Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Robert Olenick (Tbaytel)

Ottawa, 23 June 2017

Our reference: 8740-T8-201704437

BY EMAIL

Mr. Robert Olenick
Regulatory Analyst
Tbaytel
1046 Lithium Drive
Thunder Bay, Ontario  P7B 6G3
rob.olenick@tbaytel.com

RE: Tariff Notice 173 – CLEC General Tariff

Dear Sir:

On 23 May 2017, the Commission received an application by Tbaytel, under Tariff Notice 173, in which the company proposed to introduce its General Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC) Tariff.
Commission staff is continuing its analysis of this application.

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Tbaytel is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached question by 30 June 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Valerie Plaskacz for

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Request for information

In its application, Tbaytel indicated that it intends to provide service initially in the Province of Ontario in the Fort Frances exchange, which is part of Bell Canada’s ILEC territory.

As set out in the May 2010 Competitive Local Exchange Carrier Model Tariff User’s Guide (https://crtc.gc.ca/cisc/eng/cisf3g5.htm), CLECs are required to obtain the Commission’s approval for tariffs setting out rates, terms and conditions for the following services:

In addition, in Telecom Order 99-1127, at paragraph 36 the Commission clarified that … "Decision 97-8 requires a CLEC to either file rates for services that are capped at the ILEC's rates in each territory where it operates, or else to adequately justify any (higher) proposed rates."

Tbaytel has proposed to include Tbaytel’s ILEC rates from its own serving territory in its General CLEC tariff rather than Bell Canada’s rates. In addition, at least some of the rates proposed by Tbaytel are higher than the current rates set out in Bell Canada’s Access Services Tariff CRTC 7516. For example, under Part B, Item 201 – Compensation for Traffic Termination, the rates proposed by Tbaytel are higher than those set out in Bell Canada’s Access Services Tariff CRTC 7516, item 105(4)(d)(1).

  1. Given the Commission’s determinations in Decision 97-8 and Telecom Order 99-1127 described above, provide adequate justification for why Tbaytel’s proposed rates in the Fort Frances exchange are more appropriate than Bell Canada’s rates, in cases where Tbaytel’s rates for the same services are higher than Bell Canada’s.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à Robert Olenick (Tbaytel)

Ottawa, le 23 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8740-T8-201704437

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Robert Olenick
Analyste de la réglementation
Tbaytel
1046, promenade Lithium
Thunder Bay (Ontario)  P7B 6G3
rob.olenick@tbaytel.com

OBJET : Avis de modification tarifaire 173 – Tarif général des ESLC

Monsieur,

Le 23 mai 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Tbaytel, dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire 173, dans laquelle la compagnie propose d’introduire son tarif général à titre d’entreprise de services locaux concurrente (ESLC).

Le personnel du Conseil poursuit l’analyse de cette demande.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Tbaytel a jusqu’au 30 juin 2017 pour fournir des réponses complètes, avec justification à l’appui et avec documents à l’appui, le cas échéant, à la question ci-jointe.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par Valerie Plaskacz pour

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. : Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

P.j. (1)

Demande de renseignements

Dans sa demande, Tbaytel indique son intention de fournir le service initialement en Ontario dans la circonscription de Fort Frances, qui fait partie du territoire d’ESLT de Bell Canada.

Comme il est énoncé dans le Guide de l’utilisateur du modèle tarifaire des ESLC (https://crtc.gc.ca/cisc/fra/cisf3g5.htm), les ESLC sont tenues d’obtenir l’approbation du Conseil pour les tarifs qui fixent des taux et des modalités pour les services suivants :

De plus, au paragraphe 36 de l’ordonnance de télécom 99-1127, le Conseil a précisé que « la décision 97-8 prescrit qu’une ESLC doit déposer des tarifs de services plafonnés aux tarifs des ESLT dans chacun de ses territoires d’exploitation ou justifier convenablement tous projets de tarifs (plus élevés). »

Tbaytel propose d’inclure dans son tarif général des ESLC les tarifs d’ESLT de son propre territoire de desserte plutôt que les tarifs de Bell Canada. De plus, certains tarifs proposés par Tbaytel sont supérieurs aux tarifs actuels établis dans le Tarif des services d’accès CRTC 7516 de Bell Canada. Par exemple, dans l’article 201 de la partie B – compensation relative au raccordement du trafic, les tarifs proposés par Tbaytel sont supérieurs à ceux définis à l’article 105(4)d)(1) du Tarif des services d’accès CRTC 7516 de Bell Canada.

  1. Compte tenu des conclusions du Conseil dans la décision 97-8 et l’ordonnance de télécom 99-1127 susmentionnées, justifier convenablement pourquoi les tarifs proposés par Tbaytel dans la circonscription de Fort Frances sont plus appropriés que les tarifs de Bell Canada, lorsque les tarifs de Tbaytel sont supérieurs à ceux de Bell Canada pour le même service.
Date de modification :