Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Mr. Mike Schoenberger (Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd.)

Ottawa, 2 August 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Mr. Mike Schoenberger
President
Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd.
18961 – 111 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta  T5S 2X4
mike@sunco.ca

RE: Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service and registration as a reseller

Dear Mr. Schoenberger:

On 4 May 2017, Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service.

This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd., including the name of its 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21) Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61) Footnote2.  Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is on the Commission’s reseller list.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter, or in the case of new companies, on the day the company starts offering service.  The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS and reseller registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service.  These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c:  Wendy McClintock, CRTC, (819) 639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à Monsieur Mike Schoenberger (Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 2 Août 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Mike Schoenberger
Président
Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd.
18961, 111 Avenue
Edmonton (Alberta)  T5S 2X4
mike@sunco.ca

OBJET : Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux en ce qui concerne le service 9-1-1 et l’inscription à titre de revendeur

Monsieur,

Le 4 mai 2017, Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. a déposé des renseignements concernant le service 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux.

La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la compagnie respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9-1-1 VoIP. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et dans la décision de télécom 2005-61 Note de bas de page2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, Sunco Communication and Installation Ltd. détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

Il incombe à la compagnie de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et d’envoyer un avis aux clients les informant de toute limite du service 9-1-1. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas d’une nouvelle compagnie, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. La compagnie est également tenue de respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires courantes en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence STIB et son inscription à titre de revendeur.

Enfin, il incombe à la compagnie de se tenir au courant des dispositions réglementaires qui s’appliquent à la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions se trouvent sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :