provision of information is required.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Christine Brock, CRTC, (819) 997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Julie Cook, CRTC, (819) 743-4591, julie.cook@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

9315-1884 Québec, richard.biron@sogetel.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, bart.cameron@brucetelecom.com
CityWest Telephone Corporation, Donovan.Dias@cwct.ca
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane, smitch@cochranetel.ca
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, mrocheleau@cooptel.coop
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, rob.petruk@gosfieldtel.ca
Groupe Maskatel LP, jgrenier@maskatel.qc.ca
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., wagrier@1000island.net
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, davesmith@frontenac.net
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade, moverton@nrtco.net
NPF-PIAC, alau@piac.ca
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., john.deheer@quadro.net
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, roxboro@ontarioeast.net
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, rob@tccmail.ca
Wightman Telecom Ltd., rfigliuzzi@wightman.ca
WTC Communications, steve@wtccommunications.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 4 août 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0092

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Retrait progressif du régime de subvention du service local, avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92Note de bas de page1 – Demande de divulgation de renseignements déposés à titre confidentiel

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente lettre concerne des demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés confidentiels dans le cadre de l’instance amorcée par l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92.

Dans des lettres datées du 13 juillet 2017, Bell Canada et autresNote de bas de page2, la FNR et le CDIPNote de bas de page3 ont déposé des demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements à l’égard desquels la confidentialité avait été réclamée en réponse à la demande de renseignements adressée par le Conseil le 13 avril 2017.

Les compagnies suivantes ont déposé des réponses à ces demandes : Bell Canada et autres, Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), l’Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (représentant 23 petites entreprises de services locaux titulaires), Saskatchewan Telecommunications et la Société TELUS Communications.

Évaluation des demandes

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi) ainsi que de l'article 30 et des articles subséquents des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance de la divulgation des renseignements pour la constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Le personnel du Conseil juge que certaines des demandes qualifiées de demandes de divulgation par la FNR et le CDIP sont plutôt des demandes de renseignements supplémentaires. En ce qui concerne ces demandes, le personnel du Conseil a examiné la pertinence des renseignements demandés relativement aux questions précises visées par la présente instance.

Conclusions
Le personnel du Conseil souligne que dans ses demandes de renseignements présentées aux autres parties le 13 juillet 2017Note de bas de page4, Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) a demandé de l’information qui est semblable à celle concernée par les demandes de la FNR et du CDIP et qui soulève donc des questions similaires. Le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il convient de traiter de ces questions en réponse à la demande de renseignements de Rogers dans le cadre du processus de demande de renseignements/confidentialité établi aux paragraphes 33 et 34 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92.

En ce qui concerne toutes les autres demandes, compte tenu de ce qui précède et des réponses aux demandes de divulgation de renseignements fournies par les autres parties, aucune divulgation ou communication de renseignements n’est exigée pour le moment.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

John Macri
Cadre de politiques
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Julie Cook, CRTC, 819-743-4591, julie.cook@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

9315-1884 Québec, richard.biron@sogetel.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca
Bruce Telecom, bart.cameron@brucetelecom.com
CityWest Telephone Corporation, Donovan.Dias@cwct.ca
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane, smitch@cochranetel.ca
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, mrocheleau@cooptel.coop
Eastlink, Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, rob.petruk@gosfieldtel.ca
Groupe Maskatel LP, jgrenier@maskatel.qc.ca
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., wagrier@1000island.net
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc., pdowns@nexicomgroup.net
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, davesmith@frontenac.net
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade, moverton@nrtco.net
FNR-CDIP, alau@piac.ca
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., john.deheer@quadro.net
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, roxboro@ontarioeast.net
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Document.control@sasktel.com
Sogetel inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, rob@tccmail.ca
Wightman Telecom Ltd., rfigliuzzi@wightman.ca
WTC Communications, steve@wtccommunications.ca

Retrait progressif du régime de subvention du service local, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-92, 6 avril 2017, modifié par l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-92-1, 16 mai 2017

Bell Canada et ses affiliées (DMTS; KMTS; NorthernTel, Limited Partnership; Norouestel inc.; Ontera; et Télébec, Société en commandite)

Fédération nationale des retraités et le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public

Consulter les demandes de renseignements ____(Rogers)13July17-1, pièces jointes 1 à 5 (envoyées à chaque partie) : https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/instances-proceedings/Default-Defaut.aspx?lang=fr&YA=2017&S=C&PA=t&PT=nc&PST=a#2017-92.

Date de modification :