Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 12 April 2017

Our reference: 8640-B2-201606245

BY EMAIL

RE: Bell Canada – Application for forbearance from the regulation of billing and collection service – Request for information

Madam, Sir:

The Commission received a Part 1 application from Bell Canada, dated 14 June 2016, in which the company requested that the Commission forbear from regulating the billing and collection service (BCS) provided by the company and its affiliates (collectively, the Bell companies) throughout its operating territory.Footnote1

Pursuant to paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure and section 37 of the Telecommunications Act, the Commission may require a party to provide information, particulars or documents that it considers necessary to enable the Commission to reach a full and satisfactory understanding of the subject matter of the proceeding.

Bell Canada, as well as the competitive local exchange carriers (CLECs) and BCS wholesale customers included in the distribution list are requested to provide comprehensive answers, including any supporting information, to the attached questions with respect to the forbearance application by 12 May 2017.

Any party may file interventions on the responses to the requests for information with the Commission, and serve copies on all other parties by 26 May 2017. Any party may file reply comments with the Commission, and serve copies on all other parties by 2 June 2017.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential.  A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Laurie Ventura for

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca 
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
PIAC, jlawford@piac.ca, gwhite@piac.ca
CNOC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Distribution list:
Phillippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Stephen Schmidt, TCC, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor, regaffairs@quebecor.com
Shaw, regulatory@sjrb.ca
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Caztel, presidente@caztel.com; stephen.abbott@caztel.com
Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca
Fastrack and Triton, gfietz@tritonglobal.ca
Telehop, brovet@rovetlaw.com 
Yak, yakregulatory@globalive.com
MTS Inc, regulatory@mts.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications document.control@sasktel.com

Questions for Bell Canada:

  1. Refer to paragraph 20 of Bell Canada’s application where the company has listed the BCS tariffs for which it is seeking forbearance.
    1. Confirm that Bell Canada’s forbearance application does not apply to billing and collection arrangements provided to local authorities for the collection of 9-1-1 municipal charges from its end-users.
    2. Bell Canada is requesting forbearance from the regulation of the Bell companies' BCS throughout its operating territory. Explain why Bell Canada is seeking forbearance for its CLEC tariff, given that the company’s CLEC tariff does not apply within the Bell companies’ incumbent operating territory.
  2. Refer to paragraph 49 of Bell Canada’s application where the company provides the number of its BCS wholesale customers in Ontario and Quebec, and associated revenues.
    1. Provide the names of the BCS wholesale customers served by the Bell companies in all areas covered by the application (i.e. in Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador).
    2. For the entire operating territory described in the application, and for each of the years 2010 to 2016, provide a breakdown, for each of the BCS wholesale customers identified in a) above, of: (i) the revenues associated with BCS, and (ii) the number of eligible calls processed through BCS.
  3. Refer to paragraph 22 of Bell Canada’s reply dated 22 August 2016, where the company provides the percentage of “our total BCS calls” that were related to collect and bill-to-third calls for the time period over which this information was readily available (i.e. 13.5 months at the time Bell Canada filed its reply).
    1. Indicate for which of the Bell companies this percentage applies.
    2. Confirm whether this percentage refers to the number of calls the Bell companies processed for their BCS wholesale customers.
      1. If so, provide, for the time period over which this information is now readily available (i.e. that 13.5 months and any month after that period), a monthly breakdown of eligible calls processed through BCS for each of the following categories: casual dial-around toll calls, 900 service calls, collect calls, and bill-to-third calls.
      2. If not, explain what this percentage refers to.
  4. Refer to paragraph 15 of TCC’s intervention, where TCC indicates that the regulatory status of BCS must depend on the eligible service that each BCS transaction supports. If the Commission were to forbear from regulating only a subset of BCS-eligible services, provide your view, with supporting rationale on:
    1. the ability of the Bell companies to distinguish BCS transactions based on the eligible service supported; and
    2. the need to request that the CISC Business Process Working Group review and amend the guidelines and processes associated with BCS to accommodate the provision of BCS depending on the service for which BCS is being provided.
  5. With respect to the Bell companies’ retail wireline long distance services, for each of the years 2010 to 2016, provide the number of
    1. your retail wireline long distance service customers; and
    2. long distance calls originating from your retail wireline long distance service customers (i.e. excluding long distance calls made to the companies’ BCS wholesale customers).

Questions for Eastlink, Québécor, Rogers, and Cogeco

  1. Refer to paragraph 15 of TCC’s intervention where TCC indicates that the regulatory status of BCS must depend on the eligible service that each BCS transaction supports. If the Commission were to forbear from regulating BCS only for a subset of BCS eligible services, provide your view, with supporting rationale on:
    1. the ability of your company to distinguish BCS transactions based on the eligible service supported; and
    2. the need to request that the CISC Business Process Working Group review and amend the guidelines and processes associated with BCS to accommodate the provision of BCS depending on the service for which BCS is being provided.
  2. Provide the names of your BCS wholesale customers in the operating territory defined in the application.
  3. For each of the years 2010 to 2016, and for each of the BCS wholesale customers identified in 2) above, provide a breakdown of (i) the revenues associated with BCS, and (ii) the number of eligible calls processed through BCS in the operating territory defined in the application.
  4. For each of the years 2015 and 2016, provide a breakdown of BCS calls processed by your company for your BCS wholesale customers in the operating territory defined in the application, for each of the following categories: casual dial-around toll calls, 900 service calls, collect calls, and bill-to-third calls.
  5. With respect to your retail wireline long distance services, for each of the years 2010 to 2016, provide the number of
    1. your retail wireline long distance service customers; and
    2. long distance calls originating from your retail wireline long distance service customers (i.e. excluding long distance calls made to your company’s BCS wholesale customers).

Questions for Caztel, Distributel, Fastrack and Triton, Telehop, and Yak:

Note: While the information below is also requested regarding TCC’s application to forbear from the regulation of BCS (reference 8640-T66-201608408), responses must be filed separately on the record of both Bell Canada’s application and TCC’s application.

  1. For each of the years 2010 to 2016, and for each of the BCS-eligible wireline services (i.e. casual dial-around toll calls, 900 service calls, collect calls, and bill-to-third calls), provide a breakdown of
    1. your annual revenue per eligible service;
    2. the annual number of calls made per eligible service; and
    3. the annual number of individual customers per eligible service.

    Provide the information for each BCS eligible wireline service in the table below (one table per service):

      Revenue # of calls # of customers
    2010      
    2011      
    2012      
    2013      
    2014      
    2015      
    2016      
  2. In addition to using BCS, does your company accept alternative payment methods (e.g. bills sent directly from your company, debit/credit cards, preauthorized debit payments, gift cards) for BCS-eligible wireline services? If so, for each of the years 2010 to 2016 and for each alternative payment method, provide a breakdown of
    1. the annual revenues associated with each alternative payment method;
    2. the annual number of calls processed through each alternative payment method; and
    3. the annual number of customers that chose to use each of your alternative payment methods.

    Provide the information for each alternative payment option in the table below (one table per payment method):

      Revenue # of calls # of customers
    2010      
    2011      
    2012      
    2013      
    2014      
    2015      
    2016      
  3. If your company accepts any alternative payment methods for BCS-eligible wireline services, indicate whether your company imposes any limitation on the use of these alternatives (e.g. minimum number of calls to be made, or minimum amount to be spent monthly). If so, specify what these limitations are and why they are imposed.
  4. If your company does not accept any alternative payment methods for BCS-eligible wireline services, explain why not.

Questions for MTS, SaskTel, Shaw

  1. Refer to paragraph 15 of TCC’s intervention, where TCC indicates that the regulatory status of BCS must depend on the eligible service that each BCS transaction supports. If the Commission were to forbear from regulating BCS only for a subset of BCS eligible services, provide your view, with supporting rationale on:
    1. the ability of your company to distinguish BCS transactions based on the eligible service supported; and
    2. the need to request that the CISC Business Process Working Group review and amend the guidelines and processes associated with BCS to accommodate the provision of BCS depending on the service for which BCS is being provided.
  2. With respect to your retail wireline long distance services, for each of the years 2010 to 2016, provide the number of
    1. your retail wireline long distance service customers; and
    2. long distance calls originating from your retail wireline long distance service customers (i.e. excluding long distance calls made to your company’s BCS wholesale customers).

Questions for TCC

  1. Refer to paragraph 15 of TCC’s intervention where TCC indicates that the regulatory status of BCS must depend on the eligible service that each BCS transaction supports. If the Commission were to forbear from regulating BCS only for a subset of BCS-eligible services, provide your view, with supporting rationale, on the ability of your company to distinguish BCS transactions based on the eligible service supported.
  2. With respect to your retail wireline long distance services, for each of the years 2010 to 2016, provide the number of
    1. your retail wireline long distance service customers; and
    2. long distance calls originating from your retail wireline long distance service customers (i.e. excluding long distance calls made to your company’s BCS wholesale customers).
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 12 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8640-B2-201606245

PAR COURRIEL

Objet : Bell Canada – Demande d’abstention de la réglementation du service de facturation et de perception – demande de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1 de la part de Bell Canada, datée du 14 juin 2016, dans laquelle la compagnie demandait que le Conseil s’abstienne de réglementer le service de facturation et de perception (SFP) offert par la compagnie et ses affiliées (ci-après appelées collectivement les compagnies Bell) dans l’ensemble de son territoire d’exploitation.Note de bas de page1

Conformément à l’alinéa 28(1)(a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications et à l’article 37 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements, les précisions ou les documents qu’il estime être nécessaires pour bien comprendre la question sur laquelle porte l’instance.

Bell Canada, les entreprises de services locaux concurrents (ESLC) et les clients du SFP de gros faisant partie de la liste de distribution sont priés de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris tout renseignement à l’appui, aux questions ci-jointes concernant la demande d’abstention d’ici le 12 mai 2017.

Toute partie peut déposer des observations sur les réponses aux demandes de renseignements auprès du Conseil et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties au plus tard le 26 mai 2017. Toutes les parties peuvent déposer des observations en réplique auprès du Conseil et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties, au plus tard le 2 juin 2017.

Tel qu’il est établi à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, des personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels.

Quiconque agit ainsi doit en expliquer en détail les raisons et préciser pourquoi la communication de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, incluant les raisons pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Nous vous rappelons que lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié au plus tard à une date précise, il doit avoir été reçu et non simplement envoyé au plus tard à cette date.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La directrice, 

L’original signé par Laurie Ventura pour

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications
c.c. : Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca 
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, 819-997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
CDIP, jlawford@piac.ca, gwhite@piac.ca
CORC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Liste de distribution
Phillippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Stephen Schmidt, STC, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor, regaffairs@quebecor.com
Shaw, regulatory@sjrb.ca
Cogeco, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Caztel, presidente@caztel.com; stephen.abbott@caztel.com
Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca
Fastrack et Triton, gfietz@tritonglobal.ca
Telehop, brovet@rovetlaw.com 
Yak, yakregulatory@globalive.com
MTS inc, regulatory@mts.ca
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com

Questions adressées à Bell Canada

  1. Référez-vous au paragraphe 20 de la demande présentée par Bell Canada où la compagnie a fourni une liste des tarifs du SFP pour lesquels elle demande une abstention.
    1. Confirmez que la demande d’abstention de Bell Canada ne s’applique pas aux services de facturation et de perception fournis aux autorités locales pour la perception des frais municipaux 9-1-1 auprès de ses utilisateurs finals.
    2. Bell Canada demande une abstention de la réglementation du SFP des compagnies Bell pour l’ensemble de son territoire d’exploitation. Expliquez pourquoi Bell Canada demande une abstention pour son tarif d’ESLC étant donné que celui-ci ne s’applique pas au territoire titulaire des compagnies Bell.
  2. Référez-vous au paragraphe 49 de la demande présentée par Bell Canada où la compagnie fournit le nombre de ses clients du SFP de gros en Ontario et au Québec ainsi que les revenus connexes.
    1. Indiquez le nom des clients du SFP de gros desservis par les compagnies Bell dans l’ensemble des régions visées par la demande (c.-à-d. en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).
    2. Pour l’ensemble du territoire d’exploitation indiqué dans la demande et pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, fournissez une ventilation pour chacun des clients du SFP de gros indiqués en réponse à la question 2.a) ci-dessus (i) des revenus associés au SFP et (ii) du nombre d’appels admissibles traités par l’entremise du SFP.
  3. Référez-vous au paragraphe 22 de la réplique de Bell Canada datée du 22 août 2016 où la compagnie fournit le pourcentage du « total de nos appels SFP » à frais virés ou facturés à un tiers pour la période pendant laquelle cette information était facilement accessible (c.-à-d. 13,5 mois au moment où Bell Canada a déposé sa réplique).
    1. Indiquez à laquelle des compagnies Bell ce pourcentage s’applique.
    2. Confirmez si ce pourcentage se rapporte au nombre d’appels que les compagnies Bell ont traités pour leurs clients du SFP de gros.
      1. Le cas échéant, fournissez, pour la période pendant laquelle cette information est maintenant facilement accessible (c.-à-d. les 13,5 mois en question et tout mois après cette période), une ventilation mensuelle des appels admissibles traités par l’entremise du SFP pour chacune des catégories suivantes : appels interurbains de contournement occasionnels, appels au service 900, appels à frais virés et appels facturés à un tiers.
      2. Si non, expliquez à quoi ce pourcentage se rapporte.
  4. Référez-vous au paragraphe 15 de l’intervention de la STC, où cette dernière indique que le statut réglementaire du SFP doit dépendre du service admissible que chaque transaction du SFP appuie. Si le Conseil s’abstenait de réglementer uniquement un sous-ensemble de services admissibles au SFP, donnez votre point de vue, justifications à l’appui, sur :
    1. la capacité des compagnies Bell à distinguer les transactions du SFP selon le service admissible associé;
    2. la nécessité de demander que le groupe de travail Plan de travail du CDCI examine et modifie les lignes directrices et les processus associés au SFP afin de permettre la prestation de ce dernier selon le service pour lequel il est offert.
  5. En ce qui a trait aux services interurbains filaires de détail des compagnies Bell, indiquez, pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, le nombre :
    1. de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail;
    2. d’appels interurbains en provenance de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail (c.-à-d. excluant les appels interurbains faits aux clients du SFP de gros des compagnies).

Questions adressées à Eastlink, Québécor, Rogers et Cogeco

  1. Référez-vous au paragraphe 15 de l’intervention de la STC, où cette dernière indique que le statut réglementaire du SFP doit dépendre du service admissible que chaque transaction du SFP appuie. Si le Conseil s’abstenait de réglementer le SFP uniquement dans le cas d’un sous-ensemble de services admissibles au SFP, donnez votre point de vue, justifications à l’appui, sur :
    1. la capacité de votre entreprise à distinguer les transactions du SFP selon le service admissible associé;
    2. la nécessité de demander que le groupe de travail Plan de travail du CDCI examine et modifie les lignes directrices et les processus associés au SFP afin de permettre la prestation de ce dernier selon le service pour lequel il est offert.
  2. Indiquez le nom de vos clients du SFP de gros dans le territoire d’exploitation défini dans la demande.
  3. Pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016 et pour chacun des clients du SFP de gros indiqués en réponse à la question 2 ci-dessus, fournissez une ventilation (i) des revenus associés au SFP et (ii) du nombre d’appels admissibles traités par l’entremise du SFP dans le territoire d’exploitation défini dans la demande.
  4. Pour chacune des années 2015 et 2016, fournissez une ventilation des appels au SFP traités par votre entreprise pour vos clients du SFP de gros dans le territoire d’exploitation défini dans la demande pour chacune des catégories suivantes : appels interurbains de contournement occasionnels, appels au service 900, appels à frais virés et appels facturés à un tiers.
  5. En ce qui a trait à vos services interurbains filaires de détail, indiquez, pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, le nombre :
    1. de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail;
    2. d’appels interurbains en provenance de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail (c.-à-d. excluant les appels interurbains faits aux clients du SFP de gros de votre entreprise).

Questions adressées à Caztel, Distributel, Fastrack et Triton, Telehop et Yak

Note : Même si les renseignements ci-dessous sont également demandés dans la demande d’abstention de la réglementation du SFP présentée par la STC (no de référence 8640-T66-201608408), les réponses doivent être déposées séparément à chacun des dossiers de la demande de Bell Canada et de la STC. 

  1. Pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016 et pour chacun des services filaires admissibles au SFP (c.-à-d. les appels interurbains de contournement occasionnels, les appels au service 900, les appels à frais virés et les appels facturés à un tiers), fournissez une ventilation :
    1. de votre revenu annuel pour chaque service admissible;
    2. du nombre annuel d’appels faits pour chaque service admissible;
    3. du nombre annuel de clients pour chaque service admissible.

    Inscrivez les renseignements pour chaque service filaire admissible au SFP dans le tableau ci-dessous (un tableau par service).

      Revenu Nombre d’appels Nombre de clients
    2010      
    2011      
    2012      
    2013      
    2014      
    2015      
    2016      
  2. En plus d’avoir recours au SFP, votre entreprise accepte-t-elle d’autres modes de paiement (p. ex. des factures envoyées directement par votre entreprise, utilisation de cartes de débit/crédit, paiements par prélèvement automatique ou cartes-cadeaux) pour les services filaires admissibles au SFP? Le cas échéant, fournissez, pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, une ventilation :
    1. du revenu annuel associé à chacun des autres modes de paiement;
    2. du nombre annuel d’appels traités grâce à chacun des autres modes de paiement;
    3. du nombre annuel de clients qui ont choisi d’avoir recours à chacun des autres modes de paiement que vous offrez.

    Inscrivez les renseignements pour chacun des autres modes de paiement dans le tableau ci-dessous (un tableau par mode de paiement).

      Revenu Nombre d’appels Nombre de clients
    2010      
    2011      
    2012      
    2013      
    2014      
    2015      
    2016      
  3. Si votre entreprise accepte tout autre mode de paiement pour les services filaires admissibles au SFP, indiquez si elle impose des restrictions à l’utilisation de ces autres modes de paiement (p. ex. un nombre minimal d’appels à faire ou un montant minimal à dépenser chaque mois). Le cas échéant, indiquez quelles sont ces restrictions et la raison de leur imposition.
  4. Si votre entreprise n’accepte pas d’autres modes de paiement pour les services filaires admissibles au SFP, expliquez pourquoi.

Questions adressées à MTS, SaskTel et Shaw

  1. Référez-vous au paragraphe 15 de l’intervention de la STC, où cette dernière indique que le statut réglementaire du SFP doit dépendre du service admissible que chaque transaction du SFP appuie. Si le Conseil s’abstenait de réglementer le SFP uniquement dans le cas d’un sous-ensemble de services admissibles au SFP, donnez votre point de vue, justifications à l’appui, sur :
    1. la capacité de votre entreprise à distinguer les transactions du SFP selon le service admissible associé;
    2. la nécessité de demander que le groupe de travail Plan de travail du CDCI examine et modifie les lignes directrices et les processus associés au SFP afin de permettre la prestation de ce dernier selon le service pour lequel il est offert.
  2. En ce qui a trait à vos services interurbains filaires de détail, indiquez, pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, le nombre :
    1. de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail;
    2. d’appels interurbains en provenance de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail (c.-à-d. excluant les appels interurbains faits aux clients de services de gros du SFP de votre entreprise).

Questions adressées à la STC

  1. Référez-vous au paragraphe 15 de l’intervention de la STC, où cette dernière indique que le statut réglementaire du SFP doit dépendre du service admissible que chaque transaction du SFP appuie. Si le Conseil s’abstenait de réglementer le SFP uniquement dans le cas d’un sous-ensemble de services admissibles au SFP, donnez votre point de vue, justifications à l’appui, sur la capacité de votre entreprise à distinguer les transactions du SFP selon le service admissible associé.
  2. En ce qui a trait à vos services interurbains filaires de détail, indiquez, pour chacune des années de 2010 à 2016, le nombre :
    1. de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail;
    2. d’appels interurbains en provenance de vos clients de services interurbains filaires de détail (c.-à-d. excluant les appels interurbains faits aux clients du SFP de gros de votre entreprise).
Date de modification :