Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Michel Cantin (City of Gatineau) and Mathieu Quenneville (Carriers)

Ottawa, 30 May 2017

Our reference: 8690-V81-201703231

BY EMAIL

Mr. Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé, attorneys, LLP
Representing the City of Gatineau
5 Place Ville Marie, Suite 900
Montreal, Quebec  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Mr. Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust, attorneys
Representing the Carriers
20845 De la Côte du Nord Road, Suite 500
Boisbriand, Quebec  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

RE: Request for a stay or deferral of the Part I application filed by the City of Gatineau for a Municipal Access Agreement

Dear Sirs:

In December 2012, Bell Canada, Videotron G.P., Rogers Communications G.P., Telus Communications Company and Cogeco Cable Inc. (collectively, the Carriers) brought legal proceedings against the City of Gatineau (Gatineau) before the Superior Court of Quebec bringing an action in nullity with regard to municipal bylaw number 718-2012 and seeking a declaratory judgment.Footnote1 They argue that the bylaw and subsequent amendments are constitutionally invalid and inoperative, considering that their purpose is to regulate telecommunications and broadcasting matters under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and that they are in conflict with the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and interfere with the exercise of the legislative authority of the Parliament of Canada.

On April 13, 2017, the Commission received a Part I application from Gatineau for the approval of a proposed Municipal Access Agreement (MAA). Gatineau indicated that it had negotiated in recent years with the Carriers, but that some points had not been agreed on yet. It indicated that no agreement currently seemed possible between the parties and asked for a decision by the Commission that would approve the terms and conditions of an MAA with the Carriers.

On May 3, 2017, the Carriers asked the Commission for a stay of its examination of the application by Gatineau until the Superior Court can rule on the constitutionality of the Gatineau bylaw. They added that the hearing will take place from May 23 to June 12, 2017 and that the judgment to be rendered is likely to become a judgement in principle. In the event of the Commission’s denial of the request for a stay, the Carriers requested that the time limit for responding to Gatineau’s application be deferred for 30 days after the end of the hearing before the Superior Court on July 12, 2017.

On May 5, 2017, Gatineau submitted a letter to the Commission contesting the Carriers’ request for a stay or a deferral. The City argued that conducting the two proceedings in parallel could not lead to contradictory conclusions as the constitutionality of the bylaw had nothing to do with the request for the MAA made to the Commission. The City added that the application of the bylaw specifically excludes work that is subject to an MAA. On May 9, 2017, the Carriers reiterated their request for a stay.

On May 11, 2017, a letter indicating that the delays associated with the Part 1 proceeding were suspended to allow the Commission to render a decision on the request for a stay sent to the parties by the Carriers.

The Commission is of the opinion that it is neither necessary nor appropriate for the Commission to stay the Part I application until a final judgment is rendered by the Superior Court of Quebec. An application has been brought before the Commission to establish the terms and conditions of access of some telecommunications Carriers in public places for which Gatineau is the competent authority. The Act gives the Commission the authority to rule on this type of application when there is a disagreement about access terms and conditions between a municipality and telecommunications carriers. The Superior Court of Quebec received a constitutional challenge regarding the validity, application or operability of Gatineau Bylaw No. 718-2012, which is a completely different issue.

Consequently, the Commission denies the Carriers’ request for a stay. The deadline for filing comments regarding the Part I application is therefore fixed at 16 June 2017, and the proceeding will subsequently continue as planned, Gatineau having up to 27 June 2017 to file its response.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c. c.: Josiane Lord, CRTC, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca  
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron, regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Michel Cantin (Ville de Gatineau) et Mathieu Quenneville (Entreprises)

Ottawa, le 30 mai 2017

Notre référence : 8690-V81-201703231

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Michel Cantin
Bélanger Sauvé avocats s.e.n.c.r.l.
Représentant la Ville de Gatineau
5, Place Ville Marie, Bureau 900
Montréal (Québec)  H8B 2G2
mcantin@belangersauve.com

Monsieur Mathieu Quenneville
Prévost Fortin D’Aoust avocats
Représentant les Entreprises
20845, chemin de la Côte du Nord, bureau 500
Boisbriand (Québec)  J7E 4H5
m.quenneville@pfdavocats.com

Objet : Demande de sursis ou de report de la demande déposée en vertu de la Partie I de la Ville de Gatineau pour un Accord d’accès municipal

Messieurs,

En décembre 2012, Bell Canada, Vidéotron S.E.N.C., Rogers Communications S.E.N.C., la Société Telus Communications et Cogéco Cable Inc. (collectivement les Entreprises) ont institué contre la Ville de Gatineau (Gatineau) des procédures judiciaires devant la Cour supérieure du Québec en jugement déclaratoire et en nullité de son règlement municipal numéro 718-2012Note de bas de page1. Elles y soutiennent que le règlement et ses modifications subséquentes sont invalides et inopérants constitutionnellement, considérant qu’ils ont comme objectif de réglementer des éléments de la compétence du Parlement du Canada en matière de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion, et qu’ils sont en conflit avec la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et entravent l’exercice de la compétence législative du Parlement du Canada.

Le 13 avril 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la Partie I de Gatineau pour l’approbation d’un Accord d’accès municipal (AAM) proposé. Gatineau indiquait avoir négocié au cours des dernières années avec les Entreprises, mais que quelques éléments ne faisaient toujours pas l’objet d’une entente. Elle indiquait qu’aucune entente ne semblait actuellement possible entre les parties et demandait une décision du Conseil approuvant les termes et modalités d’un AAM avec les Entreprises.

Le 3 mai 2017, les Entreprises ont demandé au Conseil de surseoir à l’analyse du dossier de la demande de Gatineau le temps que la Cour supérieure puisse se prononcer sur la constitutionalité du règlement de Gatineau. Elles ont ajouté que l’audition aura lieu du 23 mai au 12 juin 2017 et que le jugement à être rendu est susceptible de devenir un jugement de principe. Advenant un refus du Conseil de la demande de surseoir, les Entreprises ont demandé à ce que le délai accordé pour répondre à la demande de Gatineau soit prorogé à 30 jours suivant la fin de l’audition devant la Cour supérieure, soit au 12 juillet 2017.

Le 5 mai 2017, Gatineau a déposé une lettre auprès du Conseil contestant la demande de sursis ou de prorogation des Entreprises. Elle arguait que la conduite des deux instances parallèles ne peut d’aucune manière mener à des conclusions contradictoires, la constitutionnalité du règlement n’ayant rien à voir avec l’AAM demandé au Conseil. Elle ajoutait que le règlement exclut spécifiquement de son application les travaux ayant fait l’objet d’un AAM. Le 9 mai 2017, les Entreprises ont réitéré leur demande de sursis.

Le 11 mai  2017, une lettre indiquant que les délais associés à la conduite de la Partie 1 ont été suspendus afin de permettre au Conseil de rendre une décision au sujet de la demande de sursis des Entreprises a été envoyée aux parties.

Le Conseil est d’avis qu’il n’est ni nécessaire ni approprié pour le Conseil de surseoir à la demande en vertu de la Partie I jusqu’à ce qu’un jugement final soit rendu par la Cour supérieure du Québec.  Le Conseil a été saisi d’une demande visant à établir les modalités d’accès pour certaines entreprises de télécommunications aux lieux publics pour lesquels Gatineau est l’autorité compétente. La Loi confère au Conseil le pouvoir de trancher ce type de demande lorsqu’il y a désaccord entre une municipalité et une entreprise de télécommunications quant aux modalités d’accès. La Cour supérieure du Québec, quant à elle, a été saisie d’un litige de nature constitutionnelle quant à la validité, l’application ou le caractère opérant du Règlement numéro 718-2012 de Gatineau, ce qui est une question entièrement distincte.

De ce fait, le Conseil rejette la demande de sursis des Entreprises. La limite de dépôt des commentaires pour le processus relatif à la partie I est donc rétablie au 16 juin 2017, et le processus se poursuivra par la suite comme prévu, Gatineau ayant jusqu’au 27 juin 2017 pour déposer sa réplique.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire général,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

c. c.: Josiane Lord, CRTC, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca  
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron, regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date de modification :