Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 30 May 2017

Our reference: 8690-C126-201612250

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

RE: Request for a suspension or adjournment of an Application by the City of Calgary concerning a municipal rights-of-way Bylaw and a proposed Municipal Consent and Access Agreement

This letter addresses a request, dated 23 January 2017, by Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., TELUS Communications Company and Zayo Canada (collectively, the Carriers), to suspend or adjourn the above-named application by the City of Calgary (Calgary) filed on 30 November 2016 (the Application).

In the Application, Calgary requested that the Commission make certain determinations concerning the access and use of municipal rights-of-way (ROW) by telecommunications service providers (TSPs) pursuant to its ROW BylawFootnote1 and its proposed Municipal Consent and Access Agreement (MCAA). Specifically, Calgary requested that the Commission

  1. issue a declaration and determination that the Carriers may rely upon the ROW Bylaw for performance of their obligations under section 43 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) in respect of any highway or other public place located in the City of Calgary; and such determinations and advice as the Commission may deem advisable in respect to section 123 of the ROW Bylaw, concerning the appeal right of a Carrier to the Commission in respect to any dispute that may arise under the ROW Bylaw; and
  2. in the event the Commission declines to issue the declaration above, approval of the terms and conditions of the proposed MCAA, for the purpose of performance by the Carriers of their obligations under section 43 of the Act in respect of any highway or other public place located in the City of Calgary; and such determinations and advice as the Commission may deem advisable with respect to modifications to the proposed MCAA.

On 23 January 2017, the Carriers requested that the Commission suspend consideration of the Application while they challenged the constitutional validity of Calgary’s ROW Bylaw in the Alberta Court of Queens’ Bench (the Alberta Court).

In the alternative, the Carriers requested that, should the Commission determine that adjournment of the Application is not appropriate, an extension of time be granted to file comments in response to the Application of 30 days from the date of any such determination or from the date its constitutional challenge has been filed in the Alberta Court, whichever occurs first.

By Commission staff letter dated 26 January 2017, the filing of interventions and answers to the Application was suspended, pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ procedural request.

Calgary and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) filed comments on the Carriers’ request to suspend consideration of the Application.

The Carriers (which did not include Zayo Canada) filed reply comments along with a copy of the application filed by the Carriers with the Alberta Court on 10 March 2017.

Positions of parties

With respect to the relief sought by Calgary regarding the ROW Bylaw, the Carriers argued that the Commission can only grant such relief if the ROW Bylaw is constitutionally applicable to the Carriers and there is serious doubt as to the Commission's ability to make general declaratory orders on the constitutionality of the ROW Bylaw.

The Carriers argued that having two parallel proceedings - one before the Commission and another before the Alberta Court - would be inefficient, result in duplication of resources of parties, and could potentially result in inconsistent findings of fact and/or legal conclusions. The Carriers also argued that an adjournment would be consistent with Telecom Decision 2016-479Footnote2 , in which the Commission suspended proceedings while the constitutional issues raised in that application were still before the courts.

With respect to the alternative relief sought by Calgary regarding the terms and conditions of the draft MCAA, the Carriers argued that given the MCAA would come into play only if the request regarding the ROW Bylaw is denied, it would be a waste of resources to deal with the MCAA until the Court has ruled on the constitutionality of the ROW Bylaw. Furthermore, the Commission lacks the authority under the Act to grant the relief requested regarding the MCAA. Calgary is seeking a ruling of general application to all TSPs, however the Commission's ability to set terms of access under the Act is only on a case-by-case basis.

In response, Calgary argued that its request regarding the ROW Bylaw does not seek “general declaratory orders” on the constitutionality of the ROW Bylaw. Calgary submitted that it is not necessary for the courts to rule on the constitutional validity of the ROW Bylaw for the Commission to grant the declaratory relief that it is seeking in its Part 1 application. In addition, Calgary clarified that it is only seeking to determine the terms and conditions under the MCAA as would apply between the City and the Carriers named as Respondents to its Application, not all TSPs.

FCM filed submissions in support of Calgary’s position, arguingFootnote3  that the Carriers’ request for a stay was based on a fundamental mischaracterization of the central legal question raised by Calgary’s Application. FCM stated that Calgary was not asking the Commission to rule on the constitutional applicability of its ROW Bylaw to the Carriers, rather Calgary was asking the Commission to confirm its interpretation of the expression “consent of the municipality” found in subsection 43(3) of the Act, which relief is completely within its statutory authority.
In FCM’s view, answering the question whether “a bylaw” can be used to grant municipal consent under the Act, was a wholly distinct, administrative matter from determining whether “this bylaw” was constitutionally valid.
In reply, the Carriers argued that the ROW Bylaw is an attempt to regulate essential and vital elements of telecommunications, which is the “core” of federal jurisdiction and exclusively within Parliament’s power to regulateFootnote4 . The Carriers also argued that maintaining the status quo is acceptable and there is no compelling and present need to determine the request regarding the MCAA.

Commission’s analysis

The question to be determined in response to the Carriers’ procedural request is whether the Commission should suspend consideration of either part, or both parts, of Calgary’s Part 1 application pending a decision by the Alberta Court regarding the constitutional validity of Calgary’s ROW Bylaw.

Calgary has not requested that the Commission make general declaratory orders on the constitutionality of the ROW Bylaw, which is the relief sought by the Carriers before the Court. In its Application concerning the ROW Bylaw, Calgary has raised the issue as to whether Calgary can give its consent for the purpose of section 43 of the Act by means of the ROW Bylaw. Further, Calgary’s request concerning the MCAA raises the matter of the appropriate terms and conditions, as between the City and the Carriers named as Respondents to its Application, for access to highways and public places for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating transmission lines. In the past, in the case of disputes regarding Municipal Access Agreements (MAAs), the Commission has ruled on those provisions in the MAA on which the parties disagreed.

Both parts of Calgary’s application raise matters that involve interpreting provisions of the Act, which fall squarely within the Commission’s exclusive statutory authority and specialized knowledge and expertise. In addition, the statutory interpretation issues can be determined in the absence of a ruling by the Alberta Court regarding a declaration as to constitutional validity of the ROW Bylaw. Finally, the Commission considers that the core matter for its determination – disputed provisions regarding terms and conditions for access – must be examined without further delay.

In light of all of the foregoing, the Commission considers that it is neither necessary nor appropriate for it to suspend Calgary’s Part 1 Application pending the constitutional litigation initiated in the Albert Court. Accordingly, the Commission denies the Carriers’ request to suspend its consideration of Calgary’s Application.

Re-establishment of the process for Calgary’s Application

As noted above, in the Commission staff letter dated 26 January 2017, the filing of interventions and answers to the Application was suspended, pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ procedural request.

In view of the Commission’s determination above, the Carriers and any interested parties may file submissions on Calgary’s Application regarding the ROW Bylaw by 13 June 2017, serving copies on Calgary. Calgary may file reply comments by 19 June 2017, serving copies on the Carriers and any interested parties.

With respect to the proposed MCAA, the Carriers and any interested parties may file submissions on Calgary’s Application regarding the Proposed MCAA by 30 June 2017, serving copies on Calgary. The Carriers are requested to identify in detail which sections of the proposed MCAA each carrier contests and propose alternate wording. Calgary may file reply comments by 5 July 2017, serving a copy on the Carriers and any interested parties.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Distribution List

City of Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com;
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca;

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 30 mai 2017

Notre référence : 8690-C126-201612250

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :   Requête de suspension ou d’ajournement d’une demande de la Ville de Calgary concernant un règlement municipal relatif aux servitudes municipales et un accord d’accès et de consentement municipal proposé

La présente fait suite à une requête, datée du 23 janvier 2017, de Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., la Société TELUS Communications et Zayo Canada (collectivement, les entreprises) de suspendre ou d’ajourner la demande susmentionnée de la Ville de Calgary (Calgary) déposée le 30 novembre 2016 (la requête).

Dans sa demande, Calgary sollicitait que le Conseil prenne certaines décisions concernant l’accès aux servitudes municipales (SM) et l’utilisation de celles-ci par les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) en vertu de son règlement municipal sur les SMNote de bas de page1 et de son accord d’accès et de consentement municipal (AACM) proposé. Calgary demandait au Conseil de faire ce qui suit :

  1. Publier une déclaration et décision que les entreprises peuvent se fier au règlement municipal sur les SM dans l’exécution de leurs obligations en vertu de l’article 43 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) en ce qui concerne toute voie publique ou tout autre lieu public situé dans la Ville de Calgary, ainsi que toutes conclusions et directives que le Conseil estime pertinentes par rapport à l’article 123 du règlement municipal sur les SM relativement au droit d’appel d’une entreprise auprès du Conseil dans le cadre de tout différend qui peut survenir dans le cadre dudit règlement municipal;
  2. Si le Conseil devait refuser de publier la déclaration susmentionnée, approuver les modalités de l’AACM proposé aux fins d’exécution par les entreprises de leurs obligations en vertu de l’article 43 de la Loi en ce qui concerne toute voie publique ou tout autre lieu public situé dans la Ville de Calgary, ainsi que publier toutes conclusions et directives que le Conseil estime pertinentes par rapport aux modifications à l’AACM proposé.

Le 23 janvier 2017, les entreprises ont demandé que le Conseil suspende l’examen de la demande pendant qu’elles contestaient la validité constitutionnelle du règlement sur les SM devant la Cour du Banc de la Reine de l’Alberta (la Cour de l’Alberta).

Par ailleurs, si le Conseil déterminait qu’il ne convenait pas de suspendre l’examen de la demande, les entreprises ont demandé qu’il leur accorde pour le dépôt des observations relativement à la demande 30 jours de plus à partir de la date de la décision en ce sens ou de la date du dépôt de leur contestation devant la Cour de l’Alberta, selon la première éventualité.

Dans une lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 26 janvier 2017, le dépôt d’interventions et de répliques dans le cadre de la demande a été suspendu en attendant la décision du Conseil sur la requête procédurale des entreprises.

Calgary et la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM) ont déposé des observations concernant la requête des entreprises de suspendre l’examen de la demande.

Les entreprises (à l’exception de Zayo Canada) ont déposé des observations en réplique ainsi qu’une copie de la requête déposée par les entreprises devant la Cour de l’Alberta le 10 mars 2017.

Positions des parties

En ce qui a trait au redressement demandé par Calgary concernant le règlement municipal sur les SM, les entreprises font valoir que le Conseil ne peut accorder un tel redressement que si le règlement municipal sur les SM est constitutionnellement applicable aux entreprises, et qu’il y a des doutes importants quant à la capacité du Conseil de rendre des ordonnances déclaratoires sur la constitutionnalité du règlement municipal sur les SM.

Les entreprises soutiennent que le fait d’avoir deux instances parallèles (l’une devant le Conseil et l’autre devant la Cour de l’Alberta) serait inefficace, entraînerait un dédoublement des ressources des parties et pourrait produire des conclusions de fait ou d’ordre juridique incohérentes. Les entreprises font aussi valoir qu’un ajournement serait conforme à la décision de télécom 2016-479Note de bas de page2, dans laquelle le Conseil a suspendu une instance pendant que des questions d’ordre constitutionnel soulevées dans la demande étaient devant les tribunaux.

En ce qui a trait à la mesure de redressement de rechange sollicitée par Calgary relativement aux modalités de l’AACM préliminaire, les entreprises soutiennent que puisque l’AACM ne s’appliquerait que si la requête concernant le règlement municipal sur les SM était rejetée, il n’est pas utile de traiter cette question tant que la Cour n’a pas statué sur la constitutionnalité du règlement sur les SM. De plus, le Conseil n’a pas le pouvoir en vertu de la Loi pour accorder le redressement demandé relativement à l’AACM. Calgary sollicite une décision qui s’appliquerait à tous les FST, mais la capacité du Conseil d’établir les modalités d’accès en vertu de la Loi se limite aux cas particuliers.

En réplique, Calgary soutient que sa demande relative au règlement municipal sur les SM ne vise pas des ordonnances déclaratoires générales sur la constitutionnalité du règlement municipal. Calgary fait valoir qu’il n’est pas nécessaire que les tribunaux se soient prononcés sur la validité constitutionnelle du règlement municipal sur les SM pour que le Conseil accorde le redressement déclaratoire sollicité dans sa demande en vertu de la partie 1. De plus, Calgary précise qu’elle veut seulement déterminer les modalités selon lesquelles l’AACM s’appliquerait entre la Ville et les entreprises nommées à titre d’intimées dans sa demande et non à tous les FST.

La FCM a déposé des observations en appui à la position de Calgary, soutenantNote de bas de page3 que la requête de sursis des entreprises est fondée sur une mauvaise caractérisation fondamentale de la question de droit centrale soulevée par la demande de Calgary. La FCM affirme que Calgary ne demande pas au Conseil de se prononcer sur l’applicabilité constitutionnelle de son règlement municipal sur les SM, mais plutôt de confirmer son interprétation de l’expression « agrément de l’administration municipale » au paragraphe 43(3) de la Loi, et que le redressement relève entièrement des pouvoirs du Conseil.

Selon la FCM, le fait de répondre à la question administrative à savoir si l’on peut donner l’agrément de la municipalité en vertu de la Loi au moyen d’un règlement municipal est complètement distinct de la détermination du caractère constitutionnel dudit règlement municipal.

Les entreprises répliquent que le règlement municipal sur les SM vise à réglementer des éléments essentiels et vitaux des télécommunications, qui relèvent fondamentalement de la compétence fédérale et pour lesquels seul le Parlement peut établir des règlementsNote de bas de page4. Les entreprises font aussi valoir qu’il est acceptable de maintenir le statu quo et qu’il n’existe aucun besoin pressant de rendre une décision immédiate sur la demande relative à l’AACM.

Analyse du Conseil

La question à trancher en réponse à la requête procédurale des entreprises est celle-ci : le Conseil devrait-il suspendre l’examen de l’une ou des deux parties de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 de Calgary, en attendant une décision de la Cour de l’Alberta au sujet de la validité constitutionnelle du règlement municipal sur les SM de Calgary.

Calgary ne demande pas que le Conseil rende des ordonnances déclaratoires de nature générale sur le caractère constitutionnel du règlement municipal sur les SM. Calgary soulève la question de savoir si elle peut donner son agrément aux fins de l’article 43 de la Loi au moyen du règlement municipal sur les SM. De plus, la demande de Calgary relative à l’AACM soulève la question des modalités appropriées, entre la Ville et les entreprises nommées à titre d’intimées dans sa demande, pour l’accès aux voies et aux lieux publics pour construire, maintenir et exploiter des lignes de transmission. Dans des cas précédents de différends concernant des accords d’accès municipal (AAM), le Conseil a rendu une décision sur les dispositions contestées d’un AAM.

Les deux parties de la demande de Calgary soulèvent des questions d’interprétation de la Loi, ce qui relève directement des pouvoirs exclusifs prévus par la loi et des connaissances et savoir-faire spécialisés du Conseil. De plus, les questions relatives à l’interprétation de la loi peuvent être réglées en l’absence d’une décision de la Cour de l’Alberta concernant la validité constitutionnelle du règlement municipal sur les SM. Finalement, le Conseil estime que la question centrale à trancher, c.-à-d. les dispositions d’accès contestées, doit être examinée sans plus tarder.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil est d’avis qu’il n’est ni nécessaire ni approprié de suspendre la demande en vertu de la partie 1 de Calgary en attendant la résolution du litige constitutionnel devant la Cour de l’Alberta. Par conséquent, le Conseil rejette la requête des entreprises de suspendre son examen de la demande de Calgary.

Rétablissement du processus pour la demande de Calgary

Comme il est indiqué ci-dessus, le dépôt d’interventions et de répliques relatives à la demande a été suspendu, dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 26 janvier 2017, en attendant la décision du Conseil sur la requête procédurale des entreprises.

Compte tenu de la conclusion du Conseil dans la présente, les entreprises et les parties intéressées peuvent déposer des observations sur la demande de Calgary relativement au règlement municipal sur les SM d’ici le 13 juin 2017, et en signifier copie à Calgary. Calgary peut déposer des observations en réplique d’ici le 19 juin 2017, et en signifier copie aux entreprises et aux parties intéressées.

En ce qui a trait à l’AACM proposée, les entreprises et les parties intéressées peuvent déposer des observations sur la demande de Calgary relativement à l’AACM proposé d’ici le 30 juin 2017, et en signifier copie à Calgary. Nous demandons aux entreprises de préciser les sections de l’AACM qu’elles contestent et de proposer un libellé de rechange. Calgary peut déposer des observations en réplique d’ici le 5 juillet 2017, et en signifier copie aux entreprises et aux parties intéressées.

Veuillez agréer, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

Liste de distribution :

Ville de Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca;
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Zayo Canada, regulatory@zayo.com ;
La Fédération canadienne des municipalités, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca;

Date de modification :