Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel)

Ottawa, 18 May 2017

Our reference: 8740-N1-201703752 8740-N1-2017-3760

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon  Y1A 4Y1
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

RE: Tariff Notice 992– General Tariff – Terrestrial ADSL and Cable Internet and Mackenzie Valley Terrestrial Cable and ADSL Internet Services

Dear Sir:

On 27 April 2017, the Commission received an application by Northwestel, under Tariff Notice 992 (TN 992), in which the company proposed to revise item 1735, Terrestrial Cable and ADSL Internet Services and item 1737, Mackenzie Valley Terrestrial Cable and ADSL Internet Services.

Paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Northwestel is requested to provide the information outlined in the attached Request for Information by 26 May 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


ATTACHMENT

Request for information

Northwestel is proposing to increase the Cable Business Internet 16 download speeds from 16 Mbps to 40 Mbps, upload speeds from 1 Mbps to 4 Mbps, and usage cap from 160 GB to 200 GB for item 1735, Terrestrial Cable and ADSL Internet Services, and item 1737, Mackenzie Valley Terrestrial Cable and ADSL Internet Services.

In addition, Northwestel is proposing to increase the Cable Residential Internet 16 download speeds from 16 Mbps to 20 Mbps, upload speeds from 1 Mbps to 3 Mbps, and usage cap from 110 GB to 150 GB for item 1735 and item 1737.

At paragraph 5 of its application, Northwestel submitted that it is not providing a revised cost study and price floor test because there are no price changes, and the company does not expect demand, package adoption or unit costs to change significantly. The company argued that the price floor tests for the current Internet packages were submitted with Tariff Notice 936, Tariff Notice 961 and Tariff Notice 904 and are positive, and that Northwestel expects the results to remain positive.

Given the various upgrades in Internet packages proposed in TN 992, provide the company's analysis to support the statement that it expects the price floor test results to remain positive.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel)

Ottawa, le 18 mai 2017

Notre référence : 8740-N1-201703752 8740-N1-2017-3760

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel
C.P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y1
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

OBJET :  Avis de modification tarifaire 992 – Tarif général – Liaison asymétrique par voie terrestre et services Internet par câble, et Service Internet par câble et service Internet LNPA de Mackenzie Valley

Monsieur,

Le 27 avril 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Norouestel, dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire 992 (AMT 992), qui proposait de modifier l’article 1735, Liaison asymétrique par voie terrestre et services Internet par câble, et Service Internet par câble et service Internet LNPA de Mackenzie Valley.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Nous demandons à Norouestel de fournir l’information décrite dans la demande de renseignements ci-jointe d’ici le 26 mai 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

p. j.


PIÈCE JOINTE

Demande de renseignements

Norouestel propose d’accroître la vitesse de téléchargement du service Cable Business Internet 16 de 16 Mb/s à 40 Mb/s, la vitesse de téléversement de 1 à 4 Mb/s et la limite d’utilisation de 160 Go à 200 Go pour l’article 1735, Liaison numérique asymétrique par voie terrestre et services Internet par câble, et l’article 1737, Service Internet par câble et service Internet LNPA de Mackenzie Valley.

De plus, Norouestel propose d’accroître la vitesse de téléchargement du service Cable Residential Internet 16 de 16 Mb/s à 20 Mb/s, la vitesse de téléversement de 1 à 3 Mb/s et la limite d’utilisation de 110 Go à 150 Go pour les articles 1735 et 1737.

Au paragraphe 5 de sa demande, Norouestel indique qu’elle ne fournit pas d’étude de coûts et de critères du prix plancher modifiés puisque le prix ne change pas et que l’entreprise ne prévoit pas de changement important de la demande, du taux d’adoption de l’ensemble et des coûts unitaires. L’entreprise fait valoir que les critères du prix plancher pour les ensembles de services Internet actuels ont été déposés avec les avis de modification tarifaire 936, 961 et 904 et sont positifs. De plus, Norouestel prévoit que les résultats demeureront positifs.

Compte tenu des diverses mises à niveau des ensembles de services Internet proposées dans l’AMT 992, fournir l’analyse de l’entreprise pour appuyer l’affirmation qu’elle prévoit que les résultats des tests du prix plancher demeureront positifs.

Date de modification :