Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to David Marshall (Duxbury Law Professional Corporation)

Ottawa, 4 April 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0066

BY EMAIL

Mr. David Marshall
Solicitor
Duxbury Law Professional Corporation
500 – 1 King Street West
Hamilton, Ontario  L8P 1A4
david@duxburylaw.ca

Re: Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-66 - Request for extension

Dear Mr. Marshall:

On 10 March 2017, the Commission initiated the above referenced Notice of Consultation (NoC).  Bell Canada and the City of Hamilton (Hamilton) were made parties to this proceeding.    The NoC further indicated that interested parties have until 10 April 2017 to file interventions, and until 18 April 2017 to file final replies.

On 30 March 2017, counsel for Hamilton requested an extension of the deadlines for the interventions and the final replies to 1 May 2017 and 8 May 2017 respectively, as it claimed that more time was required to answer the questions posed by the Commission in the NoC.

On 31 March 2017, the City of Calgary (Calgary) filed a letter with the Commission supporting Hamilton’s request for an extension.  Calgary noted that municipalities and carriers across the country are likely to look to the outcome of this NoC for guidance.  Accordingly, Calgary indicated that it was vital that interested parties be given sufficient time to prepare high quality interventions in order to assist the Commission in reaching a decision.

Commission staff notes that the matter under consideration is of direct concern to Hamilton and recognizes that the Commission’s decision resulting from this proceeding could be relevant to other municipalities and the carriers operating facilities in those municipalities.  Commission staff further agrees that the record for this proceeding would benefit from fulsome interventions on the matter under consideration from Hamilton, Bell Canada and any other interested person.

In the circumstances, Commission staff considers that the request for an extension is reasonable. 

Accordingly, the NoC process is changed as follows:

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada philippe.gauvin@bell.ca, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Matt Lonsdale, City of Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à David Marshall (Duxbury Law Professional Corporation)

 Ottawa, le 4 avril 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0066 

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur David Marshall
Avocat
Duxbury Law Professional Corporation
1, rue King Ouest, bureau 500
Hamilton (Ontario)  L8P 1A4
david@duxburylaw.ca

Objet :  Avis de consultation de télécom 2017-66  – Demande de prolongation des délais

M. Marshall,

Le 10 mars 2017, le Conseil a publié l’Avis de consultation (l’Avis) mentionné ci-dessus. Bell Canada et la Ville d’Hamilton (Hamilton) sont parties à cette instance. L’Avis indique, entre autres, que les parties intéressées ont jusqu'au 10 avril 2017 pour déposer des interventions et jusqu'au 18 avril 2017 pour déposer leurs réponses finales.

Le 30 mars 2017, l'avocat de la ville d’Hamilton a demandé une prolongation des délais jusqu’au 1er mai 2017 pour les interventions et jusqu’au 8 mai 2017 pour les réponses finales, indiquant qu'il lui fallait plus de temps pour répondre aux questions posées dans l’Avis par le Conseil.

Le 31 mars 2017, la Ville de Calgary (Calgary) a déposé une lettre auprès du Conseil en faveur de la demande d'extension d’Hamilton. Calgary a noté que les municipalités et les fournisseurs à travers le pays sont susceptibles de s’inspirer des résultats de cet Avis. Par conséquent, Calgary a indiqué qu'il était essentiel que les parties intéressées disposent de suffisamment de temps pour préparer des interventions de haute qualité afin d'aider le Conseil à prendre une décision.

Le personnel du Conseil constate que la question à l'étude dans l’Avis concerne directement Hamilton et reconnaît que la décision du Conseil pourrait être pertinente pour les autres municipalités et les fournisseurs qui ont des équipements de communications dans ces municipalités. Le personnel du Conseil convient que le dossier de cette instance bénéficiera d’interventions de qualité de la part d’Hamilton, Bell Canada et toute autre personne intéressée.

Compte tenu de cela, le personnel du Conseil estime que la demande de prolongation des délais est raisonnable.

Par conséquent, le processus de l’Avis est modifié comme suit:

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.:     Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada philippe.gauvin@bell.ca, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Matt Lonsdale, Ville de Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca

Date de modification :