Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 5 July 2017

Our references: 8690-C126-201612250 - 8662-T66-201705534

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: City of Calgary’s Part 1 Application dated 28 November 2016 and the Carriers’ Part 1 Application to Review and Vary dated 30 June 2017

Dear Madam, Sir:

In a letter dated 30 May 2017, the Commission denied a request by Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., TELUS Communications Company and Zayo Canada (collectively, the Carriers) to suspend consideration of the City of Calgary’s (Calgary) Part 1 Application dated 28 November 2016. In the 30 May 2017 letter, the Commission also re-established the process for Calgary’s Application, which had been suspended pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ request.

By Commission staff letter dated 9 June 2017, the schedule and process set out in the Commission’s letter dated 30 May 2017 were modified, such that the Carriers could file an answer and interested parties could file an intervention on Calgary’s Application by 30 June 2017, while Calgary had until 25 July 2017 to file reply comments.

On 29 June 2017, the Carriers (excluding Zayo Canada) filed an application to review and vary the Commission letter decision dated 30 May 2017.

In the circumstances, the process associated with Calgary’s Part 1 Application is suspended pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ review and vary application. With respect to the Carriers’ review and vary application, the timelines of 30 days for answers and interventions followed by 10 days for reply comments apply as set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c. c.: Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List
Doug Evanchuk, devanchuk@mross.com;
Kelly Hess, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com;
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca;

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 5 juillet 2017

Notre référence : 8690-C126-201612250 - 8662-T66-201705534

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

OBJET : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la ville de Calgary le 28 novembre 2016 et demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par les entreprises le 30 juin 2017 visant la révision et la modification

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 30 mai 2017, le Conseil a rejeté une demande de Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., la Société TELUS Communications et Zayo Canada (collectivement, les entreprises) visant à suspendre l’examen de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la ville de Calgary (Calgary) le 28 novembre 2016. Dans la lettre datée du 30 mai 2017, le Conseil a rétabli le processus relatif à la demande de Calgary, lequel avait été suspendu en attendant la décision du Conseil sur la requête des entreprises.

Dans une lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 9 juin 2017, l’échéancier et le processus établis dans la lettre du Conseil datée du 30 mai 2017 ont été modifiés, de sorte que les entreprises pouvaient déposer une réponse et les parties intéressées pouvaient déposer une intervention sur la demande de Calgary au plus tard le 30 juin 2017, tandis que Calgary a jusqu’au 25 juillet 2017 pour déposer des observations en réplique.

Le 29 juin 2017, les entreprises (sauf Zayo Canada) ont déposé une demande pour faire réviser et modifier la lettre-décision du Conseil datée du 30 mai 2017.

Par conséquent, le processus associé à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Calgary est suspendu en attendant la décision du Conseil sur la demande de révision et de modification présentée par les entreprises, l’échéancier de 30 jours pour les réponses et les interventions, suivi de 10 jours pour les observations en réplique, s’applique conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,
Original signé par
Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution
Doug Evanchuk, devanchuk@mross.com;
Kelly Hess, kelly.hess@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com;
Fédération canadienne des municipalités, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca;

Date de modification :