Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Xander Robar and Jessica Holdcroft (OnSwitch Inc.)

Ottawa, 29 June 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Xander Robar
Jessica Holdcroft
Directors
OnSwitch Inc.
PO Box 25058
Keswick, ON L4P 4C2
xander@onswitchit.ca
info@onswitchit.ca

RE: Second Request for information - Alleged violations of the obligations of local VoIP service providers

Dear Mr. Robar and Ms. Holdcroft:

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (the Commission) regulates, among other things, the provision of 9-1-1 service by local Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service providers pursuant to the Telecommunications Act (the Act).

The attached letter was sent on 13 April 2017 to OnSwitch Inc. (OnSwitch) regarding alleged violations of the obligations of local VoIP service providers. The letter included a request to provide a response to the Commission by 4 May 2017, showing that the company meets the three obligations that VoIP service providers in Canada must meet in relation to the provision of 9-1-1 emergency services. To date a response has not been provided to the Commission’s request for information.

Commission staff is in receipt of the 10 April 2017 Telecommunications Provider Registration Application filed with the CRTC by OnSwitch.  We note that the company’s registration with the Commission cannot be completed until a signed version of the company’s registration letter has been received.

We also note that in your 10 April 2017 registration application, under section 4.1.1 you provided a limited amount of information regarding your 9-1-1 services. As set out in the 13 April 2017 letter, if OnSwitch is providing VoIP service, you must provide information to the Commission demonstrating that your company is in compliance with these obligations. The details of the obligations and what is required to be submitted to the Commission are on the following link: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm. A checklist that summarizes the required obligations listed in the above link is set out in the Attachment to this letter. Information already submitted by OnSwitch is noted in the Attachment.

The application of 9-1-1 and other regulatory obligations directly to non-carriers (resellers) offering and providing telecommunications services is outlined in Telecom Regulatory Policy (TRP) CRTC 2016-12,Application of the 9-1-1 regulatory obligations directly to non-carriers offering and providing telecommunications services and Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2017-11, Application of regulatory obligations directly to non-carriers offering and providing telecommunications services. In TRP CRTC 2016-12,the Commission directed resellers, as a condition of offering and providing voice telecommunications services, to abide by all applicable existing and future obligations with respect to 9-1-1 service.In TRP CRTC 2017-11, the Commission directed resellers, as a condition of offering and providing any telecommunications services, to abide by all applicable existing consumer safeguard obligations, including the obligation to register with the Commission.

The 9-1-1 service obligations for local VoIP service providers in Canada are set out Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-21, Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers and Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-61, Follow-up to Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers, Decision 2005-21- Customer notification requirements.

Accordingly, there are three obligations which local VoIP service providers in Canada must meet

  1. Provide 9-1-1 service to the company’s customers.
  2. Provide information to customers explaining the limitations of and/or differences between VoIP 9-1-1 and traditional 9-1-1, and obtain from customers express consent to such limitations.
  3. a) Register with the Commission as a reseller (or as a Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC) if the company owns or operates facilities in Canada), and
    b) Obtain a BITS licence (Basic International Telecommunications Services licence) from the Commission.

You are required to provide a detailed response to the Commission by 13 July 2017, showing that your company meets the three obligations listed above with specific reference to the requirements listed in the attached Annex. The letter should be addressed to the Commission’s Secretary General with the subject and file numbers indicated at the top of this letter, to ensure proper routing of your document. If you have already provided the required information to the Commission, please provide the date and original company name for which the registration was submitted.

This letter and all subsequent correspondence may be placed on the public record.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Information to be submitted to the Commission by local VoIP service providers in Canada

See the following links for more details.
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2005/dt2005-21.htm   
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2005/dt2005-61.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/comm/telecom/resp.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/phone/911/voip.htm

Legal name – OnSwitch Inc. - Already provided

Business name – OnSwitch Inc. - Already provided

Business registration number

Jurisdiction in which the company is registered

Number of existing customer lines served –

access-dependent (fixed)

access-independent (nomadic)

Name of 9-1-1 answering bureau Bulk Solutions, LLC - Already provided

Direct contact at 9-1-1 answering bureau - - include proof of contract or executive attestation

Company name(s)

Contact name(s)

Telephone number(s)

Address(es) 

Email address(es)

Intermediate contact company ies) If no direct contact with 9-1-1 answering and routing company - include proof of contract or executive attestation

Company name(s)

Contact name(s)

Telephone number(s)

Address(es)

Email address(es)

Provider of telephone numbers

Contact name(s)

Telephone number(s)

Address(es)

Email address(es)

Ensures customers understand the service limitations for VoIP 9-1-1 service and obtains customer consent prior to beginning VoIP service that they understand and agree to the 9-1-1 service limitations.

Specify method by which consent to 9-1-1 service limitations is obtained from the customer.

Online updating of customer’s physical address for 9-1-1 purpose available Yes/No – If no, how do clients update their address.

Owns and operates its own transmission facilities in Canada Yes/No – No - Already provided

Registered with the Commission as a – Registered Reseller/Registered CLEC.

Obtained a Basic International Telecommunications Services (BITS) licence - Yes/No/Pending

Up to date with all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registration - Yes/No

Mandatory 9-1-1 emergency service customer notification texts - Stickers for telephone sets – Sample required

Company’s limitations of liability with respect to VoIP 9-1-1 service

Wording on company’s website, showing customer notification texts and limitations of liability with respect to VoIP 9-1-1 service

Confirm that VoIP 9-1-1 obligations are met in full - (see https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/phone/911/voip.htm) – Yes/No

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à Xander Robar et Jessica Holdcroft (OnSwitch Inc.)

Ottawa, le 29 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Xander Robar
Jessica Holdcroft
Directeurs
OnSwitch Inc.  
C.P. 25058
Keswick (Ontario) L4P 4C2
xander@onswitchit.ca info@onswitchit.ca

OBJET : Deuxième demande d’information – Violations alléguées des obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux

Madame Holdcroft, Monsieur Robar,

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (le Conseil) régit, entre autres, la fourniture du service 9-1-1 par des fournisseurs de services téléphoniques par protocole Internet (VoIP) locaux aux termes de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi).

Le 13 avril 2017, le Conseil a envoyé à OnSwitch Inc (OnSwitch) la lettre en pièce jointe, qui concerne des violations alléguées des obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux. Dans la lettre, le Conseil demandait qu’OnSwitch lui fournisse, au plus tard le 4 mai 2017, une réponse prouvant qu’elle satisfait aux trois obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP au Canada en ce qui concerne la fourniture de services d’urgence 9-1-1.

Le personnel du Conseil a reçu la demande d’inscription de fournisseur de services de télécommunications datée du 10 avril 2017 présentée par OnSwitch. Le personnel souligne que l’inscription de l’entreprise auprès du Conseil ne peut être effectuée avant que celui-ci ne reçoive une version signée de la lettre d’inscription.

Il souligne aussi qu’à la section 4.1.1 de la demande d’inscription du 10 avril 2017, OnSwitch a fourni des renseignements limités au sujet de ses services 9-1-1. Tel que le Conseil l’a précisé dans la lettre du 13 avril 2017, si OnSwitch offre des services VoIP, elle doit fournir au Conseil des renseignements qui prouvent qu’elle se conforme aux obligations concernant les services 9-1-1. Les détails des obligations et les renseignements à fournir au Conseil sont précisés à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm. Une liste de vérification qui résume les obligations définies à cette adresse figure dans la pièce jointe à la présente lettre. Les renseignements déjà fournis par OnSwitch sont déjà inscrits dans le document.

L’application des obligations réglementaires relatives aux services 9-1-1 directement aux entreprises autres que les entreprises de télécommunication (revendeurs) qui offrent et fournissent des services de télécommunication est décrite dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2016-12, Application des obligations réglementaires relatives aux services 9-1-1 directement aux entreprises autres que les entreprises de télécommunication qui offrent et fournissent des services de télécommunication et dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2017-11, Application des obligations réglementaires directement aux entreprises autres que les entreprises de télécommunication qui offrent et qui fournissent des services de télécommunication. Dans la PRT CRTC 2016-12,le Conseil ordonne aux revendeurs, comme condition pour offrir et fournir tout service de télécommunication, de respecter toutes les obligations actuelles et futures s’appliquant à eux concernant les services 9-1-1.Dans la PRT CRTC 2017-11, leConseil ordonne aux revendeurs, comme condition pour offrir et fournir tout service de télécommunication, de se conformer à toutes les obligations existantes applicables relatives aux garanties offertes aux consommateurs, y compris l’obligation de s’inscrire auprès du Conseil.

Les obligations concernant les services 9-1-1 concernant les fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada sont définies dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-21, Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l'égard des services d'urgence et la Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-61, Suivi de la décision Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l'égard des services d'urgence, Décision 2005-21 - Exigences relatives à un avis aux clients.

Voici donc les trois obligations que les fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada doivent respecter :

  1. Fournir le service 9-1-1 aux clients de l’entreprise.
  2. Fournir des renseignements aux clients pour expliquer les limites et/ou les différences entre le service d’urgence VoIP 9-1-1 et le service 9-1-1 traditionnel, et obtenir le consentement exprès des clients à ces limites.
  3. a) S’inscrire auprès du Conseil en tant que revendeur (ou comme une entreprise de services locaux concurrente [ESLC] si l’entreprise possède ou exploite des installations au Canada);
    b) Obtenir une licence STIB (services de télécommunication internationale de base) auprès du Conseil.

Vous devez fournir au Conseil, au plus tard le 13 juillet 2017, une réponse détaillée prouvant que votre entreprise satisfait aux trois obligations ci-dessus en renvoyant précisément aux exigences décrites dans le document en pièce jointe. La lettre doit être adressée à l’attention de la secrétaire générale avec l’objet et les numéros de dossier indiqués au haut de la présente lettre, afin d’assurer l’acheminement approprié de votre document. Si vous avez déjà transmis les renseignements demandés au Conseil, veuillez indiquer la date et le nom original de l’entreprise pour laquelle l’inscription a été présentée.

La présente lettre et toute correspondance subséquente pourront être versées au dossier public.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur  l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe. (1)

Renseignements que doivent fournir au Conseil les fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada

Consulter les pages suivantes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements 

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2005/dt2005-21.htm   
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2005/dt2005-61.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/comm/telecom/resp.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/voip.htm

Dénomination sociale – OnSwitch Inc. – Déjà fourni

Nom de l’entreprise – OnSwitch Inc. – Déjà founi

Numéro d’entreprise

Administration auprès de laquelle l’entité est inscrite

Nombre de lignes téléphoniques desservies –

Services dépendant de l’accès (fixes)

Services indépendants de l’accès (nomades)

Nom du bureau qu’emploie l’entreprise pour répondre aux appels 9-1-1 – Bulk Solutions, LLC – Déjà fourni

Personne-ressource au bureau employé pour répondre aux appels 9-1-1 - - Inclure une preuve de contrat ou une attestation du dirigeant principal

Nom de l’entreprise

Nom de la personne-ressource

Numéro de téléphone

Adresse

Adresse de courriel

Société ressource intermédiaire (s’il n’y a aucune communication directe avec l’entreprise qui reçoit et achemine les appels 9-1-1, inclure une preuve de contrat ou une attestation du dirigeant principal)

Nom de l’entreprise

Nom de la personne-ressource

Numéro de téléphone

Adresse

Adresse de courriel

Fournisseur des numéros de téléphone

Nom de la personne-ressource

Numéro de téléphone

Adresse

Adresse de courriel

Veille à ce que les clients comprennent les limites du service VoIP en ce qui concerne l’accès aux services 9-1-1 et obtient des clients une attestation selon laquelle ils comprennent ces limites et les acceptent avant de les abonner au service VoIP.

Précise la méthode grâce à laquelle on obtient l’acceptation des limites relatives aux services 9-1-1 auprès du client.

Possibilité pour les clients de mettre à jour en ligne leur adresse aux fins des services 9-1-1. Oui/Non – Si cette possibilité n’est pas offerte, comment les clients mettent-ils à jour leur adresse.

Détient et exploite ses propres installations de transmission au Canada. - Oui/Non
Non – Déjà fourni

Est inscrite auprès du Conseil à titre d’ESLC et de revendeur.

A obtenu une licence d’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB). - Oui/Non/En attente

Veille à respecter continuellement toutes les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence d’exploitation de STIB et son inscription. – Oui/Non

Avis obligatoires aux clients concernant le service d’urgence – Autocollants pour les combinés – Un exemple doit être fourni.
Description des limites de l’entreprise quant à la responsabilité à l'égard des services 9-1-1 VoIP.
Présentation sur le site Web de l’entreprise des avis aux clients concernant les services d’urgence 9-1-1 et des limites de l’entreprise quant à la responsabilité relative aux services.
Confirmation du fait que toutes les obligations relatives aux services 9-1-1 VoIP sont respectées - (https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/voip.htm) – Oui/Non

Date de modification :