Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless) and Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 18 April 2017

Our reference: 8620-J106-201601633

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President & CEO
Ice Wireless
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

Mr. Howard Slawner
Vice President, Regulatory Telecom
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350 Bloor Street East, 6th Floor
Toronto, Ontario  M4A 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Re: Follow-up to Telecom Decision 2017-57– Ice Wireless Inc. – Application regarding roaming on Rogers Communications Canada Inc.’s network by customers of Ice Wireless Inc. and Sugar Mobile Inc.

Dear Mr. Bishay and Mr. Slawner:

In Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-57Footnote1 , the Commission determined that Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) had improperly allowed the end-users of Sugar Mobile Inc. (Sugar Mobile) to obtain permanent, rather than incidental, access to Rogers Communications Canada Inc.’s (RCCI) cellular network. The Commission directed Ice Wireless to file the following:

The Commission also stated that, should Ice Wireless fail to comply with the directions and continue to permit Sugar Mobile to make unauthorized use of RCCI’s network, RCCI may cease providing mandated wholesale roamingFootnote2 to Ice Wireless starting no earlier than 1 May 2017.

In letters filed with the Commission on 30 March, 3 April, and 7 April 2017, Ice Wireless provided its plan to comply with the decision and requested an extension of the 20 April 2017 delay, citing, amongst other things system updates requirements and that it needed to communicate with many customers and manually assess unauthorized use of RCCI’s network. In a letter dated 11 April 2017 filed with the Commission, RCCI stated that it was generally satisfied by Ice Wireless’ proposal.

In light of the technical and logistical challenges noted in the Ice Wireless submissions and Rogers’ position that it is generally satisfied with Ice Wireless’ proposal, the Commission extends the deadline for Ice Wireless to file confirmation with the Commission that it has implemented its plans from 20 April 2017 to 22 May 2017. In the circumstances, Ice Wireless can proceed with its plans to bring itself into compliance with Telecom Decision 2017-57 having regard to the modified deadline, and that, as agreed between Ice Wireless and RCCI:

The Commission also extends the date by which RCCI may cease providing mandated wholesale roaming to Ice Wireless from no earlier than 1 May 2017 to no earlier than 1 June 2017 if Ice Wireless fails to comply with the above.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c.:  Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless) et à Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 18 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8620-J106-201601633

PAR COURRIEL

M. Samer Bishay
Président-directeur général
Ice Wireless
675, promenade Cochrane, 6e étage, tour Est
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

M. Howard Slawner
Vice-président, Réglementation, télécommunications
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350, rue Bloor Est, 6e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M4A 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Suivi de la décision de télécom 2017-57 – Ice Wireless Inc. – Demande concernant l’itinérance des clients d’Ice Wireless Inc. et de Sugar Mobile Inc. sur le réseau de Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

Messieurs Bishay et Slawner,

Dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2017-57Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a établi qu’Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) a permis à tort aux utilisateurs finals de Sugar Mobile Inc. (Sugar Mobile) d’obtenir un accès permanent, plutôt qu’un accès temporaire, au réseau cellulaire de Rogers Communications Canada (RCCI). Le Conseil a ordonné à Ice Wireless de déposer ce qui suit :

Le Conseil a également déclaré que si Ice Wireless ne respecte pas les exigences et continue de permettre à Sugar Mobile d’utiliser le réseau de RCCI de manière non autorisée, RCCI peut mettre fin à l’itinérance de gros obligatoireNote de bas de page2 offerte à Ice Wireless au plus tôt le 1er mai 2017.

Dans des lettres envoyées au Conseil datées du 30 mars, du 3 avril et du 7 avril 2017, Ice Wireless a fourni les plans qu’elle comptait adopter pour se conformer à la décision et a demandé que la date limite du 20 avril soit reportée au motif qu’elle devait apporter des modifications à ses systèmes, communiquer avec de nombreux clients et évaluer manuellement l’utilisation non autorisée du réseau de RCCI. Dans une lettre au Conseil datée du 11 avril 2017, RCCI a déclaré être généralement satisfaite de la proposition d’Ice Wireless.

À la lumière des défis techniques et logistiques soulignés dans les observations d’Ice Wireless et du fait que Rogers est généralement satisfaite de la proposition d’Ice Wireless, le Conseil reporte, du 20 avril 2017 au 22 mai 2017, la date limite imposée à Ice Wireless pour le dépôt de la confirmation du fait qu’elle a mis en place ses plans. Ainsi, Ice Wireless peut mettre en œuvre ses plans visant la conformité à la décision de télécom 2017-57 en fonction de la nouvelle échéance et, comme en ont convenu Ice Wireless et RCCI :

Le Conseil reporte également du 1er mai 2017 au 1er juin 2017 la date à partir de laquelle RCCI peut cesser d’offrir des services d’itinérance de gros obligatoires à Ice Wireless si Ice Wireless ne se conforme pas aux exigences ci-dessus.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire général,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

c. c. Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com

Date de modification :