Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 5 April 2017

Our reference:  8663-C182-201702598

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Application by Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) for Transitional Aggregated Wholesale High-Speed Access Services over Incumbent Fibre-to-the-Premises Facilities - Request for abbreviated period for answers.

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 30 March 2017, the Commission received a Part 1 application by Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) for transitional Aggregated Wholesale High-Speed Access Services over IncumbentsFootnote1 Fibre-To-The-Premises facilities (FTTP).

CNOC submitted that a transitional FTTP Access is urgently needed and expedited relief is necessary. Specifically, CNOC requested an abbreviated period of fifteen days for answers to its application from Incumbents and from other interested parties, and seven days for reply.

On 3 April 2017, the Commission received a letter from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) in which it requested that the Commissions denies CNOC’s request for an abbreviated period of response and adheres to its established practices and timelines. In letters dated 4 April 2017, TELUS Communications Company (TCC) and Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) also opposed CNOC’s request for an expedited process.

Rogers, TCC and Shaw indicated, among other things, that CNOC did not provide any evidence to prove irreparable competitive harm such as to justify an expedited process. Furthermore, Shaw requested that the Commission consider adjusting the deadline for answer to the application to 5 May 2017 given the issues raised by the application and the number of ongoing Commission proceedings.

Commission staff notes that CNOC’s application raises significant issues and implicates numerous stakeholders. Having regard to this, Commission staff is not convinced that any harm that could accrue to CNOC’s members and consumers by reason of the application of the procedural timelines set out in the Rules of Procedure to this application, should any such harm exist, outweighs the public interest in ensuring that the Commission’s decision on the application is based on a fulsome record.

Accordingly, the procedural deadlines associated with CNOC’s application for transitional Aggregated Wholesale HAS services over Incumbents FTTP remain as set out in the Rules of Procedure (i.e. interventions may be filed by 1 May 2017, and reply may be filed by 15 May 2017).

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Lyne Renaud, CRTC 819-953-5414, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, 819-953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution list for Telecom Decision 2016-379

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ;
john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ;
slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 5 avril 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C182-201702598

PAR COURRIEL

Diffusion

OBJET : Demande présentée par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC)  concernant les services transitoires d’accès haute vitesse groupé de gros au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulaires – Demande de période de réponse abrégée

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 30 mars 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la Partie 1 présentée par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC) concernant les services transitoires d’accès haute vitesse groupé de gros au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre (FTTP) des entreprises titulairesFootnote1.

Le CORC a fait valoir qu’un accès FTTP transitoire était s’imposait de toute urgence et qu’un redressement rapide était nécessaire. Plus particulièrement, le CORC a demandé d’abréger à 15 jours la période de réponse à sa demande par les titulaires et les autres parties intéressées et à 7 jours la période de dépôt des répliques.

Le 3 avril 2017, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Rogers Communications Canada inc. (Rogers) dans laquelle l'entreprise a demandé au Conseil de rejeter la demande de période de réponse abrégée présentée par CNOC et qu’il respecte les pratiques et les calendriers établis. Dans des lettres datées du 4 avril 2017, La Société TELUS Communications (STC) et Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) se sont également opposés à la demande de processus accéléré du CORC.

Rogers, TCC et Shaw ont indiqué, entre autres, que le CORC n’a fourni aucune preuve de torts concurrentiels irréparables pour justifier un processus accéléré. De plus, Shaw a demandé au Conseil d’examiner la possibilité d’ajuster la date limite du dépôt des réponses à la demande au 5 mai 2017, étant donné les questions soulevées par la demande et le nombre d’instances du Conseil en cours.

Le personnel du Conseil observe que la demande du CORC soulève des questions importantes et touche de nombreux intervenants. Compte tenu de la situation, le Conseil n’est pas convaincu que les torts qui pourraient être causés aux membres et aux clients du CORC en raison de l’application, pour la présente demande, des échéances procédurales établies dans les Règles de procédure, si de tels torts existent, l’emportent sur l’intérêt du public en veillant à ce que la décision du Conseil à l’égard de la demande soit fondée sur un dossier étoffé.

Par conséquent, les échéances procédurales relatives à la demande présentée par le CORC concernant les services transitoires d’accès haute vitesse groupé de gros au moyen d’installations d’accès par fibre des entreprises titulaires demeurent les échéances établies dans les Règles de procédures (c.-à-d. les interventions peuvent être déposées au plus tard le 1er mai 2017 et les répliques peuvent être déposées au plus tard le 15 mai 2017).

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Lyne Renaud, CRTC 819-953-5414, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, 819-953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de diffusion pour la Décision de télécom 2016-379

nels2510@telus.net ; robin.winsor@cybera.ca ; steve@openmedia.ca ; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca ; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca ; chall2k5@gmail.com ; hbgold@fiberbroadband.org ; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca ; regulatory@fibernetics.ca ; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca ; regulatory@ssimicro.com ; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca ; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com ; rs@summer.com ; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca ;
john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca ;
slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca ; george.burger@vmedia.ca ; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com ; jlawford@piac.ca ; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca ; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca ; blackwell@giganomics.ca ; jfmezei@vaxination.ca ; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca ; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca ; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca ; document.control@sasktel.com ; regulatory.affairs@telus.com ; dennis.beland@quebecor.com ; david.watt@rci.rogers.com ; regulatory@sjrb.ca ; ctacit@tacitlaw.com ; regulatory@distributel.ca ; regulatory@primustel.ca ; regulatory@bcba.ca ; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com ; bell.regulatory@bell.ca ; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com ; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca ; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com

Date de modification :