Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 19 June 2017

Our reference: 8740-B2-201700055, 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071, 8740-V3-201700063

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

RE: Follow-up to Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over fibre-to-the premises access facilities (CRTC Files 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071 and 8740-V3-201700063) – CNOC request for disclosure and additional information

Dear Madams/Sirs:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and requests for additional information made in the tariff proceeding for disaggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services initiated by Telecom Decision 2016-379.

On 25 January 2017, the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), filed requests for disclosure of information for which confidentiality had been claimed and requests for additional information regarding the tariff applications and cost studies filed by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc. on behalf of Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), and Québecor Média inc. on behalf of its affiliate Videotron (Videotron).

On 6 February 2017, Bell Canada, Cogeco, Rogers, Videotron and Openmedia responded to the above requests. On 10 February 2017, Cogeco filed supplemental information.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including whether information could be reasonably aggregated and the competitive sensitivity of the information itself. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff has reviewed the requests filed by CNOC, as well as reply comments and considers that disclosure of certain information, as specified in the Attachment to this letter, is appropriate and in the public interest. Cogeco, Rogers and Videotron have not established the likelihood of specific and direct harm that would outweigh the public interest in the disclosure of the designated information.

In its requests for additional information CNOC requested that Cogeco, Rogers and Videotron be required to provide separate cost studies in support of any proposed deviations from past Commission determinations in accordance with the Commission staff letter dated 16 December 2016Footnote1 .

Commission staff considers that the process set out in the 16 December 2016 Commission staff letter regarding the filing of cost studies for the aggregated wholesale HSA services does not apply to the filing of cost studies for the disaggregated wholesale HSA services. Accordingly, Cogeco, Rogers and Videotron were not required to file the cost studies requested by CNOC.

Having regard to all the considerations set out above, unless otherwise expressly indicated, parties are to file with the Commission all information to be provided pursuant to this letter as set out in the Attachment to this letter by 23 June 2017.

Commission staff continues to examine the disaggregated wholesale HSA tariff applications. Parties will be advised as to the next steps in the evaluation process by way of a separate procedural letter, which will set out further process for the proceeding.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Tom Vilmansen, CRTC, 819-997-9253, tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Distribution List

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ;

Disclosure of information designated as confidential

Cogeco TN 56 Appendix 1 – Abridged Tables 11-12-13b-14

Cogeco is to disclose the upstream and downstream capacities per channel (update Table 14 – TPIA)

Rogers TN 48 Abridged Tariff Tables – FTTH and TN 48 Abridged Tariff Tables – FTTN

Rogers is to disclose:
- Capacity of DGW router ports (update Table 6b-A1 Router Ports)
- Capacity of CCAP equipment (update Table 6b-A1 CCAP)
- Upstream and downstream capacities per channel (update Table 14 TPIA (C D E).

Videotron AMT 53 Tableau 6b- Frais mensuel capacité-Équip exterieur-ABRÉGÉ

Videotron is to file updated abridged and confidential versions of the table to reflect the inclusion of the capacity driver it identified in its reply of 6 February 2017.

Videotron AMT 53 Tableau 14-ABRÉGÉ

Videotron is to disclose the upstream capacity per channel (update Tableau 14).

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 19 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8740-B2-201700055, 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071, 8740-V3-201700063

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Suivi de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-379 – Mise en œuvre d’un service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné (dossiers du CRTC 8638-C12-201509663, 8740-B2-201700055, 8740-C6-201700097, 8740-R28-201700071 et 8740-V3-201700063) – Demande présentée par le CORC en vue d’obtenir la divulgation de renseignements supplémentaires

Mesdames, Messieurs,

La présente concerne des demandes de renseignements désignés confidentiels et des demandes de renseignements supplémentaires présentés dans le cadre de l’instance associée au tarif des services d’accès haute vitesse de haut dégroupé et lancée par la Décision de télécom 2016-379.

Le 25 janvier 2017, le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) a présenté des demandes réclamant la divulgation de renseignements ayant fait l’objet d’une demande de traitement confidentiel et des demandes de renseignements supplémentaires concernant les demandes tarifaires et les études de coûts déposées par Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc. au nom de sa filiale Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et Québecor Média inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron (Vidéotron).

Le 6 février 2017, Bell Canada, Cogeco, Rogers, Vidéotron et Openmedia ont répondu aux demandes susmentionnées. Le 10 février 2017, Cogeco a déposé des renseignements supplémentaires.

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles subséquents des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’une demande est évaluée, le Conseil examine si les renseignements demandés correspondent à une catégorie qui pourrait être désignée comme confidentielle en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment la possibilité de regrouper les renseignements de manière raisonnable et le caractère délicat du renseignement même sur le plan de la concurrence. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les demandes déposées par le CORC ainsi que les observations présentées en réplique, et il considère que la divulgation de certains renseignements, comme l’indique le document en pièce jointe, est appropriée et correspond à l’intérêt public. Cogeco, Rogers et Vidéotron n’ont pas établi qu’il pourrait en résulter un préjudice direct particulier qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt du public dans la divulgation des renseignements désignés.

Dans ses demandes de renseignements additionnels, le CORC a demandé que Cogeco, Rogers et Vidéotron soient tenues de fournir des études de coûts distinctes à l’appui de toute dérogation proposée aux conclusions formulées par le Conseil dans la lettre du personnel datée du 16 décembre 2016Note de bas de page1.

Le personnel du Conseil estime que le processus établi dans sa lettre du 16 décembre 2016 relativement au dépôt des études de coûts des services d’accès à haute vitesse groupés ne s’applique pas au dépôt des études de coûts des services d’accès à haute vitesse de gros dégroupés. Par conséquent, Cogeco, Rogers et Vidéotron ne sont pas tenus de déposer les études de coûts demandées par le CORC.

Compte tenu de tous les facteurs susmentionnés, et à moins d’indication contraire, les parties doivent déposer auprès du Conseil tous les renseignements exigés en vertu de la présente lettre, tel qu’énoncé dans la pièce jointe, d’ici le 23 juin 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil poursuit son examen des demandes tarifaires relatives aux services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés. Les parties seront avisées des prochaines étapes dans une lettre de procédure distincte, qui établira le processus pour la suite de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. .c. Tom Vilmansen, CRTC, 819-997-9253, tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

Liste de diffusion

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ;

Divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Cogeco AMT 56 Annexe 1 – Tableaux 11-12-13b-14 - ABRÉGÉ

Cogeco devra divulguer la capacité ascendante et descendante par canal (mise à jour du tableau 14 – AIT)

Rogers AMT 48 Tableaux des tarifs FTTH – ABRÉGÉ et AMT 48 Tableaux des tarifs FTTN – ABRÉGÉ

Rogers devra divulguer ce qui suit :
- Capacité des ports des routeurs DGW (mise à jour du Tableau 6b-A1 Ports des routeurs)
- Capacité de l’équipement CCAP (mise à jour du Tableau 6b-A1 CCAP)
- Capacité ascendante et descendante par canal (mise à jour du Tableau 14 AIT (C D E).

Vidéotron AMT 53 Tableau 6b- Frais mensuel capacité-Équip exterieur-ABRÉGÉ

Vidéotron devra présenter une version mise à jour, abrégée et confidentielle du tableau afin de refléter l’inclusion du facteur de capacité indiqué dans sa réplique du 6 février 2017.

Vidéotron AMT 53 Tableau 14-ABRÉGÉ

Vidéotron devra divulguer sa capacité ascendante par canal (mise à jour du Tableau 14).

Date de modification :