Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 9 June 2017

Our reference: 8663-C182-201702598

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE: Application by Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) for transitional aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services over incumbent fibre-to-the-premises facilities ‒ Reply to request for extension to extend deadline

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 6 June 2017, the Commission received a procedural request from TELUS Communications Company (TCC), in which it requested an extension to the deadline for interested parties to file comments in response to the new evidence contained in appendices B and C of CNOC’s reply comments.Footnote1

TCC submitted that it anticipated requiring an extension to the 13 June 2017 deadline specified in the Commission letter,Footnote2 which provided 14 days for interested parties to respond, rather than the 30 days normally allotted to replies to an application. TCC also submitted that CNOC should not be granted an opportunity to reply to the comments submitted in response to the new evidence, on the grounds that it raises issues of procedural fairness.

Bell Canada (Bell) submitted a letter supporting, in part, TCC’s request on 7 June 2017, noting that had CNOC filed the evidence as part of its original application, parties would be entitled to 30 days to respond.

CNOC submitted that the determinations contained in the above-referenced Commission staff letter established a fair and reasonable timeline and procedure. It further argued that the relief requested in its application is urgently needed on an expedited basis and that TCC would suffer no procedural unfairness if its request was denied, given that the scope of the comments is limited to the new evidence.

CNOC also submitted that providing it with the ability to respond duplicates the traditional Part 1 application process and that it would be procedurally unfair if CNOC did not have the right of reply.

In Commission staff’s view, given that interested parties normally have 30 days to respond to evidence presented in Part 1 applications, it would be consistent to allocate the same period for reply comments to the new evidence CNOC submitted. Furthermore, the specificity and relevance of the new evidence submitted justifies an extension to the reply period of interested parties, which may contribute to a more fulsome record on which the Commission renders its decision. Likewise, with respect to TCC’s request to deny CNOC an opportunity to reply to these comments, Commission staff considers that CNOC’s additional reply may contribute to a more fulsome record.

In light of the above, parties may file comments by 29 June 2017 (instead of 13 June 2017), serving a copy on CNOC. CNOC may file a reply to these interventions by 6 July 2017 (instead of 20 June 2017).

Sincerely,

Original signed by Laurie Ventura for

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list for Telecom Decision 2016-379:  nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; derek.leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.caMonique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 9 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C182-201702598

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Demande présentée par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC) concernant les services transitoires d’accès haute vitesse groupé de gros au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulaires – Réponse à la demande de prorogation de la date limite.

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 6 juin 2017, le Conseil a reçu une requête procédurale de la Société TELUS Communications (STC) demandant la prorogation de la date limite jusqu’à laquelle les parties intéressées peuvent présenter des observations en réponse aux nouveaux éléments de preuve versés aux annexes B et C des observations de réplique du CORCNote de bas de page1.

La STC a déclaré qu’elle prévoyait demander une prorogation de la date limite du 13 juin 2017 précisée dans la lettre du ConseilNote de bas de page2 qui octroyait un délai de quatorze jours aux parties intéressées pour répondre, contrairement au délai de trente jours normalement accordé pour déposer une réplique à une demande. La STC a aussi déclaré que le CORC ne devrait pas avoir la possibilité de répliquer aux commentaires présentés en réponse aux nouveaux éléments de preuve, pour le motif que cela mettrait en cause des questions d’équité procédurale.

Bell Canada (Bell) a déposé le 7 juin 2017, une lettre appuyant en partie la demande de la STC et indiquant que si le CORC avait déposé les éléments de preuve avec sa demande initiale, les parties auraient disposé de trente jours pour répondre.

Le CORC a fait valoir que les décisions contenues dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil susmentionnée prévoyaient une procédure et un échéancier équitables et raisonnables. Il a ajouté que la mesure demandée est requise urgemment, qu’elle doit subir un traitement accéléré et que la STC ne subirait pas d’iniquité procédurale si sa demande était refusée puisque la portée des commentaires est limitée aux nouveaux éléments de preuve.

Le CORC a aussi indiqué que le fait de lui accorder la possibilité de répondre est une reprise du processus habituel de demande en vertu de la partie 1 et qu’il serait inéquitable, sur le plan procédural, si le CORC n’avait pas le droit de répliquer.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu’étant donné le fait que les parties intéressées ont normalement trente jours pour répondre aux éléments de preuve présentés dans une demande en vertu de la partie 1, il serait conforme d’accorder la même période pour déposer des observations en réplique aux nouveaux éléments de preuve déposés par le CORC. Outre cela, la spécificité et la pertinence des nouveaux éléments de preuve justifient la prorogation de la période de réplique des parties intéressées, et pourraient compléter le dossier sur lequel le Conseil devra se fonder pour rendre sa décision. Ainsi, en ce qui concerne la demande de la STC de refuser la possibilité au CORC de répliquer à ces observations, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que les répliques supplémentaires du CORC étofferaient le dossier.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, les parties peuvent déposer leurs observations jusqu’au 29 juin 2017 (au lieu du 13 juin 2017), et en signifier une copie au CORC. Le CORC peut présenter une réponse à ces interventions au plus tard le 6 juillet 2017 (au lieu du 20 juin 2017).

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par Laurie Ventura pour

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution pour la Décision de télécom 2016-379 : nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; derek.leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date de modification :