Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Christopher Hickey (Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc)

Ottawa, 24 May 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0049

BY EMAIL

Mr. Christopher Hickey
Director, Industry Affairs
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.
107-85 Curlew Drive
Toronto, Ontario  M3A 2P8
regulatory@cnoc.ca

RE:  Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49 – Requests for information

Dear Sir:

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Review of the competitor quality of service regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-49, 23 February 2017, attached are requests for information from Commission staff to the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC).

Responses to the requests for information in the attached Appendix are to be filed with the Commission by 23 June 2017.

Responses are to be provided in a single document to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing. However, any information provided in spreadsheet format should be attached as an appendix, in MS Excel format.

Please contact Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) at 819-997-4589 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc,gc,ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


ATTACHMENT

Questions for CNOC:

  1. Refer to paragraph 57 of your intervention where you submitted that services included in the competitor quality of service (Q of S) regime should satisfy two criteria: (1) those services should be mandated wholesale services; and (2) those services must be deliverable at different Q of S performance levels. Clarify what your second proposed criterion refers to (i.e. what you mean by different Q of S performance levels), and provide examples of those performance levels.
  2. Do your members compile information about their wholesale service providers’ average service delivery time associated with the provision of mandated services to your members’ end‑users? If so, provide this information for 2014 to 2016 on a monthly basis for service installation, repair, and any other service changes, for at least your 10 largest members. If available, also provide a breakdown of the information requested above for each of these members’ wholesale service providers.
  3. Identify, and quantify to the extent possible, any barriers to switching wholesale service providers for mandated wholesale services. For example, outline any initial network-related investment as well as any cost to migrate customers over to a new underlying wholesale service.
  4. Provide your views on the feasibility of negotiating the inclusion of Q of S intervals in any off-tariff agreement for mandated wholesale services. Where members have completed or attempted this in the past,
    1. explain the process the member undertook;
    2. identify the other party, the wholesale service(s) in question, and any associated intervals; and
    3. describe the desired outcome, and the actual outcome, of the negotiation.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Christopher Hickey (Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc.)

Ottawa, le 24 mai 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0049

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Christopher Hickey
Directeur, Affaires industrielles
Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc.
85 Curlew Drive, bureau 107
Toronto (Ontario)  M3A 2P8
regulatory@cnoc.ca

OBJET : Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49 – Demandes de renseignements

Monsieur,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-49, Examen du régime de la qualité du service aux concurrents, du 23 février 2017, vous trouverez ci-jointe la demande de renseignements du personnel du Conseil pour le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. (CORC).

Les réponses à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe en annexe doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 23 juin 2017.

Les réponses doivent être fournies dans un seul document afin d’en faciliter l’accessibilité et le traitement administratif. Toutefois, les renseignements fournis sur des feuilles de calcul devraient être joints en annexe, dans le format Excel de Microsoft.

Veuillez contacter Laurie Ventura (laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca) au 819-997-4589 si vous avez des questions à propos de cette lettre.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC, 819-997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, 819-576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca
Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca

p.j. : (1)


PIÈCE JOINTE

Questions adressées au CORC :

  1. Au paragraphe 57 de votre intervention, vous faites valoir que les services devant être compris dans le régime de qualité du service (QS) aux concurrents devraient satisfaire à deux critères : (1) être des services de gros obligatoires et (2) être offerts selon différents niveaux de rendement en matière de QS. Veuillez préciser en quoi consiste le deuxième critère proposé (c.-à-d. qu’entendez-vous par « différents niveaux de rendement en matière de QS »?) et fournir des exemples de ces niveaux de rendement.
  2. Vos membres recueillent-ils des renseignements sur le temps moyen de prestation de services associé à la fourniture de services obligatoires donnés par les fournisseurs de services de gros aux utilisateurs finals de vos membres? Si tel est le cas, veuillez fournir, pour chacun des mois de la période de 2014 à 2016, les temps moyens de prestation de services associés à l’installation, la réparation ou tout autre changement de service, et ce, pour vos dix plus grands membres. Si l’information est disponible, veuillez également fournir une ventilation des renseignements demandés ci-dessus pour chacun des fournisseurs de service de gros de ces membres.
  3. Identifiez et, dans la mesure du possible, quantifiez les obstacles au changement de fournisseur de service de gros pour les services de gros obligatoires. Par exemple, donnez un aperçu de l’investissement initial lié au réseau et des coûts de migration des clients vers un nouveau service de gros sous-jacent.
  4. Donnez votre point de vue sur la faisabilité de négocier l’inclusion d’intervalles de QS dans les ententes hors tarif pour les services de gros obligatoires. Lorsque vos membres ont réussi ou essayé de négocier de tels intervalles dans le passé, veuillez :
    1. expliquer le processus qu’ils ont suivi;
    2. identifier l’autre partie, indiquer les services de gros en question et tout intervalle associé;
    3. décrire le résultat désiré et le résultat réel de la négociation.
Date de modification :