Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Jeff Hodson (Zang, Inc.)

Ottawa, 24 July 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Mr. Jeff Hodson
Vice President
Zang, Inc.
350 Mount Kemble Ave.
P.O. Box 1934
Morristown, NJ 07960
lmilton@fasken.com

Re: Zang, Inc. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service and registration as a reseller

Dear Mr. Hodson:

On 4 May 2017, Zang, Inc. filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service.
This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Zang, Inc., including the name of its 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Zang, Inc. meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote2 .  Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that Zang, Inc. has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is on the Commission’s reseller list.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter, or in the case of new companies, on the day the company starts offering service. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS and reseller registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Leslie Milton. Legal Counsel, lmilton@fasken.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC, (819) 639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Jeff Hodson (Zang, Inc.)

Ottawa, le 24 juillet 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Jeff Hodson
Vice-président
Zang, Inc.
350, Mount Kemble Ave
C.P. 1934
Morristown (New Jersey)  07960
lmilton@fasken.com

Objet : Zang, Inc. Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux en ce qui concerne le service d’urgence 9-1-1 et l’inscription à titre de revendeur

Monsieur Hodson,

Le 4 mai 2017, Zang, Inc. a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d'urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux.

La présente vise à vous informer qu'après examen des renseignements fournis par Zang, Inc., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de services 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d'avis que Zang, Inc. respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9-1-1 VoIP. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et dans la décision de télécom 2005-61Note de bas de page2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, Zang, Inc. détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

La compagnie est responsable de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et d’aviser les clients de toute limite du service. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas de nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. La compagnie est également responsable de respecter les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour maintenir sa licence STIB et son inscription à titre de revendeur.

Enfin, la compagnie est responsable de rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Leslie Milton, conseillère juridique, lmilton@fasken.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :