Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 30 May 2017

Our reference: 8663-C182-201702598

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: Application by Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) for transitional aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services over incumbent fibre-to-the-premises facilities ‒ Requests related to submission of new evidence

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 30 March 2017, the Commission received a Part 1 application from CNOC in which it requested transitional access to wholesale HSA Services over incumbents’Footnote1 fibre-to-the-premises access facilities on an aggregated basis. The Commission received interventions on 24 April 2017 and CNOC’s reply comments on 15 May 2017.

On 19 May 2017, the Commission received procedural requests from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) and Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) regarding CNOC’s reply comments. On 24 May 2017, the Commission also received a procedural request from TELUS Communications Company (TCC) regarding CNOC’s reply comments, as well as CNOC’s response to RCCI’s and Shaw’s respective procedural requests.

RCCI, Shaw, and TCC submitted that CNOC’s reply comments contained new evidence with respect to alleged wholesale high-speed access service gapsFootnote2 that ought to have been included as part of the original application, in violation of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (SOR/2010-277).

TCC also submitted that Appendix C to CNOC’s response is an anonymous account of alleged harm from an online forum, rendering it impossible for respondents to cross-examine the poster or verify the validity of the content. TCC requested that the alleged new evidence, including Appendix C, be struck from the record.

Shaw submitted that the new evidence does not contribute to a better understanding of the issue and requested, therefore, that it be expunged from the record of the proceeding. Alternatively, it requested that the Commission provide parties 30 days to respond to the new evidence.

RCCI requested that the Commission allow for an additional round of comments in response to CNOC’s reply comments, or that it expunge those reply comments from the record of the proceeding.

CNOC submitted that its reply comments and associated appendices included detailed examples of market conditions, in response to certain interveners’ claims that the market conditions it had cited to justify the relief it sought did not exist. CNOC argued, therefore, that it would be unfair to strike this additional evidence from the record of the proceeding.

CNOC also submitted that it did not object to an additional round of comments and reply, but noted that Shaw’s proposed 30-day intervention period was excessive and unjustified. Instead, CNOC proposed an additional round of comments lasting 15 days from the day the Commission issues its determinations on RCCI’s and Shaw’s procedural requests, with 7 days for CNOC to provide reply comments.

In Commission staff’s view, the evidence CNOC supplied in Appendices B and C to its reply comments constitutes new evidence that should have been submitted with its application. However, staff considers that this evidence, together with parties’ views on it, is likely to contribute to a better understanding of the issues in this proceeding and will assist the Commission in making its determinations.

With respect to the concerns raised by TCC about the information submitted in Appendix C, the Commission will consider what weight, if any, should be ascribed to the statements set out in that document when making its determinations. This assessment will be done having regard to the full evidentiary record, including the arguments raised by TCC in its 24 May 2017 letter.

In light of the above, parties may file comments on the new evidence by 13 June 2017, serving a copy on CNOC. Parties are to limit their comments to information contained in Appendices B and C and the statements set out in CNOC’s reply comments referencing this information. CNOC may file a reply to these interventions by 20 June 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list for Telecom Decision 2016-379:  nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambertracine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; derek.leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.caMonique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 30 mai 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C182-201702598

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Demande présentée par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC) concernant l’accès provisoire aux services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros regroupés au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulaires ‒ Demandes relatives à la présentation de nouveaux éléments de preuve

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 30 mars 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1, présentée par le CORC, dans laquelle il demandait l’accès provisoire aux services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) regroupés de gros au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulairesNote de bas de page1. Le Conseil a reçu des interventions le 24 avril 2017 et les observations en réplique du CORC, le 15 mai 2017.

Le 19 mai 2017, le Conseil a reçu les requêtes procédurales de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et de Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) au sujet des observations en réplique du CORC. Le 24 mai 2017, le Conseil a aussi reçu une requête procédurale de la Société TELUS Communications (STC) concernant les observations en réplique du CORC, ainsi que la réponse du CORC aux requêtes procédurales respectives de RCCI et de Shaw.

RCCI, Shaw et la STC ont fait valoir que les observations en réplique du CORC comprenaient de nouveaux éléments de preuve en lien avec des lacunesNote de bas de page2 alléguées dans les services d’accès haute vitesse de gros qui auraient dû faire partie de la demande originale, contrevenant ainsi aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (SOR/2010-277).

La STC a aussi fait valoir que l’annexe C à la réponse du CORC est le compte rendu anonyme de dommages présumés d’un forum en ligne, rendant impossible pour les intimés de contre-interroger l’auteur du contenu affiché ou d’en vérifier la validité. La STC a demandé que les nouveaux éléments de preuve présumés, y compris l’annexe C, soient retirés du dossier.

Shaw a fait valoir que les nouveaux éléments de preuve ne contribuent pas à une meilleure compréhension de l’enjeu et a demandé, en conséquence, qu’ils soient rayés du dossier de l’instance.

De même, elle a demandé que le Conseil accorde aux parties 30 jours pour donner suite à la présentation des nouveaux éléments de preuve.

RCCI a demandé que le Conseil accorde une autre ronde d’observations pour donner suite aux observations de réplique du CORC, ou qu’il raye celles-ci du dossier de l’instance.

Le CORC a fait valoir que ses observations de réplique et les annexes connexes comprenaient des exemples détaillés des conditions du marché, afin de donner suite aux affirmations de certains intervenants que les conditions du marché qu’ils avaient citées pour justifier la réparation demandée n’existaient pas. Le CORC a donc soutenu qu’il serait injuste de rayer ces autres éléments de preuve du dossier de l’instance.

Le CORC a aussi fait valoir qu’il ne s’opposait pas à une nouvelle ronde d’observations et de répliques, mais a souligné que la période d’intervention de 30 jours proposée par Shaw était excessive et injustifiée. Le CORC a plutôt proposé une autre ronde d’observations d’une durée de 15 jours à compter du jour où le Conseil rendra ses décisions au sujet des requêtes procédurales de RCCI et de Shaw, et sept jours pour le CORC afin de présenter des observations de réplique.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que les éléments de preuve présentés par le CORC dans les annexes B et C à ses observations de réplique constituent de nouveaux éléments de preuve qui auraient dû être soumis avec sa demande. Cependant, le personnel considère que ces éléments de preuve, ainsi que les avis des intervenants à leur sujet, sont susceptibles de contribuer à une meilleure compréhension des enjeux de cette instance et aideront le Conseil à rendre ses conclusions.

En ce qui concerne les préoccupations soulevées par la STC au sujet de l’information comprise dans l’annexe C, le Conseil déterminera le poids, s’il y a lieu, qu’il devrait accorder aux affirmations énoncées dans ce document lorsqu’il rendra ses conclusions. Cette évaluation sera effectuée en se fondant sur l’ensemble de la preuve au dossier, y compris les arguments soulevés par la STC dans sa lettre du 24 mai 2017.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les intervenants peuvent présenter des observations relatives aux nouveaux éléments de preuve au plus tard le 13 juin 2017, en signifiant une copie au CORC.

Les intervenants doivent limiter leurs observations à l’information comprise dans les annexes B et C et aux affirmations énoncées dans les observations de réplique du CORC renvoyant à cette information.

Le CORC peut présenter une réponse à ces interventions au plus tard le 20 juin 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications
c.c.: Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution pour la Décision de Télécom 2016-379 : nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambertracine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; derek.leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date de modification :