Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 24 May 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0049

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49 – Requests for information

Dear Madam, Sir:

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49, 23 February 2017, attached are requests for information from Commission staff to Bell Canada, Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), and TELUS Communications Company (TCC).

Responses to the requests for information in the attached Appendix are to be filed with the Commission by 23 June 2017.

Responses are to be provided in a single document to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing. However, any information provided in spreadsheet format should be attached as an appendix, in MS Excel format.

Please contact Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) at 819-997-4589 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc,gc,ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Distribution List:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; reglementa@telebec.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com


ATTACHMENT

  1. Questions for Bell Canada,Footnote1 SaskTel, and TCC:
    1. As part of this proceeding, Internet customers whose service providers rely on incumbent local exchange carriers’ (ILECs) or cable companies’ wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services submitted interventions about issues related to services the underlying wholesale service provider also provides to its retail Internet customers. They cited, among other things:
      • numerous missed appointments;
      • unreasonably large appointment windows;
      • unreasonably long installation or repair times associated with their services;
      • issues with the quality of their services; and
      • technicians taking advantage of appointments to solicit them to switch providers, suggesting that this would resolve or expedite the repair of network issues.

      Many of those interveners added that the wholesale HSA service provider’s retail Internet customers were not subject to the same kind of service interruptions, both in terms of the frequency and duration of these interruptions.

      1. Describe, in detail, your company’s process for receiving, assigning, and fulfilling service requests for installation, repair, and/or any other service changes for end‑customers Your response should outline processes for (i) your own retail Internet customers, (ii) those of your wholesale HSA customers, and (iii) customers of your own flanker brand, if applicable (i.e. in the case of Bell Canada, for Virgin Home Internet customers). If there are any differences between the processes for any of those activities, clearly identify and provide rationale to explain any differences in the way your company processes requests for your retail Internet customers and your wholesale HSA customers’ end-users – and, in the case of Bell Canada, for Virgin Home Internet customers.
      2. What service and/or quality standards are imposed on your technicians that deal with wholesale HSA customers’ end-users? Is there any difference in the standards that apply when they are dealing with a wholesale HSA customer’s end-user versus one of your company’s retail Internet customers – or, in the case of Bell Canada, with a Virgin Home Internet customer? If so, explain why there is a difference.
      3. Should the Commission decide to expand the competitor quality of service (Q of S) regime to implement an HSA component, provide your view, with supporting rationale, on how to measure the time taken to fulfill a service order, beginning at the time the wholesale HSA customer places an order for service installation, repair, and/or in relation to any other customer request for its end-users. Explain how this would allow for easy comparison with service order fulfillment for your retail Internet customers – and, in the case of Bell Canada, for Virgin Home Internet customers.
    2. Indicate whether any Q of S commitments are included in any of the tariffed wholesale services your company offers. If so, list any relevant tariff item numbers and service names, as well as the specific Q of S requirement and associated rebate or other specified remedial measures to address failures.
    3. Indicate whether your company has signed off-tariff agreements for wholesale HSA services between January 2014 and April 2017. If so, provide:
      1. the names of competitors that have signed off-tariff agreements for your wholesale HSA services; and
      2. any clauses that address Q of S, including service intervals, contained in these off-tariff agreements.
    4. Provide your company’s internal service interval targets for the installation, repair, and/or any other service changes associated with retail Internet and/or wholesale HSA services – and, in the case of Bell Canada, with Virgin Home Internet service. Specify any differences by region or province in your operating territory.
    5. Indicate whether your company compiles information about the average service delivery time associated with HSA service installation, repair, and any other service changes for your retail Internet customers and/or your wholesale HSA customers’ end-users – and, in the case of Bell Canada, for Virgin Home Internet customers. If not, why not? If so:
      1. provide a description of the specific delivery time information your company compiles, for both your retail Internet customers and your wholesale HSA customers’ end-users – and, in the case of Bell Canada, for Virgin Home Internet customers;
      2. indicate, with supporting rationale, whether and how the systems and procedures already established for the current Q of S regime and/or for compiling the information described above could be leveraged and extended to include wholesale HSA services; and
      3. provide the average service delivery time associated with each of the following: service installation, repair, and any other service changes. Your response must distinguish averages for (i) your retail Internet customers, and (ii) your wholesale HSA customers’ end-users, and (iii) Virgin Home Internet customers in the case of Bell Canada, for 2014 to 2016 on a monthly basis. If available, provide a breakdown of the information requested in (ii) for each of your wholesale HSA customers.
    6. Identify and provide a brief description of the major ongoing cost components associated with monitoring and reporting for the current competitor Q of S regime. Further, provide your annual ongoing monitoring and reporting costs for each of the years 2014 to 2016, broken down by major cost component. Exclude rebate amounts paid.
  2. Question for Bell Canada:
    1. In paragraph 37 of its intervention, Bell Canada indicated that the current competitor Q of S regime should be eliminated in favour of a complaints-based system like the one that currently applies to the small incumbent local exchange carriers (small ILECs). Explain, in detail,
      1. how this complaint-based system would work; and
      2. how wholesale customers would be able to verify and ensure they receive adequate service from wholesale service providers.
  3. Questions for TCC:
    1. In paragraph 52 of its intervention, TCC indicated that competitor Q of S regulation is unnecessary for any carrier, but should the Commission implement such a regime, a complaint-based competitor Q of S regime for small ILECs and all other carriers would be the least intrusive. Explain in detail,
      1. how this complaint-based competitor Q of S regime would work; and
      2. how wholesale customers would be able to verify and ensure they receive adequate service from wholesale service providers.
    2. In response to the Commission’s request for information dated 23 February 2017, as amended on 13 March 2017, TCC provided
      1. information regarding its service volumes and revenues for all mandated wholesale wireline services, including interconnection services. The company aggregated certain of those services into broader categories and duplicated certain services in different categories (see, for example, categories 7 and 4).

        Provide the requested information, for each individual customer, for each individual service. Include the associated tariff item number. If the identical individual service is provided under more than one tariff, revenues for these services may be aggregated. 

      2. the total amount of rebates it paid per year for each of the past five years. The company provided this information broken down separately by indicator and rebate recipient.

        Provide the amount of rebates paid to each individual rebate recipient for each individual Q of S indicator over each of the past five years.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 24 mai 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0049

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

OBJET : Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49 – Demandes de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49, Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, du 23 février 2017, vous trouverez ci-jointe les demandes de renseignements du personnel du Conseil à Bell Canada, Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) et la Société TELUS Communications (STC).

Les réponses aux demandes de renseignements ci-jointes en annexe doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 23 juin 2017.

Les réponses doivent être fournies dans un seul document afin d’en faciliter l’accessibilité et le traitement administratif. Toutefois, les renseignements fournis sur des feuilles de calcul devraient être joints en annexe, dans le format Excel de Microsoft.

Veuillez contacter Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) au 819-997-4589 si vous avez des questions à propos de cette lettre.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

p.j. : (1)

Liste de distribution : bell.regulatory@bell.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; reglementa@telebec.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com;


PIÈCE JOINTE

  1. Questions adressées à Bell CanadaNote de bas de page1, à SaskTel et à la STC :
    1. Dans le cadre de cette instance, les clients de services Internet dont les fournisseurs de services ont recours aux services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros des entreprises de câblodistribution ou des entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT) ont soumis des interventions concernant des problèmes liés aux services que les fournisseurs de services de gros sous-jacents offrent aussi à leurs clients de services Internet de détail. Ils ont entre autres mentionné :
      • de nombreux rendez-vous manqués;
      • des plages de rendez-vous démesurément longues;
      • des durées démesurément longues pour effectuer des installations ou des réparations associées à leurs services;
      • des problèmes liés à la qualité de leurs services;
      • des techniciens qui tirent avantage des rendez-vous pour les inviter à changer de fournisseur, suggérant qu’un tel changement résoudrait les problèmes liés à la réparation du réseau ou en accélérerait la résolution.

      Un grand nombre de ces intervenants ont ajouté que les clients de services Internet de détail de ces fournisseurs de services AHV de gros ne subissaient pas le même type d’interruptions de service, tant sur le plan de leur fréquence que de leur durée.

      1. Décrivez en détail les processus de votre entreprise pour recevoir, attribuer et traiter les demandes d’installation, de réparation ou les autres demandes de changement de service faites par les utilisateurs finals. Votre réponse devrait décrire les processus pour (i) les clients de votre service Internet de détail, (ii) les clients de vos services AHV de gros, (iii) les clients de vos marques dérivées, le cas échéant (p. ex., dans le cas de Bell Canada, les clients du service Internet résidentiel de Virgin). S’il existe des différences entre les processus pour n’importe quelle de ces activités, identifiez clairement et justifiez toute différence dans la façon dont votre entreprise répond aux demandes de vos clients de services Internet de détail et à celles des utilisateurs finals de vos clients de services AHV de gros – ainsi que pour les clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada.
      2. Quelles sont les normes de service ou de qualité imposées à vos techniciens qui traitent avec les utilisateurs finals de vos clients AVH de gros? Existe-t-il une différence dans les normes qui s'appliquent lorsque vos techniciens traitent avec l'utilisateur final d'un client AVH de gros par rapport à vos clients Internet de détail – ainsi qu’avec les clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada? Si c'est le cas, expliquez pourquoi il y a une différence.
      3. Si le Conseil décidait d’élargir son régime de qualité du service (QS) pour y inclure une composante liée aux services AHV, donnez votre point de vue, avec justification à l’appui, sur la manière de mesurer le temps nécessaire pour remplir une demande de service, depuis le moment où le client de services AHV de gros passe une commande d’installation, de réparation ou toute autre demande à l’intention de ses utilisateurs finals. Expliquez comment votre proposition permettrait de faire aisément une comparaison avec le traitement des demandes de service pour vos clients de services Internet de détail – ainsi qu’avec les clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada.
    2. Indiquez si des engagements en matière de QS sont inclus dans les services de gros tarifés offerts par votre entreprise. Si c’est le cas, énumérez les noms des services et les numéros d’articles tarifaires pertinents, et précisez l’exigence particulière en matière de QS ainsi que le rabais associé ou le recours applicable.
    3. Indiquez si votre entreprise a signé des ententes hors tarif pour des services AHV de gros entre janvier 2014 et avril 2017. Si c’est le cas, veuillez préciser :
      1. le nom des concurrents qui ont signé des ententes hors tarif pour vos services AHV de gros;
      2. toutes les clauses qui concernent la QS, y compris les intervalles de service, contenues dans ces ententes hors tarif.
    4. Fournissez les cibles internes de votre entreprise en matière d’intervalle de service pour l’installation, réparation ou tout autre changement de service associé à vos services Internet de détail ou à vos services AHV de gros – ainsi qu’au service Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada. Identifiez toute différence par région ou province dans votre territoire d'exploitation.
    5. Indiquez si votre entreprise recueille des renseignements sur le temps moyen de prestation de services associés à l’installation, la réparation ou à tout autre changement lié aux services AHV offerts à vos clients de services Internet de détail ou aux utilisateurs finals de vos clients de services AHV de gros– ainsi qu’aux clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada. Dans la négative, pourquoi pas? Dans l’affirmative :
      1. fournissez une description des renseignements spécifiques recueillis par votre entreprise concernant le temps moyen de prestation de services, que ce soit pour vos clients de services Internet de détail ou les utilisateurs finals de vos clients de services AHV de gros– ainsi que pour les clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada;
      2. indiquez, avec justification à l’appui, si les systèmes et procédures déjà en place pour le régime de QS actuel ou pour la collecte de renseignements décrits ci-dessus pourraient être mis à profit dans un régime de QS pour les services AHV de gros, et dans l’affirmative expliquez comment;
      3. fournissez le temps moyen pour la prestation des services suivant : installation, réparation, et tout autre changement de service. Votre réponse doit distinguer, pour chacun des mois de la période de 2014 à 2016, les temps moyens pour (i) vos clients de services Internet de détail; (ii) les utilisateurs finals de vos clients de services AHV de gros; et (iii) les clients Internet résidentiel de Virgin dans le cas de Bell Canada. Si l’information est disponible, veuillez donner la ventilation des renseignements fournis au point (ii) pour chacun de vos clients de services AHV de gros.
    6. Identifiez et fournissez une brève description des composantes principales des coûts récurrents associés à la surveillance et à la production de rapports pour le régime actuel de QS aux concurrents. Fournissez également les coûts récurrents annuels pour la surveillance et la production de rapports pour chacune des années 2014 à 2016, ventilés par principales composantes de coûts. Veuillez exclure les montants de rabais payés.
  2. Question adressée à Bell Canada :
    1. Au paragraphe 37 de son intervention, Bell Canada a mentionné que le régime actuel de QS aux concurrents devrait être éliminé et remplacé par un système fondé sur les plaintes, comme celui utilisé actuellement pour les petites ESLT. Expliquez en détail :
      1. comment ce système fondé sur les plaintes fonctionnerait;
      2. comment les clients de services de gros seraient en mesure de vérifier et de s’assurer qu’ils obtiennent un service adéquat de la part des fournisseurs de services de gros.
  3. Questions adressées à la STC :
    1. Au paragraphe 52 de son intervention, la STC a mentionné que le régime de QS aux concurrents n’est d’aucune utilité pour toutes les entreprises, mais que, si le Conseil doit mettre en œuvre un tel régime, un régime de QS aux concurrents fondé sur les plaintes qui serait applicable aux petites ESLT et aux autres entreprises serait moins intrusif. Expliquez en détail :
      1. comment ce régime de QS aux concurrents fondé sur les plaintes fonctionnerait;
      2. comment les clients de services de gros seraient en mesure de vérifier et de s’assurer qu’ils obtiennent un service adéquat de la part des fournisseurs de services de gros.
    2. En réponse à la demande de renseignements du Conseil, datée du 23 février 2017 et modifiée le 13 mars 2017, la STC a fourni
      1. des renseignements sur ses volumes et ses revenus pour tous les services filaires de gros obligatoires, y compris les services d’interconnexion. L’entreprise a regroupé certains de ces services dans des catégories plus larges et répété certains services dans différentes catégories (voir par exemple, les catégories 7 et 4).

        Veuillez fournir les renseignements requis de façon individuelle pour chaque client et chaque service, et fournir le numéro d’article tarifaire. Lorsqu’un service individuel est offert à plus d’un tarif, les revenus de ces services peuvent être regroupés;

      2. le montant total des rabais que l’entreprise a versés par année pour chacune des cinq dernières années. L’entreprise a ventilé ces renseignements pour chaque indicateur et pour chaque bénéficiaire du rabais séparément.

        Veuillez indiquer le montant des rabais versés à chaque bénéficiaire pour chaque indicateur de QS au cours de chacune des cinq dernières années.

Date de modification :