Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel Inc.)

Ottawa, 11 April 2017

Our reference:  8740-N1-201700740

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel Inc.
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Re: Northwestel Inc. Tariff Notice 976: Wholesale Connect Service New rates and Circuits – Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and additional information

Dear Sir:

This letter addresses requests filed regarding Northwestel’s Inc. Tariff Notice 976: Wholesale Connect Service New Rates and Circuits filed with the Commission on 6 February, 2017 (the Application).

On 24 February 2017, Iristel Inc. filed requests for disclosure of certain information designated as confidential and for additional information in the Application.

On 20 March 2017, Northwestel filed a response to Iristel Inc’s requests along with revisions to its application that addressed some of the requests for disclosure of information and additional information submitted by Iristel.

Disclosure

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. The next step in the assessment is to determine whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of the information to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff has reviewed the remaining requests for disclosure of certain information designated as confidential from Iristel and considers that no further public disclosure is required from Northwestel.

Commission staff notes that request for new or additional information are more appropriately dealt with as interrogatories. Commission staff has reviewed the remaining requests for additional information and considers that no additional information is required from Northwestel.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunications sector

c. c.: B.Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Linda Maljan, Government of the Northwest Territories, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca
Steve Sorochan, Government of Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Samer Bishay, Iristel Inc., regualtory@iristel.com
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 11 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8740-N1-201700740

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
(Norouestel Inc.)
C. P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Objet : Avis de modification tarifaire 976 de Norouestel inc. : nouveaux tarifs et circuits du service de raccordement de gros – demandes visant la divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et de renseignements supplémentaires

Monsieur Yeulett,

La présente lettre fait suite à des demandes présentées relativement à l’avis de modification tarifaire 976 de Norouestel inc. : nouveaux tarifs et circuits du service de raccordement de gros déposée auprès du Conseil le 6 février 2017 (la demande).

Le 24 février 2017, Iristel Inc. a déposé des demandes visant la divulgation de certains renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et l’inclusion de renseignements supplémentaires à la demande.

Le 20 mars 2017, Norouestel a déposé une réponse à la demande d’Iristel Inc. ainsi que des modifications à sa demande qui répondaient à une partie des demandes de divulgation de renseignements confidentiels et d’ajouts de renseignements présentées par Iristel.

Divulgation
Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont traitées à la lumière des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC. Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Bon nombre de facteurs sont pris en compte dans cette évaluation, y compris l’intensité de la concurrence et l’importance des renseignements aux fins de constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012..

Le Conseil a examiné les demandes restantes d’Iristel visant la divulgation de certains renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et juge que Norouestel n’a pas à divulguer de plus amples renseignements.

Le personnel du Conseil souligne que demandes de nouveaux renseignements ou de renseignements supplémentaires doivent être traitées comme des demandes de renseignements. Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les demandes restantes d’Iristel à cet égard et est d’avis que Norouestel n’a pas à divulguer de plus amples renseignements.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.: B. Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Linda Maljan, gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca
Steve Sorochan, gouvernement du Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Samer Bishay, Iristel Inc., regualtory@iristel.com
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com

Date de modification :