Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to (Bill) Beckman (Saskatchewan Telecommunications)

Ottawa, 13 July 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0092

BY EMAIL

Mr. W.N. (Bill) Beckman
Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
2121 Saskatchewan Drive
Regina, Saskatchewan  S4P 3Y2
Document.control@sasktel.com

Re: Phase out of the local service subsidy regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017 92Footnote1 – Request for information

Dear. Mr. Beckman:

Pursuant to paragraph 31 of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92, attached are requests for information from the Commission.

Responses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 10 August 2017. The responses must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Christine Brock, CRTC, (819) 997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca

attach (1)

Requests for information addressed to Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel)

  1. For each of the years 2014 to 2016, provide the company’s average monthly revenues, per high cost serving area (HCSA) band and sub-band, associated with the provision of broadband Internet access services at a minimum download speed of 1.5 megabits per second (Mbps). Explain the methodology used and show all calculations. Where the broadband Internet service is provided as part of a bundle, impute the unbundled revenue for the broadband service component.
  2. For each of the years 2014 to 2016, provide the company’s average monthly revenues, per HCSA band and sub-band, associated with the provision of broadband Internet access services at a minimum download speed of 5 Mbps. Explain the methodology used and show all calculations. Where the broadband Internet service is provided as part of a bundle, impute the unbundled revenue for the broadband service component.
  3. As of December 31, 2016, provide, per band and sub-band, the number of subsidized network access services (NAS) for which the customer subscribes only to standalone primary exchange service (PES) (i.e. the customer subscribes only to PES and no other telecommunications service).
  4. In its intervention, SaskTel submitted that it is able to identify those customers without access to reliable Internet and that it, or any other incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC), can demonstrate to the Commission that certain subscribers do not have this access.
    1. Provide the company's views on how (e.g. methodology, frequency of reports) the Commission should, for the purpose of removing subsidy, collect information on the subsidized NAS do not have access to  "reliable broadband Internet service" based on the Commission's preliminary view set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92 (NOC 2017-92 preliminary view).
    2. Provide the company’s views on how the Commission should collect information on the subsidized NAS do not have access to “reliable broadband Internet service” if the NOC preliminary view was modified to include fixed wireless technology.
  5. Some parties (e.g. Union des consommateurs, First Mile Connectivity Consortium) suggested that the Commission could require telecommunications companies to demonstrate that they are capable of meeting the 50 Mbps download and 10 Mbps upload level of service before proceeding with the removal of the local voice subsidy.

    Indicate in which subsidized exchanges the company offers broadband Internet access service at speeds of 50 Mbps download and 10 Mbps upload. For each of these exchanges, provide the number of NAS that have access to broadband Internet access service at those speeds.

  6. Parties such as Bell Canada et al.,Footnote2 SaskTel and TELUS Communications Company have suggested that, if the local service subsidy is removed, they should have the flexibility to raise residential rates in HCSAs in order to cover costs for continuing the obligation to serve.
    1. Alternatively, if subsidy is removed and ILECs are not granted pricing flexibility, then should there be specific compensation for the obligation to serve? Explain with supporting rationale.
    2. If yes, how would this compensation be calculated? Would the compensation be for having the obligation in and of itself, or for actual situations requiring the obligation to be met? Explain with supporting rationale.
  7. Provide your views on each of the following separate scenarios for implementation and include a proposed timeline, noting important milestones and key considerations.
    1. Allow the local service subsidy to be phased out “organically” as customers move to other services, and technology and coverage improve.Footnote3
    2. Phase out of the local service subsidy over the first five years of contributions to the broadband funding mechanism.
    3. For NAS still receiving subsidy:
      1. Eliminate subsidy immediately where broadband Internet access service at speeds of at least 50 Mbps download and 10 Mbps upload is currently available;
      2. Establish a phase out plan and cut-off date for the removal of subsidy where it is determined that there is reliable broadband Internet access service; and
      3. Establish a phase out plan and cut-off date for the removal of subsidy where it is determined that broadband Internet access service is either unreliable or non-existent.
  8. In its intervention, Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) stated that “situations have arisen where [incentives for ILECs to apply for local forbearance] are absent.” In their interventions, both Shaw and Rogers Communications Canada Inc. proposed different approaches that the Commission could use to examine, on an ongoing basis, key information on the HCSA exchanges that remain subsidy-eligible to determine which of these exchanges may qualify for forbearance.

    Should the Commission implement a process to collect information and assess whether an exchange qualifies for forbearance? If so, explain how the process or mechanism would be implemented

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à (Bill) Beckman (Saskatchewan Telecommunications)

Ottawa, le 13 juillet 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0092

PAR COURRIEL

M. W.N. (Bill) Beckman
Directeur principal, Affaires réglementaires
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
2121, promenade Saskatchewan
Regina (Saskatchewan)  S4P 3Y2
Document.control@sasktel.com

Objet : Retrait progressif du régime de subvention du service local, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92Note de bas de page1 – Demande de renseignement

Monsieur,

Conformément au paragraphe 31 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92, voici des demandes de renseignements du Conseil.

Les réponses à ces demandes de renseignements doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 10 août 2017. Les réponses doivent avoir été reçues, et non simplement envoyées, à la date indiquée.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués,

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

John Macri
Cadre de politiques
Secteur des télécommunications
c.c. : Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Pièce jointe

Demandes de renseignements adressées à Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel)

  1. Pour chacune des années de 2014 à 2016, indiquer les revenus mensuels moyens de l’entreprise, par tranche et sous-tranche en zone de desserte à coût élevé (ZDCE), associés à la fourniture des services d’accès Internet à large bande à une vitesse de téléchargement minimale de 1,5 mégabit par seconde (Mbps). Expliquer la méthode utilisée et montrer l’ensemble des calculs. Lorsque le service Internet à large bande est fourni dans le cadre d’un forfait, déterminer les revenus non regroupés pour le service à large bande.
  2. Pour chacune des années de 2014 à 2016, indiquer les revenus mensuels moyens de l’entreprise, par tranche et sous-tranche en ZDCE, associés à la fourniture des services d’accès Internet à large bande à une vitesse de téléchargement minimale de 5 Mbps. Expliquer la méthode utilisée et montrer l’ensemble des calculs. Lorsque le service Internet à large bande est fourni dans le cadre d’un forfait, déterminer les revenus non regroupés pour le service à large bande.
  3. Fournir, par tranche et sous-tranche, le nombre de services d’accès au réseau (SAR) subventionnés, au 31 décembre 2016, pour lesquels l’abonné souscrit seulement au service local de base (SLB) autonome (c.-à-d. que le client souscrit seulement au SLB, sans aucun autre service de télécommunication).
  4. Dans son intervention, SaskTel a fait valoir qu’elle peut détecter les clients qui n’ont pas accès à un service Internet fiable et qu’elle, ou toute autre entreprise de services locaux titulaire (ESLT), peut démontrer au Conseil que certains abonnés n’ont pas un accès Internet fiable.
    1. Fournir le point de vue de l’entreprise sur la manière (p. ex., méthode, fréquence des rapports) dont le Conseil devrait, aux fins de supprimer les subventions, recueillir des renseignements sur les SAR subventionnés qui n’ont pas accès à un service Internet à large bande fiable, selon l’avis préliminaire du Conseil énoncé dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-92 (avis préliminaire dans l’AC 2017‑92).
    2. Fournir le point de vue de l’entreprise sur la manière dont le Conseil devrait recueillir des renseignements sur les SAR subventionnés qui n’ont pas accès à un service Internet à large bande fiable, si l’on modifie l’avis préliminaire dans l’AC 2017-92 pour inclure la technologie sans fil fixe.
  5. Certaines parties (p. ex., Union des consommateurs, First Mile Connectivity Consortium) ont suggéré que le Conseil pourrait exiger que les entreprises de services de télécommunication démontrent qu’elles sont en mesure de respecter le niveau de service de 50 Mbps en téléchargement et de 10 Mbps en téléversement avant de supprimer la subvention pour la téléphonie locale.

    Indiquer dans quelles circonscriptions subventionnées l’entreprise offre des services Internet à large bande à 50 Mbps en téléchargement et à 10 Mbps en téléversement. Pour chacune de ces circonscriptions, indiquer le nombre de SAR qui ont accès au service d’accès Internet à large bande à ces vitesses.

  6. Des parties comme Bell Canada et autresNote de bas de page2, SaskTel et la Société TELUS Communications ont suggéré que si l’on supprime la subvention du service local, elles devraient avoir la possibilité de hausser les tarifs de services résidentiels dans les ZDCE afin de recouvrer les coûts associés à l’obligation de servir.
    1. Autrement, si l’on supprime la subvention et que les ESLT n’obtiennent pas une souplesse en matière de tarification, pourrait-il y avoir une compensation particulière pour l’obligation de servir? Expliquer, avec justification à l’appui.
    2. Le cas échéant, comment calculerait-on cette compensation? La compensation viserait-elle l’obligation elle-même, ou des situations réelles dans lesquelles l’obligation doit être satisfaite? Expliquer, avec justification à l’appui.
  7. Fournir vos opinions sur chacun des scénarios suivants de mise en œuvre, y compris un calendrier proposé, en indiquant les jalons importants et les principaux facteurs.
    1. Permettre le retrait progressif, de manière organique, de la subvention du service local au fur et à mesure que les clients se déplacent vers d’autres services et que la technologie et la couverture s’améliorentNote de bas de page3.
    2. Retirer progressivement la subvention du service local au cours des cinq premières années de contribution au mécanisme de financement des services à large bande.
    3. Pour les SAR qui reçoivent encore la subvention :
      1. Éliminer immédiatement la subvention lorsque des services Internet à large bande à 50 Mbps en téléchargement et à 10 Mbps en téléversement sont disponibles;
      2. Établir un plan de retrait progressif et une date limite pour la suppression de la subvention lorsqu’il est établi qu’il existe un service d’accès Internet à large bande fiable;
      3. Établir un plan de retrait progressif et une date limite pour la suppression de la subvention lorsqu’il est établi qu’il n’existe pas de service d’accès Internet à large bande ou qu’il n’est pas fiable.
  8. Dans son intervention, Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) a indiqué que « des situations sont survenues où [des mesures incitatives pour que les ESLT demandent une abstention locale] sont absentes ». Dans leurs interventions, tant Shaw que Rogers Communications Canada Inc. ont proposé différentes approches qui pourraient être utilisées par le Conseil pour examiner, de façon continue, les renseignements clés sur les circonscriptions de type ZDCE qui demeurent admissibles aux subventions, pour déterminer lesquelles de ces circonscriptions pourraient être admissibles à une abstention.

    Le Conseil devrait-il mettre en place un processus pour recueillir des renseignements et évaluer si une circonscription est admissible à une abstention? Dans l’affirmative, expliquez comment ce processus ou mécanisme serait mis en place.

Date de modification :