Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to OnSwitch Inc.

Ottawa, 13 April 2017

Our references: 8663-C12-201015470 & 766372

BY EMAIL

OnSwitch Inc.
PO Box 25058
Keswick, ON  L4P 4C2
info@onswitchit.ca

Re: Request for information - Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service and registration with the Commission

To whom it may concern:

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (the Commission) regulates, among other things, the provision of 9-1-1 service by local Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service providers pursuant to the Telecommunications Act (the Act).

The Commission received a complaint on 17 March 2017Footnote1 claiming that OnSwitch Inc. (OnSwitch) was offering VoIP service without proper approval and without offering a 9-1-1 emergency service. In addition, Commission staff noted in early April that on its website, OnSwitch stated that "OnSwitch Cloud Phone does not provide emergency/911 services, and should not be used as a replacement landline or mobile access to emergency assistance services. Calls to emergency services from an OnSwitch Cloud Phone device will not be connected." The OnSwitch website has since then been revised to indicate that E9-1-1 services are provided as part of the company’s Cloud Phone service.

In light of the importance of 9-1-1 emergency service to the Canadian public, the Commission is working to ensure that local VoIP service providers in Canada adhere to their obligations related to the provision of 9-1-1 service.

The emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers in Canada are set out in Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-21, Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers and Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-61, Follow-up to Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers, Decision 2005-21- Customer notification requirements.

There are three obligations major which local VoIP service providers in Canada must meet:

  1. Provide 9-1-1 service to the company’s customers.
  2. Provide information to customers explaining the limitations of and/or differences between VoIP 9-1-1 and traditional 9-1-1, and obtain from customers express consent to such limitations.
    1. Register with the Commission as a reseller (or as a Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC) if the company owns or operates facilities in Canada), and
    2. Obtain a BITS licence (Basic International Telecommunications Services licence) from the Commission.
    For queries on these registration matters please call 866-845-6036 or write cd-dc@crtc.gc.ca

If OnSwitch is providing VoIP service, you must provide information to the Commission demonstrating that your company is in compliance with these obligations. The details of the obligations, and what is required to be submitted to the Commission, are on the following link: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm. Follow the Service Provider Obligations link, and click on Reseller if your company is not a facilities-based carrier: The information to be submitted is set out in the section titled: Attachment 1 to your letter to the Commission.

If your company is a telecommunications common carrier (owns or operates its own facilities), such as a CLEC, there are additional non-9-1-1 related obligations that also have to be met. The link above has a section on Carriers.

If you would like to see a sample of abridgedFootnote2 documents that other companies have submitted, please check here: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/PartVII/eng/2010/8663/c12_201015470.htm.

You are requested to provide a response to the Commission by 04 May 2017, showing that your company meets the three obligations listed above. The letter should be addressed to the Commission’s Secretary General with the subject and file numbers indicated at the top of this letter, to ensure proper routing of your document. If you have already provided the required information to the Commission, please provide the date and original company name for which the registration was submitted.

If OnSwitch is not a VoIP service provider and does not intend to offer this service in the near future, please confirm this by email to wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca by the above-noted date so that the Commission’s registration records can be updated to reflect that there is no requirement for OnSwitch to meet the VoIP 9-1-1 obligations.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications sector

c.c.: Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à OnSwitch Inc.

Ottawa, le 13 avril 2017

Nos références : 8663-C12-201015470 & 766372

PAR COURRIEL

OnSwitch Inc.
C.P. 25058
Keswick (Ontario) L4P 4C2
info@onswitchit.ca

Objet : Demande de renseignements – Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service d’urgence 9­1­1 et de l’inscription auprès du Conseil

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (le Conseil) régit, entre autres, la fourniture du service 9-1-1 par des fournisseurs de services téléphoniques par protocole Internet (VoIP) locaux aux termes de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi).

Le Conseil a reçu une plainte le 17 mars 2017Note de bas de page1 selon laquelle OnSwitch Inc. (OnSwitch) offrait le service VoIP sans l’approbation appropriée et sans offrir un service d’urgence 9-1-1. De plus, le personnel du Conseil a remarqué au début d’avril que sur son site Web, OnSwitch indiquait que « le téléphone infonuagique OnSwitch ne fournit pas les services d’urgence 9-1-1, et ne doit pas être utilisé pour remplacer une ligne terrestre ou un accès mobile aux services d’aide en cas d’urgence. Les appels aux services d’urgence à partir d’un appareil téléphonique infonuagique OnSwitch ne seront pas acheminés ». Le site Web d’OnSwitch a depuis fait l’objet d’une révision pour indiquer que les services d’urgence 9-1-1 sont fournis dans le cadre du service de téléphone infonuagique de l’entreprise.

Étant donné l’importance du service d’urgence 9-1-1 pour le public canadien, le Conseil veille à s’assurer que les fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada respectent leurs obligations en ce qui concerne la fourniture du service 9-1-1.

Ces obligations ont été imposées aux fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-21, Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard des services d’urgence et la Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-61, Suivi de la décision Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard des services d’urgence, Décision 2005-21 – Exigences relatives à un avis aux clients.

Il y a trois obligations principales auxquelles doivent satisfaire les fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux au Canada :

  1. Fournir le service 9-1-1 aux clients de l’entreprise.
  2. Fournir des renseignements aux clients pour expliquer les limites et/ou les différences entre le service d’urgence VoIP 9-1-1 et le service 9-1-1 traditionnel, et obtenir le consentement exprès des clients à ces limites.
    1. a) S’inscrire auprès du Conseil en tant que revendeur (ou comme une entreprise de services locaux concurrente (ESLC) si l’entreprise possède ou exploite des installations au Canada).
    2. b) Obtenir une licence STIB (services de télécommunication internationale de base) auprès du Conseil.
    Pour les demandes de renseignements au sujet de ces inscriptions, veuillez composer le 866-845-6036 ou écrire à l’adresse de courriel cd-dc@crtc.gc.ca.

Si OnSwitch fournit le service VoIP, vous devez fournir les renseignements au Conseil qui démontrent que votre entreprise respecte ces obligations. Vous trouverez les détails des obligations et ce qui doit être présenté au Conseil en consultant le lien suivant : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/index.htm. Cliquez sur le lien Obligations des fournisseurs de service, puis sur Revendeurs si votre entreprise n’est pas une entreprise dotée d’installations : les renseignements à soumettre sont indiqués à la rubrique intitulée Pièce jointe 1 de la lettre au Conseil.

Si votre entreprise est une entreprise de télécommunication (possède ou exploite ses propres installations), comme une ESLC, il y a d’autres obligations non liées au service 9-1-1 qui doivent aussi être respectées. Le lien ci-dessus a aussi une rubrique pour les Entreprises.

Si vous désirez consulter des exemples de documents abrégésNote de bas de page2 soumis par d’autres entreprises, veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/partvii/fra/2010/8663/c12_201015470.htm.

Vous devez répondre au Conseil au plus tard le 4 mai 2017,en indiquant que votre entreprise satisfait aux trois obligations mentionnées précédemment. La lettre doit être adressée à l’attention de la secrétaire générale avec l’objet et les numéros de dossier indiqués au haut de la présente lettre, afin d’assurer l’acheminement approprié de votre document. Si vous avez déjà transmis les renseignements demandés au Conseil, veuillez indiquer la date et le nom original de l’entreprise pour laquelle l’inscription a été présentée.

Si OnSwitch n’est pas un fournisseur de service VoIP et n’a pas l’intention d’offrir ce service dans un avenir rapproché, veuillez le confirmer par courriel à wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca au plus tard à la date indiquée précédemment, afin que les dossiers du Conseil puissent être mis à jour pour tenir compte du fait que OnSwitch n’est pas tenue de respecter les obligations relatives au service d’urgence VoIP 9-1-1.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :