Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) and Christopher Hickey (Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc)

Ottawa, 26 April 2017

Our reference: 8662-B2-201612391

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, floor 19
Ottawa, ON  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Christopher Hickey
Director of Industry Affairs
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.
107-85 Curlew Drive
Toronto, ON  M3A 2P8
regulatory@cnoc.ca

RE: Review and Vary and Stay Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379, follow-up to Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over fibre-to-the premises access facilities

Dear Sirs:

On 2 December 2016, Bell Canada filed the above noted application and subsequently filed a revised version of the application on 9 December 2016 (revised application). Comments were received from the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), Public Interest Advocacy Centre, British Columbia Broadband Association, Telus Communication Company, Vaxination Informatique and Zayo Canada Inc.

In order to assist in the analysis of the application, Bell Canada and CNOC are to provide responses to the attached requests for information (RFIs) by 19 May 2017. Parties may file comments limited to the new information provided in response to the RFIs by 5 June 2017 and Bell Canada may file reply comments by 12 June 2017.

Responses to RFIs and comments are to be served on all parties to this application by the specified dates. Copies of the document should also be sent to nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Distribution list


DISTRIBUTION LIST
nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ;


ATTACHMENT

Request for information from Bell Canada

Refer of the company’s 9 December 2016 revised application titled “Review and Vary and Stay Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379, follow-up to Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over fibre-to-the premises access facilities”.

  1. Refer to paragraph 20 where the company stated:

    “Our estimates posit start up co-location costs in most instances to be between $8,356 and $24,943 and monthly operating costs of between $505 and $1050, depending on the equipment required.”

    1. Provide a detailed description of how each of the co-location cost range values for start-up ($8,356 and $24,943) and monthly operating costs ($505 and $1050) were established.
    2. For 1) each range value noted above and 2) for each instance of co-location used to establish the range values, provide the following:
      1. the co-location type;
      2. a breakdown of each of the start-up and monthly costs into the components identified in the company’s co-location tariff CRTC 7516 Item 110 4.e). Further identify each of the costs associated with installing the IC cable that are referenced in the company’s co-location tariff Item 110.4 d);
      3. if any of the components referenced in paragraph 18 of CNOC’s intervention dated 23 January 2017 were not included in the start up costs namely: 1) project management fees, 2) space preparation and 3) charges associated with the installation of IC cable, explain with supporting rationale why they did not apply;
      4. if there are additional charges other than those specified above that apply to co-locate, indicate each additional charge that applies and provide the rate and a brief description of associated activities and explain how the rate was estimated.
  2. Refer to paragraph 18 where the company stated:

    “We compiled all co-locations established from 2009 to present, which are on a variety of interconnection types, to determine an average of costs. While there are a variety of considerations, it should be noted that the median cost was $54,179, with numbers as low as $12,767, far below the hundreds of thousands alleged by Allstream.”

    1. Explain if the above costs (median and low) include both start-up and monthly costs. If yes, provide a breakdown between start-up and monthly costs. If not, and these are start-up costs, provide the monthly costs.
    2. For 1) the median cost co-location ($54,179), 2) the low cost co-location ($12,767) and 3) each of the remaining co-locations included in the company’s compilation of co-locations established from 2009 to the present, provide the following:
      1. the co-location type;
      2. a breakdown of start-up and monthly costs into the components identified in the company’s co-location tariffs CRTC 7516 Item 110 4.e). Further identify all the costs associated with installing the IC cable that are included as referenced in the company’s co-location tariffs Item 110.4 d);
      3. if any of the components referenced in paragraph 18 of CNOC’s submission dated 23 January 2017 were not included in the start up costs namely: 1) project management fees, 2) space preparation and 3) charges associated with the installation of IC cable, explain with supporting rationale why they did not apply;
      4. If there are additional other charges than those specified above that apply to co-locate, indicate each additional charge that applies and provide the rate and a brief description of associated activities and explain how the rate was estimated.
    3. Were co-location requests from CNOC members included in the compiled list of co-locations established from 2009 to the present? If yes, provide details of each of the co-location types requested and the associated co-location charges.

Request for information from CNOC

Refer to CNOC’s 23 January 2017 intervention in the proceeding dealing with Bell Canada’s Part 1 application titled “Review and Vary and Stay Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379, follow-up to Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over fibre-to-the premises access facilities”.

  1. Refer to paragraph 17 where CNOC stated:

    “CNOC members noted that as an absolute minimum, Co-location costs approximately $20,000 in combined “project management fees” and “space preparation” costs.”

    1. If co-location quotes from Bell Canada to CNOC members or charges for existing co-locations were reviewed to obtain the above estimate, provide the following for each quote or existing co-location reviewed;
      1. the co-location type,
      2. the total start-up cost and total monthly cost,
      3. a breakdown of start-up and monthly costs into the components identified in Bell Canada’s co-location tariff CRTC 7516 Item 110 4.e).
    2. If co-location quotes from Bell Canada to CNOC members or charges for existing co-locations were not reviewed to obtain the above estimate, explain how the above costs were obtained.
  2. Refer to paragraph 17 where CNOC stated that:

    “Such estimates do not even include the substantial cost of bringing in fibre from the manhole to the CO transmission equipment” (estimated to be around $10,000)Footnote1 . “However, in the vast majority of cases, entry costs associated with any of the co-locationFootnote2 options can exceed $50,000 and sometimes reach over $100,000, with perpetual monthly recurring costs ranging between $1,000 and $2,500 to cover floor space expenses and power within the CO.”

    1. If co-location quotes from Bell Canada to CNOC members or charges for existing co-locations were reviewed to obtain the above estimates, provide the following for each quote or existing co-location reviewed;
      1. the co-location type,
      2. the total start-up cost and total monthly cost,
      3. a breakdown of start-up and monthly costs into the components identified in Bell Canada’s co-location tariff CRTC 7516 Item 110 4.e).
    2. If co-location quotes from Bell Canada to CNOC members or charges for existing co-locations were not reviewed to obtain the above estimate, explain how the above costs were obtained.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) et à Christopher Hickey (Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc.)

Ottawa, le 26 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8662-B2-201612391

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Canada
19e étage
160, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Christopher Hickey
Directeur, Affaires industrielles
Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc.
107-85, promenade Curlew
Toronto (Ontario)  M3A 2P8
regulatory@cnoc.ca

OBJET :  Demande de révision, modification et sursis de la Décision de        télécom CRTC 2016-379, suivi à la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-326 – Mise en œuvre d’un service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné

Messieurs,

Le 2 décembre 2016, Bell Canada a déposé la demande citée en objet, puis, le 9 décembre 2016, en a déposé une version modifiée (demande modifiée). Le Conseil a reçu des observations du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. (CORC), du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, de la British Columbia Broadband Association, de la Société TELUS Communications, de Vaxination Informatique et de Zayo Canada Inc.
Pour faciliter l’analyse de la demande, Bell Canada et le CORC doivent répondre aux demandes de renseignement ci-jointes (DR) d’ici le 19 mai 2017. Les parties auront ensuite jusqu’au 5 juin 2017 pour déposer des observations portant exclusivement sur les nouveaux renseignements fournis en réponse aux DR, et Bell Canada aura jusqu’au 12 juin 2017 pour déposer des observations en réplique.

Les réponses aux DR et les observations doivent être signifiées à toutes les parties concernées par la présente demande d’ici les dates susmentionnées. Une copie des réponses et des observations doit également être envoyée à nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca.
Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
La directrice,

L’original signé par :

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissements des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Liste de distribution


LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca


PIÈCE JOINTE

Demande de renseignements adressée à Bell Canada

Se reporter à la demande modifiée que l’entreprise a déposée le 9 décembre 2016, qui s’intitule « Demande de révision, modification et sursis de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016 379, suivi à la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015 326 – Mise en œuvre d’un service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné ».

  1. Se reporter au paragraphe 20, où l’entreprise a déclaré ce qui suit :

    « Selon nos estimations, les coûts initiaux de co-implantation dans la plupart des cas se situent entre 8 356 $ et 24 943 $, et les coûts d’exploitation mensuels, entre 505 $ et 1 050 $, tout dépendant du matériel requis. »

    1. Fournissez une description détaillée de la manière dont chacune des valeurs des coûts initiaux de co-implantation (entre 8 356 $ et 24 943 $) et les coûts d’exploitation mensuels (entre 505 $ et 1 050 $) ont été établis.
    2. Pour 1. chaque valeur susmentionnée et 2. chaque cas de co-implantation utilisé pour établir les valeurs, indiquez ce qui suit :
      1. le type de co-implantation;
      2. une répartition de chacun des coûts initiaux et mensuels dans les composantes indiquées à l’alinéa 110 4.e) du Tarif de co-implantation CRTC 7516 de l’entreprise, puis chacun des coûts associés à l’installation du câble IC qui figurent à l’alinéa 110 4.d) du Tarif de co-implantation de l’entreprise;
      3. si une des composantes mentionnées au paragraphe 18 de l’intervention du CORC datée du 23 janvier 2017 n’a pas été incluse dans les coûts initiaux, soit 1. les frais de gestion de projet, 2. les frais liés à la préparation de l’espace et 3. les frais associés à l’installation du câble IC, expliquez pourquoi elle ne s’appliquait pas, avec justification à l’appui;
      4. si d’autres frais supplémentaires en plus de ceux susmentionnés s’appliquent à la co-implantation, inscrivez tous les frais supplémentaires qui s’appliquent, le tarif et une courte description des activités connexes et expliquez comment le tarif a été estimé.
  2. Se reporter au paragraphe 18, où l’entreprise a déclaré ce qui suit :

    « Nous avons compilé toutes les co-implantations établies de 2009 jusqu’à présent, pour lesquelles divers types d’interconnexion sont utilisés, afin de calculer la moyenne des coûts. Bien que plusieurs facteurs entrent en ligne de compte, il est à noter que le coût médian était de 54 179 $, et qu’il y avait des coûts aussi faibles que 12 767 $, ce qui est bien moins que les centaines de milliers de dollars prétendus par Allstream. »

    1. Expliquez si les coûts susmentionnés (le coût médian et les coûts faibles) comprennent les coûts initiaux et mensuels. Le cas échéant, fournissez une répartition de ces deux types de coûts. Si non, et s’il s’agit de coûts initiaux, indiquez les coûts mensuels.
    2. Pour 1. le coût médian des co-implantations (54 179 $), 2. la co-implantation ayant été établie à faible coût (12 767 $) et 3. chacune des autres co-implantations faisant partie de la compilation des co-implantations établies de 2009 jusqu’à présent qui a été effectuée par l’entreprise, indiquez ce qui suit :
      1. le type de co-implantation;
      2. une répartition des coûts initiaux et mensuels dans les composantes indiquées à l’alinéa 110 4.e) du Tarif de co-implantation CRTC 7516 de l’entreprise, puis chacun des coûts associés à l’installation du câble IC qui figurent à l’alinéa 110 4.d) du Tarif de co-implantation de l’entreprise;
      3. si une des composantes mentionnées au paragraphe 18 de l’intervention du CORC datée du 23 janvier 2017 n’a pas été incluse dans les coûts initiaux, soit 1. les frais de gestion de projet, 2. les frais liés à la préparation de l’espace et 3. les frais associés à l’installation du câble IC, expliquez pourquoi elle ne s’appliquait pas, avec justification à l’appui;
      4. si d’autres frais supplémentaires en plus de ceux susmentionnés s’appliquent à la co-implantation, inscrivez tous les frais supplémentaires qui s’appliquent, le tarif et une courte description des activités connexes et expliquez comment le tarif a été estimé.
    3. Les demandes de co-implantation des membres du CORC faisaient-elles partie de la liste compilée des co-implantations établies de 2009 jusqu’à présent? Le cas échéant, fournissez des détails concernant chacun des types de co-implantation demandés et indiquez les frais de co-implantation qui y sont associés.

Demande de renseignements adressée à CNOC

Se reporter à l’intervention du CORC datée du 23 janvier 2017 dans le cadre de l’instance concernant la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Bell Canada, qui s’intitule « Demande de révision, modification et sursis de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016 379, suivi à la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015 326 – Mise en œuvre d’un service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné ».

  1. Se reporter au paragraphe 17, où le CORC a déclaré ce qui suit :

    « Les membres du CORC ont remarqué qu’au strict minimum, la co-implantation coûte environ 20 000 $ en frais combinés de « frais de gestion de projet » et de « frais liés à la préparation de l’espace ».

    1. Si les prix proposés aux membres du CORC par Bell Canada relativement à la co-implantation ou les frais des co-implantations existantes ont été examinés pour obtenir l’estimation susmentionnée, indiquez ce qui suit pour tous les prix proposés ou les frais des co-implantations existantes qui ont été examinés :
      1. le type de co-implantation;
      2. le total des coûts initiaux et le total des coûts mensuels;
      3. une répartition des coûts initiaux et mensuels dans les composantes indiquées à l’alinéa 110 4.e) du Tarif de co-implantation CRTC 7516 de Bell Canada.
    2. Si les prix proposés aux membres du CORC par Bell Canada relativement à la co-implantation ou les frais des co-implantations existantes n’ont pas été examinés pour obtenir l’estimation susmentionnée, expliquez comment les coûts susmentionnés ont été obtenus.
  2. Se reporter au paragraphe 17, où le CORC a déclaré ce qui suit :

    « Ces estimations ne comprennent même pas le coût important requis pour aller chercher la fibre dans le trou d’homme et la transférer dans l’équipement de transmission du central » (évalué à près de 10 000 $)Note de bas de page1. « Cependant, dans la grande majorité des cas, les coûts d’entrée associés à toutes les options de co-implantationNote de bas de page2 peuvent être supérieurs à 50 000 $ et excéder parfois 100 000 $, et les coûts récurrents mensuels permanents varient entre 1 000 $ et 2 500 $ pour couvrir les dépenses liées à l’espace et le courant dans le central. »

    1. Si les prix proposés aux membres du CORC par Bell Canada relativement à la co-implantation ou les frais des co-implantations existantes ont été examinés pour obtenir l’estimation susmentionnée, indiquez ce qui suit pour tous les prix proposés ou les frais des co-implantations existantes qui ont été examinés :
      1. le type de co-implantation;
      2. le total des coûts initiaux et le total des coûts mensuels;
      3. une répartition des coûts initiaux et mensuels dans les composantes indiquées à l’alinéa 110 4.e) du Tarif de co-implantation CRTC 7516 de Bell Canada.
    2. Si les prix proposés aux membres du CORC par Bell Canada relativement à la co-implantation ou les frais des co-implantations existantes n’ont pas été examinés pour obtenir l’estimation susmentionnée, expliquez comment les coûts susmentionnés ont été obtenus.
Date de modification :