Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 1 June 2017

Our reference: 8640-T66-201608408
8640-B2-201606245

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy & Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Mark Fietz, CPA-CA
Chief Financial Officer
Triton Global Communications Inc. (Triton) and
Fastrack Global Billing Networks Inc. (Fastrack)
gfietz@tritonglobal.ca

Re: TELUS Communications Company and Bell Canada – Application for forbearance from the regulation of billing and collection service – Request for filing abridged versions of Triton and Fastrack responses to requests for information

Sirs:

On 26 May 2017, the Commission received TELUS Communications Company (TCC)’s comments regarding responses to Commission staff’s 12 April 2017 requests for information filed with respect to TCC’s Part 1 application for the forbearance from regulation of billing and collection service (BCS).

In its comments, TCC indicated that the responses to the above requests for information from Triton Global Communications Inc. (Triton) and Fastrack Global Billing Networks Inc. (Fastrack) were filed in confidence, without an abridged version for the public record. TCC submitted that it had no objection to the confidential filing of the responses to Commission’s first and second questions, which would contain only disaggregated data, but that the third and fourth questions require written responses, which lend themselves to abridgement. TCC therefore requested that the Commission direct Triton and Fastrack to file abridged versions of their responses to questions 3 and 4 on the public record, and provide other parties with an opportunity to comment on these abridged responses.

Commission staff notes that the responses filed in confidence by Triton and Fastrack only include responses to the first and second questions of the requests for information, and that responses to the other two questions were missing. Commission staff also notes that the same questions were also sent on 12 April 2017 to Triton and Fastrack with respect to Bell Canada’s Part 1 application for the forbearance from regulation of BCS, and that Triton and Fastrack did not provide answers to questions 3 and 4 in that case either.

Triton and Fastrack are to therefore provide answers to Commission staff’s questions 3 and 4 of the 12 April 2017 requests for information – in relation to both Bell Canada and TCC’s applications – by 9 June 2017. Should Triton and Fastrack wish to designate information filed in response to these questions as confidential, it must either file an abridged version of the document, omitting only the information designated as confidential, or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed. Responses must be filed separately on the record of both Bell Canada’s application and TCC’s application.

Accordingly, Commission staff extends the reply deadline established in its 12 April 2017 letters from 2 June 2017 to 16 June 2017 in order to give parties sufficient time to comment.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca;
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca;
John MacKenzie, TCC, john.mackenzie@telus.com;
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Québecor, regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Shaw, regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Caztel, presidente@caztel.com; stephen.abbott@caztel.com;
Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca;
Telehop, brovet@rovetlaw.com;
Yak, yakregulatory@globalive.com;
MTS Inc, regulatory@mts.ca;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com;
PIAC, jlawford@piac.ca, gwhite@piac.ca;
CNOC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée aux diverses parties

Ottawa, le 1 juin 2017

Notre référence : 8640-B2-201606245
8640-T66-201608408

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président – Politique de télécommunication et
conseiller juridique principal en matière de réglementation
Politique de télécommunication et Affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Avocat-conseil principal
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Mark Fietz, CPA, CA
Dirigeant principal des finances
Triton Global Communications inc. (Triton) et
Fastrack Global Billing Networks inc. (Fastrack)
gfietz@tritonglobal.ca

Objet : Société TELUS Communications et Bell Canada – demande d’abstention de la réglementation du service de facturation et de perception – demande concernant le dépôt de versions abrégées des réponses de Triton et de Fastrack aux demandes de renseignements

Messieurs,

Le 26 mai 2017, le Conseil a reçu des observations de la Société TELUS Communications (STC) concernant les réponses aux demandes de renseignements du personnel du Conseil du 12 avril 2017 relativement à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 de la STC relative à l’abstention de la réglementation du service de facturation et de perception (SFP).

Dans ses observations, la STC indique que les réponses de Triton Global Communications inc. (Triton) et de Fastrack Global Billing Networks inc. (Fastrack) aux demandes de renseignements susmentionnées ont été déposées à titre confidentiel sans version abrégée pour le dossier public. La SCT mentionne qu’elle n’avait pas d’objection à ce que les réponses aux première et deuxième questions du Conseil, qui ne renfermeraient que des données non regroupées, soient déposées en toute confidentialité, mais que les troisième et quatrième questions nécessitaient des réponses écrites qui se prêtaient à un abrègement. La STC a donc demandé au Conseil d’ordonner à Triton et à Fastrack de déposer des versions abrégées de leurs réponses aux questions 3 et 4 dans le dossier public et de donner aux autres parties l’occasion de présenter des observations concernant ces réponses abrégées.

Le personnel du Conseil constate que les réponses déposées à titre confidentiel par Triton et Fastrack ne font que répondre aux première et deuxième questions des demandes de renseignements et qu’il manque les réponses aux deux autres questions. De plus, le personnel du Conseil constate que les mêmes questions ont également été envoyées le 12 avril 2017 à Triton et à Fastrack relativement à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 de Bell Canada concernant l’abstention de la réglementation du SFP et que Triton et Fastrack n’ont pas, dans ce cas non plus, répondu aux questions 3 et 4.

Triton et Fastrack doivent donc, d’ici le 9 juin 2017, fournir des réponses aux questions 3 et 4 des demandes de renseignements présentées le 12 avril 2017 par le personnel du Conseil concernant les demandes de Bell Canada et de la STC. Si Triton et Fastrack souhaitent désigner comme étant confidentiels les renseignements déposés en réponse à ces questions, elles doivent soit déposer une version abrégée du document ne faisant pas mention des renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels, soit exposer les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être fournie. Les réponses doivent être déposées séparément au dossier de la demande de Bell Canada et de la demande de la STC.

Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil reporte au 16 juin 2017 la date limite du 2 juin 2017 pour le dépôt des répliques qu’il avait fixée dans ses lettres datées du 12 avril 2017 afin de donner suffisamment de temps aux parties pour formuler des observations.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca;
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca;
John MacKenzie, STC, john.mackenzie@telus.com;
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Québecor, regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Shaw, regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Caztel, presidente@caztel.com; stephen.abbott@caztel.com;
Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca;
Telehop, brovet@rovetlaw.com;
Yak, yakregulatory@globalive.com;
MTS inc, regulatory@mts.ca;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com;
CDIP, jlawford@piac.ca;
CORC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Date de modification :