Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Ivana Kriznic (Verizon Canada Ltd. )

Ottawa, 29 June 2017

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Ms. Ivana Kriznic
Response Manager
Verizon Canada Ltd.
Suite 2400
1 Adelaide Street East
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2V9
ivana.kriznic@verizon.com

RE: Verizon Canada Ltd. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Ms. Kriznic:

On 17 May 2017, Verizon Canada Ltd. filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service. This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Verizon Canada Ltd. including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Verizon Canada Ltd. new VoIP service would meet obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote2 . Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that Verizon Canada Ltd. has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is on the Commission’s list of Resellers.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter or by the date the company begins offering service to consumers. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à Ivana Kriznic (Verizon Canada Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 29 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Ivana Kriznic
Coordonnatrice des réponses
Verizon Canada Ltd.
Pièce 2400
1, rue Adelaide est
Toronto (Ontario)  M5C 2V9
ivana.kriznic@verizon.com

OBJET : Verizon Canada Ltd. Obligations des fournisseurs de service VoIP à l’égard des services d’urgence 9-1-1

Madame Kriznic,

Le 17 mai 2017, Verizon Canada Ltd. a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d'urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux. La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par Verizon Canada Ltd., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de services 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que Verizon Canada Ltd. respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9-1-1 VoIP. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et dans la décision de télécom 2005-61Note de bas de page2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, Verizon Canada Ltd. détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

La compagnie est responsable de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et d’envoyer un avis aux clients les informant de toute limite du service. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas de nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. La compagnie est également responsable de respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires actuelles en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence STIB et son inscription.

Enfin, la compagnie est responsable de rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :