Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel Inc.)

Ottawa, 24 May 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0049

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel Inc.
PO Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

RE:  Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49 – Requests for information

Dear Sir:

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49, 23 February 2017, attached are requests for information from Commission staff to Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel).

Responses to the requests for information in the attached Appendix are to be filed with the Commission by 23 June 2017.

Responses are to be provided in a single document to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing. However, any information provided in spreadsheet format should be attached as an appendix, in MS Excel format.

Please contact Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) at 819-997-4589 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc,gc,ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


ATTACHMENT

Questions for Northwestel:

  1. Indicate whether any quality of service (Q of S) commitments are included in any of the tariffed wholesale services your company offers. If so, list any relevant tariff item numbers and service names, as well as the specific Q of S requirement and associated rebate or other specified remedial measures to address failures.
  2. Indicate whether your company has established service interval targets either internally, or as part of a wholesale tariff or agreement, for the installation, repair, and/or any other service changes associated with your wholesale services. For all instances where your company has internal service interval targets, provide these targets. Specify any differences by region in your operating territory.
  3. Indicate whether your company compiles information about the average service delivery time associated with service installation, repair, and any other service changes for your wholesale customers. If not, why not? If so:
    1. provide a description of the specific delivery time information your company compiles; and
    2. provide the average service delivery time associated with each of the following: service installation, repair, and any other service changes for your wholesale customers, for each of the years 2014 to 2016.
  4. Indicate, with supporting rationale, whether and how the systems and procedures for compiling the information described in question 3 above, as well as for gathering information for your retail Q of S reports, could be leveraged to apply to a wholesale
    Q of S regime.
  5. In paragraphs 28 and 29 of its intervention, Northwestel submitted that the Commission should continue to use a complaint-based procedure for Northwestel and that there is no evidence to suggest that a monitoring and rebate system is necessary. Explain, in detail, how wholesale customers would be able to verify and ensure they receive adequate service from wholesale service providers.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 24 mai 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0049

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel Inc.
C.P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y1
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

OBJET : Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49 – Demandes de renseignements

Monsieur,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49, Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, du 23 février 2017, vous trouverez ci-jointe la demande de renseignements du personnel du Conseil pour Norouestel Inc. (Norouestel).

Les réponses à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe en annexe doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 23 juin 2017.

Les réponses doivent être fournies dans un seul document afin d’en faciliter l’accessibilité et le traitement administratif. Toutefois, les renseignements fournis sur des feuilles de calcul devraient être joints en annexe, dans le format Excel de Microsoft.

Veuillez contacter Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) au 819-997-4589 si vous avez des questions à propos de cette lettre.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

p.j. : (1)


PIÈCE JOINTE

Questions adressées à Norouestel :

  1. Indiquez si des engagements en matière de qualité de service (QS) sont inclus dans les services de gros tarifés offerts par votre entreprise. Si c’est le cas, énumérez les noms des services et les numéros d’articles tarifaires pertinents, et précisez l’exigence particulière en matière de QS ainsi que le rabais associé ou le recours applicable.
  2. Indiquez si votre entreprise s’est fixé des cibles pour les intervalles de service, que ce soit à l’interne ou dans le cadre d’un tarif ou d’une entente de services de gros, pour l’installation, la réparation ou tout autre changement de service associé aux services de gros. Pour tous les cas où votre entreprise a établi des cibles pour les intervalles de service, veuillez indiquer ces cibles. Identifiez toute différence par région dans votre territoire d'exploitation.
  3. Indiquez si votre entreprise recueille des renseignements sur le temps moyen de prestation de services associés à l’installation, la réparation ou à tout autre changement de service offert à vos clients de services de gros. Dans la négative, pourquoi pas? Dans l’affirmative :
    1. fournissez une description des renseignements spécifiques recueillis par votre entreprise concernant le temps moyen de prestation de services;
    2. indiquer le temps moyen de la prestation des services suivants, pour chacun des mois de la période de 2014 à 2016 : installation, réparation, et tout autre changement de service pour vos clients de services de gros.
  4. Indiquez, avec justification à l’appui, si les systèmes et procédures établis pour la collecte des renseignements décrits à la question 3 ci-dessus, ou ceux établis pour la collecte des renseignements servant à la préparation des rapports sur la QS de détail, pourraient être mis à profit pour instaurer un régime de QS pour les services de gros, et dans l’affirmative expliquez comment.
  5. Aux paragraphes 28 et 29 de son intervention, Norouestel a fait valoir que le Conseil devrait continuer à utiliser une procédure fondée sur les plaintes pour Norouestel et qu’aucune preuve ne démontre qu’un système de rabais et de surveillance est nécessaire. Expliquez en détail comment les clients de services de gros seraient en mesure de vérifier et de s’assurer qu’ils obtiennent un service adéquat de la part des fournisseurs de services de gros.
Date de modification :