Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution

Ottawa, 25 July 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0259

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Reconsideration of Telecom Decision 2017-56 regarding final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service

Dear Madam, Sir:

Pursuant to paragraph 12 of Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-259, attached are requests for information in that proceeding. The parties identified in the distribution list are to file responses to the questions set out in the attachment by 8 September 2017. These submissions must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Adam Mills, CRTC, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List

Bell Mobility Inc. - bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink) – regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile – bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless Inc. – regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. – rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications – document.control@sasktel.com
TELUS Communications Company – regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron G.P. – regaffairs@quebecor.com

Requests for information

To Bell Mobility, Eastlink, Freedom Mobile, Ice Wireless, Rogers, SaskTel, TELUS and Videotron

  1. Over the past two years, have you been approached by a potential mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) that has requested access to your wireless network? If so, identify the entity and the timing when each of these discussions took place. In addition and for each entity, indicate whether you accepted or rejected the potential MVNO’s proposals including the rationale behind your decision.
  2. Provide a list of the MVNOs that are currently using your network to provide mobile wireless services to their end-users. Provide a copy of all agreements between your company and each MVNO that uses your network.
  3. To the best of your knowledge, are there any alternative wireless service providersFootnote1 (similar to Sugar Mobile) currently operating in the Canadian market? If so, identify them and indicate where they are offering service.
  4. With respect to investment in your company’s mobile wireless network, provide the following:
    1. For each of the years 2011 to 2016, a breakdown of the total capital expenditures attributed to your mobile wireless networks, including, for example, spectrum, cell sites, backhaul, and switching. Provide a breakdown by province.
    2. For each of the next five years (i.e. 2017 to 2022), a breakdown of the total capital expenditures forecast for your mobile wireless network, including, for example, spectrum, cell sites, backhaul, and switching. Provide a breakdown by province.
  5. For each of the years 2011 to 2016 as well as forecasts for each of the years 2017 and 2018 (including all assumptions) provide your company’s total mobile wireless operating revenues and total mobile wireless operating expenses, broken out by major category. Include separate totals for any flanker brandsFootnote2 your company operates.
  6. For each of the years 2011 to 2016 as well as forecasts for each of the years 2017 and 2018 (including all assumptions), provide your company’s average revenue per user (ARPU) for mobile wireless services (excluding flanker brands). Include separate ARPU amounts for any flanker brands your company operates.
  7. Provide any research/studies in your possession that were completed in the past 2 years that are relevant to this proceeding (e.g. studies that examine the impact of alternate wireless service providers on investment in the wireless market, studies examining the overall competitiveness of the Canadian mobile wireless market, etc.).
  8. Provide any analysis or studies that consider the impact that alternate wireless service providers have had on competition or pricing in the US or other countries where they operate.
  9. Provide an overview of your company’s strategy with respect to retail mobile wireless service plans for low-income and middle-income individuals and households.
  10. For each of the past three years, provide a list of your company’s three lowest-priced prepaid mobile wireless plans (that include data). Provide a separate list for any flanker brands your company operates. For each plan, provide:  (1) price; (2) price per GB; (3) voice, text and data allotments, and (4) number of subscribers to the plan.
  11. For each of the past three years, provide a list of your company’s three lowest-priced postpaid mobile wireless plans (that include data). Provide a separate list for any flanker brands your company operates. For each plan, provide:  (1) price; (2) price per GB; (3) voice, text and data allotments, and (4) number of subscribers to the plan.
  12. For each of the years 2017-2018, provide a forecast of your total subscribers to prepaid mobile wireless service.
  13. Does your company have any plans or programs to assist low income individuals or households in obtaining mobile wireless services? If so, provide the details.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Distribution

Ottawa, le 25 juillet 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0259

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Réexamen de la décision de télécom 2017-56 concernant les modalités définitives applicables aux tarifs du service d’itinérance sans fil mobile de gros

Madame, Monsieur,

Conformément au paragraphe 12 de l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-259, vous trouverez ci-joint les demandes de renseignements de l’instance. Les parties qui figurent dans la liste de distribution doivent déposer auprès du Conseil leurs réponses aux questions ci‑jointes au plus tard le 8 septembre 2017. Les documents doivent être reçus, et non simplement envoyés, au plus tard à la date prescrite.

Tel qu’il est établi à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, des personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Quiconque agit ainsi doit en expliquer en détail les raisons et préciser pourquoi la communication de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment les raisons pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document ne faisant pas mention des renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels, soit exposer les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être fournie.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations les plus distinguées.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Philippe Kent
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Adam Mills, CRTC, adam.mills@crtc.gc.ca
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution

Bell Mobilité inc. - bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink) – regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Freedom Mobile – bjones@freedommobile.ca
Ice Wireless Inc. – regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. – rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications – document.control@sasktel.com
Société TELUS Communications – regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron S.E.N.C. – regaffairs@quebecor.com

Demandes de renseignements

À Bell Mobilité, Eastlink, Freedom Mobile, Ice Wireless, Rogers, SaskTel, TELUS and Vidéotron

  1. Au cours des deux dernières années, avez-vous été approché par un exploitant de réseau mobile virtuel (ERMV) potentiel qui a demandé un accès à votre réseau sans fil? Le cas échéant, veuillez nommer l’entité et indiquer à quel moment chacune de ces discussions s'est déroulée. De plus, pour chaque entité, veuillez indiquer si vous avez accepté ou rejeté les propositions de l’ERMV potentiel et justifier votre décision.
  2. Veuillez fournir une liste des ERMV qui utilisent présentement votre réseau pour fournir des services mobiles sans fil à leurs utilisateurs finaux. Veuillez fournir une copie de toutes les ententes entre votre entreprise et chaque ERMV qui utilise votre réseau.
  3. Au meilleur de vos connaissances, existe-t-il d’autres fournisseurs de services sans filNote de bas de page1 (tels que Sugar Mobile) actuellement en exploitation dans le marché canadien? Le cas échéant, veuillez indiquer où ces fournisseurs offrent leurs services.
  4. En ce qui a trait aux investissements de votre entreprise dans son réseau mobile sans fil, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :
    1. Pour chacune des années 2011 à 2016, une ventilation des dépenses totales en immobilisations affectées à vos réseaux mobiles sans fil, y compris, notamment, le spectre, les sites cellulaires, les installations de liaison terrestre et les centres de communication. Veuillez fournir une répartition par province.
    2. Pour chacune des cinq prochaines années (de 2017 à 2022), une ventilation des dépenses totales prévues en immobilisations pour votre réseau mobile sans fil, y compris, notamment, le spectre, les sites cellulaires, les installations de liaison terrestre et les centres de communication. Veuillez fournir une répartition par province.
  5. Pour chacune des années de 2011 à 2016 (données réelles) et pour chacune des années 2017 et 2018 (prévisions et toutes les hypothèses), présentez le total des recettes et des dépenses d’exploitation des services mobiles sans fil, ventilées par grandes catégories. Veuillez inclure des totaux séparés pour les marques défensivesNote de bas de page2 exploitées par votre entreprise.
  6. Pour chacune des années de 2011 à 2016 (données réelles) et pour chacune des années 2017 et 2018 (prévisions et toutes les hypothèses), présentez le revenu moyen par année (RMPA) de votre entreprise pour les services mobiles sans fil (sauf pour les marques défensives). Ajoutez les RMPA distincts pour chaque marque défensive exploitée par votre entreprise.
  7. Veuillez fournir toutes les études/recherches en votre possession réalisées au cours des deux dernières années et qui sont pertinentes pour la présente instance (p. ex. des études sur les incidences des autres fournisseurs de services sans fil sur les investissements dans le marché des services sans fil, des études sur la compétitivité générale du marché canadien des services mobiles sans fil, etc.).
  8. Veuillez fournir toute analyse ou étude sur les incidences des autres fournisseurs de services sans fil sur la concurrence ou l’établissement des prix aux États-Unis ou dans les autres pays où ils sont présents.
  9. Veuillez fournir un aperçu de la stratégie de votre entreprise pour ce qui touche les forfaits de services mobiles sans fil de détail destinés aux personnes et aux ménages à faible revenu et à revenu moyen.
  10. Pour chacune des trois dernières années, veuillez fournir une liste des trois forfaits mobiles sans fil prépayés les plus bas (qui incluent des données). Veuillez fournir une liste distincte pour les marques défensives exploitées par votre entreprise. Pour chaque forfait, veuillez indiquer 1) le prix, 2) le prix par gigaoctet, 3) les forfaits voix, texte et données et 3) le nombre d’abonnés au forfait.
  11. Pour chacune des trois dernières années, veuillez fournir une liste des trois forfaits mobiles sans fil postpayés les plus bas (qui incluent des données). Veuillez fournir une liste distincte pour les marques défensives exploitées par votre entreprise. Pour chaque forfait, veuillez indiquer 1) le prix, 2) le prix par gigaoctet, 3) les forfaits voix, texte et données et 3) le nombre d’abonnés au forfait.
  12. Pour chacune des années 2017 et 2018, veuillez présenter les prévisions relatives au nombre total d’abonnés à vos services mobiles sans fil prépayés.
  13. Votre entreprise a-t-elle des plans ou des programmes pour aider les personnes ou les ménages à faible revenu à obtenir des services mobiles sans fil? Dans l’affirmative, veuillez préciser.
Date de modification :